Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Jessica314's Profile Image

Jessica314 reviewed Discover Bank

Mar 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank

Great Card! I love the cashback bonus! Use links below and receive $50 Cash Back.. You also receive perks like 5% cash back and 5% off at six flags theme parks instantly!!

http://bit.ly/1fg7yq8 (Very VERY high approval ratings for students) $50 Cash Back Bonus

If you're not a student you can use this link here for the bonus!

http://bit.ly/1dxTLs2

Please note that student approval rate is much higher than normall approval rate! You just need to be signed up for one class, can be any class, any school!

I really like my discover card and I love the cash back bonus they offer!! Great bank to do business with

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Jessica314's Profile Image

Jessica314 reviewed Capital One 360

Mar 12th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Great but average bank

I used the link posted below and earned $75

(Link I found) https://r.capitalone360.com/yFcZaxoNZt

I opened both a checking account with no min deposit and savings account (Which required a $200 opening deposit)

My bonus was applied within a day or two after I met the requirements. Requirements where very easy, I just purchased 3 sodas with my debit card and earned $50. The bonus for the savings account was instant.

CS is fine

THe reason this bank is just average is because they don't have any innovative features like ING had. Yes they still have the line of credit and no overdraft fees but thats it..

Would I recommend this bank? Yes I would recommend anyone at least get the bonus!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MWorkman's Profile Image

MWorkman reviewed Ally Bank

Mar 12th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Don't Be In A Hurry

You can walk into just about any bank in America, spend an hour filling out paperwork, and walk out with a viable, functioning bank account.

Not online.

I've opened 4 online accounts in the last 2 weeks after being completely frustrated with Ally. None of them could finish the job in less than 4 days.

The fastest was Capital One 360, which completed the process in 4 days, but they put a 10-day hold on all savings accounts once opened. (I deposited using an online transfer from my brick-and-mortar bank.)

EverBank took 6 days.

I opened those accounts after I attempted to set up a checking account and savings account with Ally.

After filling out all the information with Ally (yes, including SS numbers and personal info), the system said they couldn't open the account and that someone would be in touch. Since I was under the deeply flawed belief that an online setup should be faster than that, I called the 800 number. The nice lady said she couldn't help, that someone from Ally would be in touch within the next 2-3 days.

8 days later, that call finally came (long after I'd already opened up the other accounts). The call came at 7 a.m., because the rep didn't bother to realize that Washington state is Pacific time, 3 hours behind the East Coast.

She proceeded to advise that they needed me to mail or fax copies of utility bills or something with my name and address. I replied that I could send a copy of my driver's license with that info, but that there wouldn't be any utility bills with my name. (My wife and I live at the hotel we run, so there aren't any). Not good enough.

We probably could have found something that would be satisfactory, but after 8 days we were disgusted with Ally and had already moved on to a couple of other banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

roben24's Profile Image

roben24 reviewed USAA

Mar 11th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Deposit @mobile

Wowwwwww!!!!! The deposit @mobile confused two checks I deposited yesterday and stated it was a fault on my end when I clearly know for a fact I deposited it. I even got a confirmation stating the correct amount I got through the website and via text message. So now I have to go through the hassle of acquiring another check. If you ask me if you want to lose it use it!!!!!!! Thanks a lot USAA

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

spugs's Profile Image

spugs reviewed Capital One 360

Mar 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Savings account nightmare!

I am disgusted with this company and their business practices. Do not be fooled by them. They have no problem taking your money but when it comes to giving it back it there is red tape. If you need money quickly it will never happen. Any time you deposit money it takes about 10 days to be able to access it. It shows you have the money but says it is on hold and unavailable until they say so and there is nothing you can do. They hold your money hostage.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

allybankbest's Profile Image

allybankbest reviewed Ally Bank

Mar 9th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Customer Service and Fees are excelent.

Ally bank account creating was very simple. Talked to Customer service via chat and they answered all my question quickly and professionally.

Mobile app is very well laid out and easy to read as well as understand.

I believe some of the negative reviews are self inflicted and would have happened with any bank (in my opinion). I haven't been inside a bank in over 4 years, now I can deposit any checks from my desk at home, this is a no brainier.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Fisherman1's Profile Image

Fisherman1 reviewed Virtual Bank

Mar 7th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Had some excess money, had to spread it out so I tried Virtual Bank. It is going well.

I had to spread some money out between banks, so I compared rates and found Virtual Bank. The rates are okay. Not the best, but lets face it, rates are not great anywhere. What I wanted was a strong bank for safety reasons.

The application was easy. They use some system to verify me and I had to answer questions to prove I was me. OK, I understand that. The account was opened quickly. The money was automatically transferred. The rate is much better than I could get at my regular bank.

All in, I had a good experience. The rate is decent. I did have a question so I sent them a message thru online banking, and they answered quickly and nicely. I have no complaints. Will see how it goes.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

porsche031907's Profile Image

porsche031907 reviewed Ally Bank

Mar 6th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

criminals

never received a 1009 tax statement,tried to get one.impossible.

closed my account with over 200k in there.still fighting to MY money back. had to involve fdic,bbb and attorney general.

they are scam artists and their employees are rude, incompentent.

all they can say:a member of upper management will call you

first this never happened and second the employees do not even know where their headquaters are. i got 3 different addresses in 3 different states

don t bank with them

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

JOEJOE's Profile Image

JOEJOE reviewed State Farm Bank

Mar 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

WORST BANK EVER DELT WITH

** BEWARE** : IN MY OPINION THIS IS THE WORST BANK ANYONE COULD EVER CHOOSE TO DO BUSINESS WITH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gsmiller's Profile Image

gsmiller reviewed Capital One 360

Mar 5th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

To be frank, their website sucks

Signed up for a Capital One 360 account because I liked the idea of not being charged an overdraft fee (only interest on the overdraft) and they were offering a $50.00 bonus after using your debit card 3 times in the first 45 days. Those are the only pros with Capital One 360. Signing up is cumbersome and waiting for them to activate your account is very time consuming. There is also a separate username for each person listed on the account. Capital One 360 also makes you activate each check book and any additional check books beyond your first one cost $5.00. I think its great they are so concerned about security but for them make you go through so many hurdles their website needs to be more user-friendly and ultimately what kills Capital One 360.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0