Top Rated Banks

Some online banks may be better for your financial situation than others. Find the online bank that is the best match for you. Draw from the thousands of online bank reviews from customers to select your online bank.

Find a bank

Review your bank


Online Bank Reviews

Johnsnow44's Profile Image

Johnsnow44 reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 20th 2015

4 out of 5 marks

Online Banks Are The Way To Go

Just opened a checking account and now i don't have to worry about atm fees that cost me tons with a big bank checking account.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

bankaman60's Profile Image

bankaman60 reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 17th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

veggivet's Profile Image

veggivet reviewed HSA Bank

Jan 17th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

Recent website redesign a total fail

I have been with HSA Bank for several years, and up until recently, have been satisfied with their platform. They allow transfers to TD Ameritrade, where I can purchase many Vanguard ETFs commission-free, and it was pretty straightforward to set up these transfers. When I logged in to transfer my 2015 contribution, I found the revamped website much more difficult to navigate than the previous version. I did finally figure out how to set up the transfer, but it took much longer than it should have.

Regarding their fees, as long as you keep a minimum of $5000 with them, you will not incur a monthly 'maintenance' fee. If you want to invest that amount, be prepared to cough up $27 over the course of the year for that privilege. Not unreasonable, in my opinion.

I had a question about a possible over-contribution for 2014, and I sent an email in early December. I received a response almost a month later, with an apology for the delay. I suspect that they are dealing with a larger than usual number of inquiries about the website redesign, and are totally in the weeds.

Since I only have to deal with them twice a year (once to make my contribution, and then once more to move those funds to TD Ameritrade) I will stay with them for the time being. If you anticipate interacting with their customer service department on a more frequent basis for problems with your debit card or payment issues, be forewarned you may be in for some frustrating experiences.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

mmckeny's Profile Image

mmckeny reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible!!!!!

I deposited a check from BOA and was warned by the Ally mobile deposit site that the funds would not be available for 3 days. With that information I turned around and wrote a check for the deposited amount and mailed it off. Those checks have since been cashed and paid but Ally still has a hold on my original deposit 4 days after depositing and have notified me those funds will not be available another 4 days. Because of this they have put a hold on the entire check value plus another $3500.

So let me get this straight, they have my money but I can't use it or the rest of my money because why??????

Horrible inconvenience!!!!!

I would not recommend that anyone has multiple accounts with them so they have the ability to basically freeze ALL "your" money.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

martyz's Profile Image

martyz reviewed HSA Bank

Jan 15th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Customer Service Extremely Inadequate

Impossible to get them on the phone. Tried twice and hung up after 15 minute wait both times. Every time you call you get a message saying we are experiencing longer than normal wait times. This is BS!! They do not have enough staff. Sorry I opened an account with them.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

wetsu's Profile Image

wetsu reviewed USAA

Jan 15th 2015

2 out of 5 marks

Tricky Auto Underwriting

Although my wife and I have stellar credit, no claims or traffic violations in the past ten years, USAA gave us a quote more than 50% higher than three other major carriers. Because we choose to maintain locks on our credit reports to protect us from identity theft! Why should ones credit effect ones rate, other than as a tool to charge more?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

annalog's Profile Image

annalog reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 12th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

You have to be retarded to bank anywhere else

I've been a Wells Fargo customer for 8 years now and have many accounts with them, including my mortgage, but I won't keep cash there. WF is paying 0.01% on savings. It's really insulting given their profitability. At Ally, I get 0.99% with no service fees or crap to deal with. And their customer service is outstanding.

A+ for Ally.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 2 ▼ No 0

lawdawg1231's Profile Image

lawdawg1231 reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 10th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Lack of communication, rude and inconsiderate even

Ally,

Failed to contact me on multiple occasions regards an issue with my account. When they did finally call my cell (which they had all along) I received a condescending attitude blaming my for their lack of communication. At this point I'm taking my banking elsewhere to be treated with respect and valued as a customer!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kronafalvy's Profile Image

kronafalvy reviewed Ally Bank

Jan 9th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Worst banking experience ever

After seeing Ally Bank on bankrate.com, the rating on this website and the competitive interest rates, I decided it was the bank to open a twelve month CD with and place my hard earned savings. Opening the account seemed like a breeze and the agent was nice and professional. After that things drastically changed. Agents seemed sleepy on the phone and disinterested and double the amount of what I authorized was transferred to the CD. When I called to inform them I also was not verified and had to call several different numbers so I could be found in the system. Mind you, I had previously spoken to two agents earlier, neither had troubles locating me. They then blocked me from my online account. I FINALLY was "rediscovered" only to find out that they could not stop the double transfer of funds out of my checking account. They also could not close my account since the transfer was in process. I had to wait until the transfer happened. Once the transfer happened I called immediately to close my account, get all my monies transferred and see about getting compensated with the fees my regular bank has charged me in overdraft protection and advances. I have now been told I must wait 6 days to get my money transferred back due to FDIC regulations and that there is not a designated person with the institution to work with on getting compensated. I am left with nothing in my checking account until the extra money this back transferred without my permission gets replaced and I cannot have a live person's name and number to touch base with about this institution's egregious mistake. Instead, I have a fax number to a computer sever that generates complaints! Trusting this institution has by far been my biggest mistake since I poorly decided to get married to my first husband back in 2004!! What is even scarier for me, I am certain the nightmare is not over and there will be MANY more phone calls in my future.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

endtheFED's Profile Image

endtheFED reviewed Discover Bank

Jan 8th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Avoid this Bank like the Plague! The Rep's LIE consistently.

One star is too generous. They have no customer service. The rep's lie consistently. I'm serious. Don't believe any 5 star rating, those are lying, too!

I was lured in by their interest rates and by having a Discover credit card for 25 yrs.

Firstly, they never paid the .10 debit card credits so, I just quit using the debit card. That's no where near as bad as the runaround I've gotten in the last 4 months. I inherited an IRA with them that was opened at the same time the checking and savings were opened. They have consistently lied, or just made things up, like you would expect children to do. Today, I was told 2 different stories by two different rep's. The first said they never received my signature card. The second said they had the sig. card but never received any of my other acct. forms. This isn't the first I heard this kind of nonsense. Not even the second. Those forms were actually faxed to Dis. Bank 3 days before Christmas. Before that, it took 3 months to get them to open the beneficiary IRA for me. This was because they never gave me the correct forms I needed. So, every time I faxed or mailed something, they never followed up. I would call and be told a different story every single time. I finally got an account opened in Dec. but have yet to get the funds transferred, one month later. The last rep. actually told me the same thing another told me 2 days ago, that it would take 2 business days for it to be processed. They are actually reading their lies off of a prepared form! I would not believe it if I hadn't lived. So, now I just want out. This is absolutely maddening. I can't believe how many times I've been lied to in the last 4 months regarding the transfer on one simple IRA. They just make it up as they go. Even their names are fake, for example, 20 yr old's named Suzie and Julie. I'm not sure whose idea that is. Apparently, it's a way to avoid responsibility for wrong info. LIES, LIES, LIES. AVOID DISCOVER BANK LIKE THE PLAGUE.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »