Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Jmh1234's Profile Image

Jmh1234 reviewed Simple

Aug 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible customer service

When I signed up for simple I thought their customer service was supposed to be their selling point. I've been trying to get my card unfrozen for TWO days. I've had to endure extremely long wait times on the phone only to be told that they can't resolve my issue until their 'colleague' returns.

All of my service chats through the app have gone unanswered.

They've treated me like garbage and I'm canceling my account.

I would wholeheartedly warn anyone thinking of switching to simple to reconsider.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rebelfag68's Profile Image

rebelfag68 reviewed Simple

Aug 14th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Not really very simple

duplicate transactions, impossible to get a hold of a person, messages left on website go unanswered.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cccustomer's Profile Image

cccustomer reviewed Simple

Aug 14th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Make sure to double check account balances

After their scheduled maintenance, accounts began duplicating transactions. I alerted Simple to this to which they said the duplicate transactions didn't affect your balance. I went back to the last month's ending balance and wrote down all transactions by hand and calculated the amounts. I was INDEED DOUBLE CHARGED. My true balance was higher by the exact amounts of the duplicated transactions.

If you are a current customer, make sure to DOUBLE CHECK YOU BALANCES! They did not actually review my account when I brought this to their attention but instead gave me the exact answer that is on status.simple.com. This is nerve wracking and makes me weary about leaving my money with this bank.

I gave them an extra star only because, yes, their reps are nice. Now, figuring that they did not actually fix my account nor take the time to review the balances, I wouldn't say that is good customer service.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

trav2437's Profile Image

trav2437 reviewed American Express Bank, FSB

Aug 14th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Very surprised to read the negative reviews

Wow. I think I applied for our first American Express credit card in the 1970's. I thought AmEx was very reputable then and my opinion has never changed. I feel "safe" with American Express. Now in our 60's it is one of only 2 credit cards that my husband and I use.

We recently opened an on-line savings with AmEx to get some interest on our money. I am very pleased to have recently discovered that I can now view the date on which my interest is posted. I have only made two withdrawals and both were done within a couple of days- less time than I was told was needed.

I have had to contact customer service on many occasions over these 40 years and I have always been treated courteously and professionally. Every matter was handled to my complete satisfaction.

We continue to be very satisfied American Express customers and I'm sorry and puzzled to read that some people feel differently.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ihatesimple's Profile Image

ihatesimple reviewed Simple

Aug 13th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Anything but Simple

Wish I could give zero stars. They are always promising that their latest improvement will make everything all better. Never happens. Do not bank with SIMPLE unless you want the most unpleasant experience ever.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

PapaDocta's Profile Image

PapaDocta reviewed Simple

Aug 13th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Best Online Banking

this name didn't came from nothing.. it's best bank i have dealt in years.. friendly staff and excellent CS.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

Aproc86's Profile Image

Aproc86 reviewed Simple

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Great bank, great technology

The bank is all the name applies, simple. The smart phone app will accurately show your money, and what you spend it on. You can easily categorize the purchases and the search feature is great. Yes trying to deposit a check via phone does take a while, good news is that they accept direct deposits. I hardly ever write a check so I am not bothered that this bank does not offer checks. I find them to be a waste of paper. Very easy to transfer money to external account also Simple users. They do have a LOT of atm's that you can pull money out of without a fee as well. Best part is when you call them, they help you. They are US based and are always cheerful. I can not tell you how man countless hours I have spent on the phone with BOA and other large company who in speaking to them you sometimes think that a conversation with a pet or wall might be more productive use of your time. The thing to keep in mind is that its not if something goes wrong but when, and what is your bank going to do to take care of you. This is what keeps me a simple customer versus wanting to bank with other large banks.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

AnthonyCorbin's Profile Image

AnthonyCorbin reviewed Simple

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

A Bank I Actually Like

Simple's customer support is the best customer server I have ever experienced. The mobile app is easy to use (android). Using goals has helped me save quite a bit of money by tricking me to think I'm broke.

Down side is the lack of investing options.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

btrac18's Profile Image

btrac18 reviewed Simple

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Banking should be this Simple!

Simple has the perfect name, they make my banking extremely simple. The customer service is incredible, the app on Android gets better and better every few months and it has made my life easier. I use to stress about money, it gave me anxiety because I always had a difficult time logging into my accounts online and trying to find out my balance. But all the banks I worked with never showed my most current balance. Then come the over draft fees. With simple I don't have to do any of that crap. I see what I spent right away!! Which has put me at ease!

I absolutely love simple and would recommend it for anyone that is frustrated with the banking system!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nobojangles's Profile Image

nobojangles reviewed Simple

Aug 12th 2014

5 out of 5 marks

Simple is Genius

I first heard about Simple while reading a blog post in 2011 from J. Reich, Simple CEO. There is one quote that stuck out in my mind: "Simple replaces your bank, but we are not a bank." I think a lot of people don't understand simples mission. Simple is not attempting to be the next CitiBank or place where you buy bonds/CDs/invest, they are trying to improve the banking experience and they have succeeded tremendously. For someone to pursue the idea of interrupting the banking industry is very bold. Banks are giants in this day and age, it is very difficult for any newcomers to even stake a place on the map. The maturity of Simple is something I'm very pleased with as they are only a few years old. It has never been so easy to reach customer service if I had a problem. They post a lot of information online about how to best interface with the system. They are not a bank and I think a lot of people forget that when complaining about time limits and investments etc. They have focused on the most important thing for a customer and that is you. I wish all banks could learn from Simple, the world would be a better place.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates