Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

tres1162's Profile Image

tres1162 reviewed Simple

Sep 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Why I'm Closing My Account

I tried out Simple Bank for three months this summer. The things I really liked about Simple were the beautiful interface and the goals feature.

Problems began when I finally signed up. They never sent the card and it took a month and a half to receive it. I don't know what happened, but after talking to customer service a few times they said they would "overnight" it. It still took several days to receive.

I shrugged it off because I really wanted to try out the goals feature. I started transferring in funds and was initially satisfied. All was well. Then they did a huge maintenance update in August. After that, everything fell apart. Ever since then, they've had numerous glitches and bugs. Balances fluctuate for no reason and my card was locked out for 3 days during the update. I had no access to my own money. Since then, it feels like Simple has fallen apart.

Simple also won't let you write personal checks—they have to print and mail them out for you. A check I had sent to my business partner never arrived. That was extremely embarrassing. I tried to contact customer service for over an hour and couldn't get through. I used the messaging feature to contact customer service and it's taken three days each time to get a response. Very unreliable—the delay made me look very unprofessional to my partner.

I'm actually kind of sad about the whole thing because I had high hopes for Simple. They have a great looking website and customer service used to be great. I explained it this way to a friend:

Simple Bank is like taking a plain cheap $2 bundt cake from Walmart, and having Martha Stewart frost and decorate it in the most lavish fashion. It would look amazing, but would still taste like cardboard.

Simple has a beautiful website and app but the infrastructure is still deeply flawed.

In conclusion—I'm going back to my old credit union. They have a lame looking website, but at least they have it all together.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Cass1618's Profile Image

Cass1618 reviewed Simple

Sep 12th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Amazing Bank. Hope They Resolve Their Issues!

I have been using simple for about 1. 5 years and i am very glad i did! I have always had trouble saving money and simple was absolutely a life saver for me. I had been making approximately the same income for 3 years and not managing to save any money. After using simple for one year, still making the same income, i managed to save $15,000! Their customer support was excellent, every time i messaged them a question they would respond the same day. I usually prefer to communicate by message rather than phone so it worked out well for me. I also love their interface.

The best thing about this bank, is when you make a transaction it posts to your account immediately (as in within a couple of minutes at the most). So your displayed balance is never missing any transactions so you never end up thinking you have more money than you actually do. I have never experienced another bank with this feature. It takes away the need to independently keep a ledger of how much you spend. However. I would not recommend signing up for this bank today.

For the last month or two, they have been having some major problems. I tried to have two checks sent a few weeks ago and have no idea whether or not they were ever sent. I sent them a message two days ago and they have not responded. I tried calling and they ask that you only speak to a representative about emergency issues. I stayed on the line for a few minutes and decided to keep waiting for them to respond to my message instead.

Fortunately, i have usaa as my backup bank, so i can send checks from there for expenses that i need to pay currently. The experience i had in the past with an amazing online outweighs the current problems they are having, so i would recommend giving them a bit more time to figure out their issues and then signing up. I would strongly suggest keeping your old bank account as a backup and keep a small reserve fund in case they have issues in the future.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ldt1993's Profile Image

ldt1993 reviewed Discover Bank

Sep 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Card!

Great Bank! I have their discover it card and couldn't be happier!

Use http://bit.ly/1lYg8Qy

for a $50 BONUS upon approval!

Currently I have earned $75 cash back this month JUST for using the card for gas. Next month starts their Christmas bonus which pretty much gives you 5% cash back using any store you would normally shop at during the holiday season! This starts in October. Last year I earned the max cash back just by shopping Amazon!!

What do I use my cashback on? That is easy! I pay my bill! Simple as that!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ldt1993's Profile Image

ldt1993 reviewed Capital One 360

Sep 11th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank

I have been a customer for a few months now and can safely write a review and say that capital one 360 is an amazing bank!

First, I would like to invite anyone to use that link to try out 360. No min deposit and you will receive a $50 CASH bonus in your account!! Up to $100 if you open savings, checking, and other available accounts.

Let me first say I have not had any of the mentioned problems with capital one. They have top notch CS and I love how they don't have any fees what so ever! It is very easy to deposit your money! Can't ask for a better bank

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jonno292's Profile Image

jonno292 reviewed Simple

Sep 11th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Stick with your old bank, simple.

Opened an account because I liked the feature to send personal checks. One to my friend went alright after the first check sent and disappeared out of my transactions list and ended up sending two so I was refunded one. Then I tried sending a check to my college for tuition and they never posted it to my student account and now I'm waiting for a response to get a refund on my check that has found a black hole here on earth.

Not very satisfied. Now that I think of it, I would rather have a correct numerical balance on my account rather than a nice looking app and falsely led customer service. They've definitely got some tuning up to do and I'm not going to count on it being anytime soon.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

flyingb9's Profile Image

flyingb9 reviewed USAA

Sep 10th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Don't trust this company

After being a member in good standing for over 20 years I have now lost all faith in this company. My ex-wife defaulted on a debt that we jointly opened while we were married while I was stationed overseas. Rather than contacting me about this USAA chose to lock my online and account access. After 10 phone calls where I have to wake up in the middle of the night and spend over an hr each time on the call they still are doing nothing to help me. All their services and contacts are based on you being able to login to your account, which is locked in my case.

They are a great company if you live in San Antonio. But as I have learned the hard way they no longer value military members or work to help those that are overseas. Avoid them at all costs. I am moving everything to another bank that at least will talk to me like a person and not put me on hold every time I call.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

gladysmary1's Profile Image

gladysmary1 reviewed GE Capital Bank

Sep 9th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Don't Use GE Capital Bank

I have had nothing problems with ge capital. I paid off my account and they are still harassing me. I have sent all the proper paper work in and they can't seem to get the point my account is paid off. I have spoke with them on the phone and they still don't understand that my account is paid off. I have nothing good to say. I have nothing postive to say. I would not use them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fonzzi's Profile Image

fonzzi reviewed Simple

Sep 5th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Awful Experience, Terrible Support, Stay Away

The worst banking experience I can even imagine. I opened an account back in the beginning of August and have yet to receive a card from them. Without a card I have zero access to the funds in the account. I contacted support after about a week and was told, "There was an issue and we are FedEx overnight shipping the card". After another week passed I was told, "There was an issue and it will be resolved shortly". Over a month later, still no card. I have contacted support numerous times and have been continually told, "We are working on the issue, but do not have a time frame for delivery". It's pathetic. The only alternative they give me is to transfer the funds back into my original bank account if I want access to them. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Sewarda's Profile Image

Sewarda reviewed Bank Of Internet

Sep 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Alert!!!!! They Will Hold Up Access To Your Deposited Funds!

Watch this bank, they say your deposits will post the same day, if done before a certain time, maybe this is true. They neglected to say, they are not going to give you access to your money for more than 5 working days. They started this in july 2014. I was told they sent me a notice of this. I ask for a copy of the notice, stating they had a mandatory 5 working day hold on all deposits not made in their location (including cashiers checks and money orders), from two of their call center personnel. Their reps said they had no access to it the letter. They also stated that i was emailed the notification in june of the policy change. I found no email from them in june stating this. I also received numerous excuses as to why they were doing this, and was informed that i waived my rights to having access to my money iaw the banking regulations. Watch out constant deposit problems.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

laurabun's Profile Image

laurabun reviewed Synchrony Bank

Sep 4th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Misleading 'contracts'

I applied for the Amazon.com Credit Card which is handled by Synchrony. I received a postal letter from them harassing me to finish my account registration because I had selected electronic billing. NO I DIDN'T! I specifically requested postal mail because that's how I take care of my business. Don't send me a letter that's rife with threatening overtones!!!! It will piss me off and I'll just cancel. I must say tho, the fellow that assisted me via e-chat, who helped me recover my "lost" password::::: BECAUSE I NEVER SIGNED UP FOR ELECTRONIC-ONLY BILLING!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates