Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

polldav's Profile Image

polldav reviewed Ally Bank

Feb 6th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service

I tried to open an online savings account with them. I called in advance to see if the credit freeze i keep active at all times would be an issue, and if so which bureau i would need to temporarily unfreeze. The person on the phone had no idea what i was talking about and said it would be fine. 4 days later they call and say i would have to lift the freeze, so i do ($10) and they run their check again. Now they say that since my credit report doesn't have a phone number listed, they would need a copy of my driver's license in order to open the account. Of course, they have no branches anywhere since they are online only.

But for some reason they also have no online functionality to let me upload a scanned image of it... They only support mail and fax. So welcome to an online only bank with 1970's only technology. I told them to cancel the application and opened an account with barclay's instead. Opening the barclays account worked online with no issues and took 5 minutes. Ally bank is the worst.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

saltandpepper21's Profile Image

saltandpepper21 reviewed Ally Bank

Feb 3rd 2015

4 out of 5 marks

Great Online Bank

Great online banking experience. I am glad i made the switch!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Mofongo23's Profile Image

Mofongo23 reviewed Capital One 360

Feb 3rd 2015

4 out of 5 marks

Great Online Support

Great online banking portal as well as customer service. Had a credit card with capital one and found it very easy to use

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

stushloss's Profile Image

stushloss reviewed Ally Bank

Feb 3rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

There Is A Reason GM Has Fired Ally Bank

My brother-in-law had financed a car through ally bank. He moved in with us while he was treated at sloan kettering hospital in nyc. Unfortunately , he lost his fight with cancer. I contacted ally bank to let them know that his car was at our house and he had passed away. My wife and i spoke with over 10 people over the next 4 months, and not one expressed any sympathy our loss, and it was obvious they could care less.

Our experience with ally bank could not have been worse had they tried to torture us. I understand why gm has dropped them as the default financing arm for their car dealerships. The stated reason was poor customer service. We can confirm that. I would not recommend using Ally Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Saver321's Profile Image

Saver321 reviewed CIT Bank

Feb 2nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

This Is Not An Online Bank

I set up an account online specifying another bank to fund it via ach transfer. After a couple of days the test deposits arrived and i inserted them into the cit "application". After another few days i got an email stating my account was approved and open. I went to the website and found no way to transfer funds either way to any external account. I called customer service and was told that external transfers had to be requested and the original funding source would have to be requested again and requalified. I subsequently got a phone call from the fraud unit to check on my request for external transfers and had to answer a set of questions before it would be enabled. The rep said that all of this could easily be done over the phone instead. The bank just does not see itself as an online bank. It also limits online transfers to $5k a day and since there is a limit of 6 transfers only a max of $30k a month can be transferred. However transfers of any amount can be made over the phone. If you want an online bank don't choose cit, if you want to transact over the phone during limited hours.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

chibbard's Profile Image

chibbard reviewed Synchrony Bank

Jan 28th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

Horrible Website Unable To Login

I have been a customer since my hh gregg account was transferred here. The website is horrible. I have registered for an account and used it in the past but am unable to login anymore. It acts like my account name and password are correct but is unable to verify my account information and offers no options to resolve the issue other than to call them. When i use their online phone system and provide the same verification credentials, it works fine. They need to improve their website for me to remain a customer.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Sogden1966's Profile Image

Sogden1966 reviewed TIAA Direct

Jan 27th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

HELOC Nightmare

I recently also had a horrible experience with TIAA with respect to a simple home equity loan. My issues stem from what appears to be a hugely bureaucratic organization that is ponderous at best. I jumped through every hoop asked, complied with all documentation requests only to be denied at last second because of an improperly performed appraisal. Understood that it isn't the banks fault necessarily, however no one seems to care that the error was not my fault either. The appraisal was for homes in completely different areas than mine that were nothing like my house, yet there are comparable homes 50 feet away that sold in 2014!

My complaints were not handled or addressed either by TIAA nor the horrible company THEY hired to erroneously appraise my house. I called the appraiser, who agreed with me but then asked me what" I expected him to do about it" I said perhaps your job? I had no support or recourse from TIAA nor the stepford wife loan processor who blithely apologized without really hearing me. Stay away from this company for financing, CLEARLY amateur and not ready for prime time. I have bought and sold 11 properties with several refinancing settlements as well and have never experienced this level of disconnect or incompetence. Utterly wasted 5 weeks of my time. Never again . [Redacted]

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Jan 27th 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Providing excellent customer service is important to us and we apologize for your recent experience. We want to resolve the situation to your satisfaction. Email your full name and best way to contact you to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com and we will be in touch.

toddfox1988's Profile Image

toddfox1988 reviewed Nationwide Bank

Jan 26th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

horrible experience

Seemed great at first. Deposited a check with my phone, and then could not access my account anymore. After more than a week of "verifying" my account they told me they are going to send me a check and close the account.... On the 4th. So now another 2 weeks and I might have my money back. This was the worst experience possible with a bank go through anyone but them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

turningintoacockro's Profile Image

turningintoacockro reviewed Barclays Bank

Jan 25th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Dealing with this bank is like Kafka's Metamorphasis

I hold financial Power of Attorney (POA) over my father's accounts. I called Barclays customer service to make sure there was not going to be an issue with setting up a CD account for my father. They assured me that all I needed to do was set up the account online in my father's name and then fax the POA document once the account was established. I entered the information necessary to set up the account and then pressed enter. Half an hour later, the screen still showed that the application was processing. I realized that I had forgotten to enter a beneficiary, so I closed the window and attempted to re-enter the application. The application would not let me back in and urged me to call customer service, so I did so. Customer service then told me that they would not be able to give me any information about the application unless they could speak to my father. I explained that my father could not speak to them, which is why I have POA. They said that they could not speak to me without a POA, but that I could not send them a POA document until the application had been approved, putting me in the absurd situation of being unable to do anything to move forward on setting up this account. At this point, I no longer had any interest in an account with a bank that would force me into such an absurd situation. Even the customer service agent acknowledged the absurdity of the situation. I asked that they delete the application as they were obviously not interested in my father's business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MJordan's Profile Image

MJordan reviewed Synchrony Bank

Jan 21st 2015

1 out of 5 marks

No Customer Service

Have tried to contact numerous times. Either the agent is unable to understand my english or i am disconnected. You cannot download to quicken from synchrony and no one knows why or even what quicken software is. For a back they sure lack in all areas. They even denied my husband credit because "applicant is deceased. " go figure

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »