Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

spinoza21's Profile Image

spinoza21 reviewed Simple

Aug 27th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful!

My experience with simple started out simply enough. I wasn't happy with my old bank and the idea of having a completely virtual bank sounded appealing. I slowly migrated to simple (being a little gun-shy on no longer having a check book) and finally switched over completely about two months ago. Everything was running fine until suddenly i received a notice that simple would be down for an evening (including atm usage). I figured that was strange for a bank, but thought nothing of it. I'm not sure if it was causal, but immediately afterwards is when my experience with simple fell apart. I had two scheduled payments that were suddenly never sent. Customer support at simple suggested that i find another way to pay my bills. Having *just* closed my old bank account i had to get money orders and deal with the hassle of mailing checks while traveling overseas. Furthermore, the contacts were completely dropped from my account and when the next payment cycle came up again the payments were never sent. The technical issues have now dragged into a second month and despite the warm communication from the customer service team, no end appears in sight. What is the point of having a bank that you can't rely on? What a shame.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

andybsmith01hotmai's Profile Image

andybsmith01hotmai reviewed USAA

Aug 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Been With Them Nearly 20 Years.

Usaa is spending lots of money on worthless programs we could get for free on the internet. They literally employ hundreds of people to sell us services that actually work against us as veterans. What might be nice is stop spending money on crap programs and give us competitive interest rates. I have a 830 credit score and can better rates easily elsewhere every time on every loan. Usaa is always higher by. 5%-1%

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

richards's Profile Image

richards reviewed Discover Bank

Aug 26th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Delaying transfer and no extra interest

Have a number of IRA CD's. One recently matured and I decided to withdraw the funds. Filled out their form to have funds sent electronically to my local account. Received a written confirmation dated August 11 that funds would be scheduled for transfer on August 20. Called DiscoverBank on August 26 when funds did not arrive at my bank. Was told initially by customer service that funds were actually transferred on August 21. When I pressed to speak with transfer department, she put me on hold and came back to say that the funds transfer was actually initiated on August 22, and that there was no actual transfer department that I could speak with. Why am I not being paid extra interest for the day (or two) that DiscoverBank held my funds before actually initiating the transfer?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nicholasj18's Profile Image

nicholasj18 reviewed Simple

Aug 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Replace your Bank! Think again!

I have had Simple for about three months. Their banks solutions aren't impressive but they are simple and it works. Lately I have been declined at stores and online even when I have money in my account. I tried calling but they direct you to their online system which tells you to wait. It has been seven days and I can't use my card. I'm glad I didn't jump ship completely and after this debacle I will be closing my account. The fact that they are overwhelmed by this is appalling. I would rather pay fees then not have access. This problem should never be considered ok.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Laurengirl's Profile Image

Laurengirl reviewed Simple

Aug 25th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Can't even call it a bank, a bank wouldn't allow such issues

I was lured in by the flashy advertising. I'll admit it. But this is the crappiest bank ever. I would hesitate to even call it such, most banks wouldn't allow the kinds of issues that I and many other customers have experienced. Since their recent "upgrade", I have not had one successful transaction. This was three weeks ago. Nearly a month. I can't receive money, I can't transfer money out, my account tells me I have no money when I do, it's ridiculous. Every time I've tried to do something, anything, I've had to call customer service, which tells me EVERY TIME that they've never seen this before and will have to get their "engineers" working on it. Bull. I have to wait for a final direct deposit from my employer and then I'm out. Be warned.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

edmoon's Profile Image

edmoon reviewed Simple

Aug 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Missed payment, can't make payments.

Ever since they updated the system things have all gone wrong. Slow to respond to to customer mail about problems. This was once a SIMPLE way of banking and I liked it. Looks like they sold it to some Mega Bank, so who knows what the future holds.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bwerick's Profile Image

bwerick reviewed Discover Bank

Aug 23rd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Awesome.

People that whine about banks being "insensitive" just need to stop charging, get a second or third job and pay their darn bills! Stop living beyond means and stop expecting everyone else to pay for YOUR mistakes. I raised a child on my own. No welfare, no food stamps. Just lots of hard work and pride. What happened to everyone's pride and self esteem?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cab5s1975's Profile Image

cab5s1975 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service

I do feel better after reading some of these other reviews. I have many credit cards and couldn't believe how terribly I’ve been treated by Synchrony regarding my Old Navy card. Apparently I missed one payment in six years because I didn't receive the statement and they starting calling my house at all times of day and night with cryptic electronic messages asking me to call. I have a small baby at home and they woke him up repeatedly. Then, when I finally was able to call, I could not get anyone who spoke English on the phone. When I would ask to speak to a manager, I would be disconnected. On my fourth attempt, I was just pressing buttons to bypass all of the required listening at the beginning of each call, and apparently I inadvertently closed my account. When I was finally able to speak to someone who spoke English, they assured me they would correct my account closure but I received a letter a week later saying that my account cannot be reopened and all my accumulated points and rewards are lost. I’ve spoken to every level of manager and each has repeated the same message. I will miss Old Navy but if they can’t choose better vendors than this then they deserve to lose business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jww1423's Profile Image

jww1423 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Aug 22nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Web site is terrible

When ever we try to use the web site to transfer money in or out. we get a message

telling us to contact customer service at the main phone number. This involves a poor/long proceedure to get to a live person who generally is not much help as we still can not use the web site. We have had many accounts banks etc., none that were this bad. Now if only I can figure how to close this account at Synchrony Bank, we will move to another savings bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

FuckSchwab's Profile Image

FuckSchwab reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Aug 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Charles Schwab is the Worst Bank Ever!

Stay Away! Horrible! You will be sorry if you bank Here! Just get ready to waste the most precious thing on this earth if you bank with Charles Schwab! TIme! Problems with Debit/CreditCard, Slow Updates, Customer Service cant do shit for you.Name it they can fuck it up.The Experience is just a plain Nightmare period!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates