Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

cgator77's Profile Image

cgator77 reviewed Ally Bank

Jul 18th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Banking Experience I've had

My wife and I have a checking and savings account with Ally Bank and we LOVE It!!! Interest Rates are incredible customer service is top notch and unlike other banks such as Bank of America who we left fees are not an issue for things like needing more checks. I highly recommend Ally and their website and phone app is much better than that of Bank of America as well. People in the past I noticed have had negative reviews but it seems like most of their issues were self-inflicted. They never have done us wrong and they seem to being getting better with time even, so take that for what it's worth.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

reduva's Profile Image

reduva reviewed USAA

Jul 16th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Top Notch

Very intuitive interface, great customer service, low fees...what else is there?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 1

barclaysrterrible's Profile Image

barclaysrterrible reviewed Barclays Bank

Jul 8th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Absolutely Abysmal Company. Unhelpful and arrogant staff.

The only reason I gave Barclays 1 star was because it was impossible to give them a zero, which is just what they deserve. This is an abysmal company with untrained and unhelpful telephone staff who do not know their posteriors from their elbows. They are rude, condescending and blatantly cheeky. I made a complaint about the way I was spoken to on the telephone and I ended up with £154 pounds as a goodwill gesture for their dreadful untrained staff mistakes. I will be leaving this establishment and would rather lick wasps than give Barclays another penny of my cash. Abominable service from an abysmal company.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

luckypra's Profile Image

luckypra reviewed Discover Bank

Jul 3rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Worst Customer Service

To start with I opened account due to $50 account opening bonus and thought what could be wrong with it.

Here what happened with Discover -

- One fine day I got call from my son school that check I issued returned due to some reason. That time school was not sure why, said need to wait till actual returned check comes back in mail.

- I called discover, asking why you returned my check. Customer agent said it never came for clearing, Did three way conference with school bank manager and school account holder. Customer agent said I have more than enough balance, and see no problem why it won;t clear. This was confirmed with two different calls to customer service and one time even supervisor was also get involved as agent said supervisor have access to more system.

- Once school received legal returned check. Reason confirm stopped payment which I never did from my side.

- I gave another call to customer service, Agent said I put in stop payment. I said I never did, He said let me check with supervisor. He said I did some time back in Feb-14 some stop payment. Today is June-2014.

- Here is what happened in Feb-2014, I did online bill pay for one of my monthly expense but during initial setup, I entered wrong address (instead of entering payee address I entered mine so check came to my address). I called customer service, she suggested to cancel check and setup bill pay again. Which I did and worked fine.

- Now customer service saying during cancel check process Agent might have made some mistake. She is not telling what exactly happened, But now I have stop payment on all of my checks. Just to keep in mind between Feb and June I issued checks and those got cleared perfectly fine. So I don;t believe story of agent made some mistake during cancel check, It that was the case then why it took 4 month for that stop payment came into effect.

- I asked for $35 charge back as return check charge, They need school bank account statement as proof why?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

MaltshopChuck's Profile Image

2 out of 5 marks

Yesterday's Garbage

This bank used to be so good. The rates went right down.

Go with somebody who actually maintains a decent rate.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MaltshopChuck's Profile Image

MaltshopChuck reviewed Bank5 Connect

Jul 1st 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Maltshop Chuck

This is the best god-damned bank ever invented.

I'd rather have this bank than my wife.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mntinygmailcom's Profile Image

mntinygmailcom reviewed Capital One 360

Jun 30th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Awesome Bonuses/Great Second Account

Capital One 360 makes for an awesome checking account to supplement my main checking account. I use it for ATMs as they have so many free ones, for online purchases and for when I travel. No fees is awesome and no requirements to get no fees is even better.

They have their Financial Independence Day sale going on right now so you can earn $100 for opening a checking account and $76 for opening a savings account.

The transfer times are little bit long but as long as you are aware it takes 2 business days to transfer from you brick and mortar checking, it is great. Customer service was amazing and really funny when I called in because I entered my PIN incorrectly too many times.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

lethad1993's Profile Image

lethad1993 reviewed Capital One 360

Jun 30th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great Bank! Financial Freedom Sale Going on now!

Up to several hundred dollars in account bonus cash if you open an account before the 4th of July.

$76 just for opening a checking account with no minimum deposit! Capital One 360 is an amazing online bank with tons of great and free features. No foreign transaction fees, no overdraft fees, very inexpensive checks and they also link with all your other capital one accounts!

They have teen checking accounts (You can get a bonus for this):

Kid Saving Accounts (Bonus)

Money Market Accounts (Bonus)

and regular savings account (Bonus but you have to deposit $200)

I would highly recommend this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dehayes's Profile Image

dehayes reviewed TIAA Direct

Jun 27th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Not a good experience!

I have been banking with TIAA DIRECT (checking and savings) for barely a year and have already had three extremely unsatisfactory experiences.

Most recently, I went to use my debit card at a market one morning, and it was declined. I was busy at work and waiting until the following evening to call. I was told that my debit card that I had been using nearly daily for months "looks like it's never been activated". Um? The phone representative was useless and gave me some bs about a banking analyst addressing my issue in 24-48 hours.

But it wasn't just the card. I had no access to my checking. Not even my payroll deposit went through. But the phone rep had assured me that the account had not been frozen. I had an auto mortgage payment due in a few days and was getting really angry.

This is not the first time I have been left without access to my own money. Disgusting. These are the big issues that I've had with TIAA DIRECT but I've had smaller issues too, that probably aren't worth going into detail about. It's such a pain, but it's to the point that I will have to switch banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Response by TIAA Direct

Responded by TC_Talks

Jun 27th 2014

Providing excellent customer service matters to us. Email your full name and best way to contact you so we can resolve the issue to bankingservices@tiaadirect.com.

davidenderson's Profile Image

davidenderson reviewed USAA

Jun 27th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great rates and lots of extras

All the complaints I read always seem to be with deposits or lack of and auto pay when your account won't cover. I understand the frustration but it is the customers fault almost every time.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates