Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

gsmiller's Profile Image

gsmiller reviewed Ally Bank

Mar 5th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

A bank I actually like

I don't understand all the hate against Ally Bank in previous reviews. I have had a checking account with Ally since 2011, after my local bank screwed me on overdraft fees, and have been very satisfied since. Signing up is painless, much less than what I have experienced at other online-only banks, and their website is very easy to use. In 2012 all of my debit card transactions were suddenly being declined and upon calling Ally it turned out my card number had been stolen so they froze my debit card. I wish they had notified me, but getting a new card was easy and I was not responsible for the fraudulent charge. I have only incurred one overdraft fee of $9 since banking with Ally and it was due to my own negligence. If you're tired of old-fashioned banking and their fees I highly recommend Ally Bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

franwex's Profile Image

franwex reviewed Charles Schwab Bank

Mar 2nd 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Excellent.

I decided to write a review to counter the poor scores written on this site. Most people are inclined to write a bad review than a positive one anyway. My experience with this bank has been top notch. They detected fraud and contacted me, they reimburse ATM fees that I was charged by OTHER institutions. Customer service is local also. Not sure how these other dunces of reviewers could mess up something as simple banking. You put money in, and you take it out when needed. Adding and subtracting. Not rocket science. Cannot figure that out? Maybe you should not have a bank account. Did I mentioned that this bank offers FREE checking with no requirements? Or that the checking account is subject to APY? That is something not even your oh so spectacular credit union might do!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

JimWolfensteiner's Profile Image

JimWolfensteiner reviewed iGObanking.com

Mar 2nd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Rude and ineffective customer service

I have had many experiences with them where the customer service was rude and condescending, you could even say insulting, only to have them not follow through with the actions that instigated the call. Not following CD renewal instructions, failure to update address after multiple contacts, etc. The single biggest reason NOT to do business here is that they have no secure email contact. They use your personal 3rd party email service for secure emails, which is a VERY, VERY bad idea. Also, before oping a CD, carefully read the terms--you will no doubt be in for a big surprise compared to other banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dragonflylake's Profile Image

dragonflylake reviewed Capital One 360

Feb 28th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Not friendly for small savers

I am running a Family Reunion and putting the reservation checks from people into a dedicated account within my accounts. One of my cousins apparently gave me a starter check for $148.00 and Capital One rejected it, stating that they don't accept "starter checks". I have more than a few thousand in the bank accounts but they won't let me deposit that tiny little sum? I guess they are getting a little swell headed, since if the check is no good, they make money anyway, by billing me for the bad check.

I liked ING Direct a lot better and am trying to find another online Bank that actually likes customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

paulwordsmith's Profile Image

paulwordsmith reviewed USAA

Feb 28th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Extremely Poor, Terrible Customer Service

Reported a claim to USAA early January, six weeks later it was still not resolved. Impossible to get the same person on the telephone more than once. They do not return phone calls after repeated messages. Extremely disappointed with USAA. Will likely leave them for another company.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

Orishas's Profile Image

Orishas reviewed Bank Of Internet

Feb 27th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Incompetent employees

Definitely not a place if you are looking for real advise on financial matters. Representative do not have the knowledge beyond the basics. Experience, knowledge, and customer service does not seem to be high on the list when hiring candidates. It seems that personality is the only trait HR looks for when hiring individuals. However, pure personality does not take you far enough. Definitely do not recommend BOI.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

itmanager's Profile Image

itmanager reviewed American Express Bank, FSB

Feb 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

HORRIBLE

1. Opened a HYSC (high yield savings account) jointly with my wife.

2. I transposed two digits of my wifes ssn.

3. They froze my account.

4. Did not contact me. I had to contact them. over 4 times.

5. I fully admitted, verified the correct SSN, said I could provide any evidence they wanted of such, had my wife present....... No good.

6. They said we had to get an original letter from SS office stating my wife is who she is, with her ssn. OR I could close out account.

7. Called Social Security office. You know what that entails......

Basically taking a day off from work, bringing birth cert. , first born, finger prints, deceased parents records......... (little exaggeration here)

8. We chose to close account.

9. Called in and asked to close account. Said it would be 2-3 business days.

10. one week....... no contact

11 Two weeks ...........no contact.

12. I called .............. Oh... you account is restricted.........

13. Please let me talk to supervisor....... Sorry nothing I can do..............

So they've had my money for over a month now and I cannot access it. PERIOD..... Mind you it is not a HUGE sum of $. 104,000. But large enough.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

TomJones's Profile Image

TomJones reviewed Ally Bank

Feb 23rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Very poor protection of your identity

When you open an account they will mail you a form to complete that already has your FULL social security number filled in along with your name and address. While they need a paper form signed, there is no way they should fill out the SSN for you.

It took me several tries to even get their customer service to understand what I was complaining about. And then I got a non-response.

And when you select on-line only statements, they still send a 1099-INT to you in the regular mail. They claim they must do this, but my other on-line bank does not.

Both of these actions make theft of your mail a major problem.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 1

RyanHealey's Profile Image

RyanHealey reviewed GE Capital Retail Bank

Feb 23rd 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Web Site from 1990 Makes Experience Painful

GE Capital Retail Bank handles the servicing of many credit card account for retailers such as Gap, Amazon, etc. However, it's 2014 and their customer facing web site is one of the most outdated of any bank anywhere. Sign in is cumbersome, features are hard to navigate, old accounts remain visible the staff claims there is no way to remove them and the entire site looks a decade old. I can't believe GE can't afford to have a state of the art web site that puts Discover, Chase, Citibank and others in the industry to shame. However, months and years pass with no improvement.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 3 ▼ No 0

ArcaneM37's Profile Image

ArcaneM37 reviewed Simple

Feb 19th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Udder Non-sense

This bank might be worth having, if I could have ever gotten into it. Three weeks of waiting and waiting for them to accomplish one simple (pun intended) task just to never make it to the finish line.

They begin the process by you putting in your email and waiting 1-2 weeks.... that should have been my first warning - that without even any information but my email, they need 1-2 weeks. After that, they ask for my other bank account info for a transfer. I put in for a $500 transfer excited to have a large sum to work with on the new app. It has been three additional weeks of waiting, waiting, sending in one document, and waiting some more.

By this time, bills have been paid and purchases have been made, and my other account is now below $500. I called customer service to ask them to change that withdraw amount and express my dissatisfaction at my money being held captive for over a month. I was informed that my other option was to cancel completely, and begin the whole process all over again. No! I opted to cancel outright and be done with the headache that is "Simple". I was then informed that it was too late, and even thought I had just minutes ago submitted a piece of paper work that they said would take 2-3 weeks to process, they could not cancel the process, and my account would soon be overdrawn. Now this "simple" "fee-less" bank has cost me time, stress, and money. Useless!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 3