Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

axewell's Profile Image

axewell reviewed Simple

Sep 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Used To Be So Great

I've been using simple since they first started, it used to be so fantastic. Their mobile platform is light years ahead of everyone else. But after their upgrade in august they have been having some serious issues. My current bank statement is over $150 off right now, they are several days behind on transactions and my statement for august is still unavailable (it's september 21st! ).

If i wasn't tracking my money dollar for dollar i'm sure i'd be in a huge hole and get declined everywhere. I'm moving my money elsewhere this is just unacceptable it's been almost a month since their "upgrade" it's a bank their fundamental business is to track how much i spend, and they can't even do that right now.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

jabauman's Profile Image

jabauman reviewed Ally Bank

Sep 20th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Customer Service

Very pleased with Ally Bank. It was super simple to set-up a money market account and an interest-bearing checking account, plus I was pleasantly surprised to find out they supply unlimited checks for free.

Now for the clincher! They offer free "bill pay" and they covered my butt when I made a mistake on my first trial run. I accidentally processed more bills than my account balance and they covered the deficit with no "bounced check" fees or penalties. I got a nice email to let me know about this "one-time courtesy" for new users. Thanks Ally!

Note: For those of you using online banking for the 1st time, be aware that a money transfer to Ally Bank from your physical bank is not instantaneous. It takes about 4-5 days. Big "duh" on my part, but now that I know this, I transfer money a week before I activate my monthly payments.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Whodinka's Profile Image

Whodinka reviewed Simple

Sep 20th 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Experiencing Not So Simple Issues

I enjoy Simple banking. I love the tools that they have to assist you in seeing where your money is going and the budgeting tools are great for setting up spending goals. I enjoy using their mobile app to track my spending, write memos on transactions, and contact customer support with questions.

With all that being said, Simple has been experiencing some technical difficulties since their systems upgrade in August. Some problems that I've currently experiences are:

Delay in transactions posting to my account

Bill payments being canceled

Refunds from returns not posting to my account

Issues with account displaying accurate balance

I have contacted customer support with these issues and they have assisted, but they are currently swamped with issues so they typically take a few days to get back to me. Though the customer service team is excellent when it comes to resolving the issues, it seems that there is some new issue every day. They upgraded their systems in early August (2014) and we are getting into the end of September. I'm trying to be patient and let them work out the kinks and glitches in their systems so that I can experience the awesome banking that I experienced when I first signed up.

When I have to commit to tracking every issue that my account is experiencing and pointing it out to them, banking with Simple has become quite tedious within these past two months. I'm experiencing issues that I just did not have when I was banking with my bigger bank. I'm going to try to stick with them a little longer but if these glitches and issues keep persisting, I'm going back to my old bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rmatthew's Profile Image

rmatthew reviewed Simple

Sep 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Card Declined For No Reason

After waiting on hold for literally 45 minutes because they were "swamped", i explained to the rep that my card was being declined. Having plenty of cash on the card, i wanted to know why. The rep explained it was a system glitch in timing, since i paid my rent the day before. Aggravating but fine. The card was then declined two days later at walmart. I called the company once again.

Being on hold for a much less 20 minutes this time at 8:35 am. The rep had no idea why it was declined and on top of this, the card deducted the amount it was declined for!! The rep still had no idea why, but the charge remains of my card. So, now one week later, card is still being declined with no known reason from the reps. Simple was great at first, but it seems to be plagued with technical issues now. Card is being cancelled as we speak. Thanks for the stress simple.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

DenisKitchen's Profile Image

DenisKitchen reviewed Simple

Sep 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Loved Them For 2 Years. Now Payments Broke. Balance Wrong

I really loved this bank. I loved their site, and i loved their policies. If you've ever been charged a fee from a bank, you'll love simple because in the years i've had an account i've never been charged a fee. They've make it very easy to stay on top of my money. .. Until this past month! I haven't been able to make payments reliably. This has been a huge source of stress and problems for my finances this month.

Despite not seeing my payments post in the activity list... The money is gone from my balance. So where did it go? Who will help me? Their customer service phone and email contacts are swamped. Right now i'm using a different bank until this payment problem gets sorted out. I am trusting and hoping that my balance is returned to an accurate accounting. Very disappointing give how much i loved simple up to this point.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

mpmart's Profile Image

mpmart reviewed Ally Bank

Sep 16th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Ally Bank And It`s Rudeness...

I bought a car and i made a mistake of not checking out this bank before accepting them is my financial institution. Employees are rude, have no knowledge of what they are doing. I can`t wait to get out of it... I will never use them again. I`m thinking in paying off instead of waiting and give them more interest.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

TheMonopolyMan's Profile Image

TheMonopolyMan reviewed Simple

Sep 15th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Simple Banking? More Like Awful Banking

If you bank with monopoly money and don't care about having correct balances, being charged multiple times for the same purchase, or even just being able to use your debit card to buy dinner for your date, then "simple" is great! However, if you tend to use real money and care about having that real money available, then "simple" is god awful! These people should be shut down.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

OlafHastein's Profile Image

OlafHastein reviewed Simple

Sep 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Amazing

Never thought I would actually get excited about my bank, but Simple is so awesome!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

saki26's Profile Image

saki26 reviewed Simple

Sep 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrid! Do Not Use Them!

I had my card compromised made the company aware of the issue and they sent me a new one and it happened again!!! Then they cancel me because 'i" failed to keep my information safe! Unbelievable!! When attempting to speak to someone there they refused to actually speak to me and only thru the app. This was just a small balance account for myself for little things for my son and i to do things and they have left me high and dry. Absolutely the worst customer service i have ever received.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Criseyde's Profile Image

Criseyde reviewed Simple

Sep 13th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank, Great Software

The previous reviewer has Simple pretty much exactly. Their website and mobile app are great tools that work well and make budgeting easier than any other stand alone software I've found. Unfortunately, the banking side of things is riddled with problems. Check deposits adhere to arcane rules and delays (only the first 200 dollars is available the next business day, the rest clears at some point in the future), transfers from another bank take three business days to process, and recent maintenance introduced a host of check hold display errors. Using their integrated customer support messaging feature seems to be on a permanent three or four day delay, however calling customer support seems to work relatively well, but are only open during limited weekday hours.

One of the more deceptive thing that's advertised on the site is their range of fee-free ATMs. They list several chain businesses where one can "find free ATMs", however they must be through STARsf. I discovered this after finding a fee on my statement for a machine I used at one of the businesses listed beneath their finder. It was my mistake for not double checking, but this is definitely misleading.

If things like Schwab Bank (which offers same-day check-deposits, saturday hours, 24 hour customer support, and unlimited fee-free ATMs), Simple cannot compete. I will gladly use less elegant software and use a bank that works where it counts. I tried simple for two months and am rushing back to my previous bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates