Number of reviews:
10,899
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

jferry26comcastnet's Profile Image

jferry26comcastnet reviewed Peoples United Bank

Oct 20th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Wouldn't recommend-Particuarly for business

Years ago my wife and I happily moved our bank accounts from Bank of America to back of Western Massachusetts. We loved BWM! Over time BWM was purchased by Chittenden then finally Peoples United. With each merger are customer experience got worse. I can honestly say that People's United Bank may actually be worse than BOA ever was. Here is my list of complaints:

1) PU is progressively taking longer to clear checks-now often more than one day.

2) PU now counts all deposits made on Saturday morning as being made the following Monday. So if you deposit a check on Saturday don't expect those funds to be available Monday as they once were. There is thus no reason to bother making Saturday morning deposits anymore.

3) We had recently attempted to refinance our home through PU and was given a loan offer with a laughably high amount for closing costs. We took that business elsewhere!

4) My daughter had a savings/checking account that went into a negative balance for a few weeks. I went to the local branch to deposit money into it but the account had been closed and could not be reopened without a fee. TD Bank therefore got new 18 y/o customer as a result!

5) Most important. PU installed check reader machines two years ago that really do not work. Business deposits now entail watching the teller sift through those checks not accurately read by their faulty machines, (at least 10% of them). The time involved in making deposits has increased four fold. The bank staff are oddly unapologetic about this problem as I suppose these machines have made their jobs easier?

6) As PU has become a worsening customer experience the fake friendliness from the branch staff has increased!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

macokykagmailcom's Profile Image

macokykagmailcom reviewed Santander Bank

Oct 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Incredibly lazy

So this is the closest Santander to me after moving from Massachusetts almost a year ago.

I had an issue with the ATM in the lobby inexplicably going out of order one time, after my card was in in and I was trying to withdraw money on a Sunday. The screen all of a sudden is showing Chinese (or Japanese) lettering, my transaction stops, there's no one obviously working on a Sunday, after pushing the cancel button about 25 times, and finally waiting about 5 minutes...it kicks my card out. No money, but hey...I got my card back.

2 weeks ago I'm driving through the drive thru ATM about 4:30 on a Tuesday. Insert card, start transaction to withdraw money, same thing happens. Some form of Asian messaging, I hit cancel a couple dozen times, sit there and wait a few minutes, and notice an employee looking out of the drive thru window looking at me. I go over and ask if she can eject the card please, and get "sorry, we don't service that machine". Ummmm, isn't it a Santander ATM? "Yes, but an outside third party manages it". Oh, that's wonderful to know!! She tells me that the machine won't kick the card back out, she'll have to cancel it, and order me a new one. So already frustrated knowing I'm now going to have to change my card number on at least 5 sites that I pay bills directly online with, I ask how long. "It will be 5-7 business days, what's your account number"? So I tell her, and wait. And wait. And wait. Today, 10/20/14, would be the 8th business day, no card in the mail, so I call the 877 number for Santander to ask what's taking so long. Guess what? She never ordered me a new card!!! Not only that, didn't cancel the other!! There is an option to rush my new card, but I'm told that's $30.

Why would you waive that fee? I mean it was your lazy employee that couldn't be bothered to order me a new card as she said she would. Thanks Santander, finally after being with Sovereign/Santander since 2000 it's time to switch to a bank that cares about it's customers

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pinkberry539gmailc's Profile Image

pinkberry539gmailc reviewed Wells Fargo

Oct 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Poor Customer Service

Very poor customer service experience, on numerous occasions. The girl in the drive-thru had attitude from the start (not a first time), made me wait 10 minutes just for her to tell me to come inside. I was already running late, however i made the time to go inside and just get it over with. There, I was "greeted" (not what you would expect from a store manager-unprofessional ). The store manager had attitude with me as well, i didn't appreciate her tone of voice. All i wanted to do is withdraw my money and pay a credit card and be on my way. The whole process took 20 minutes, it was awful. I will never go back to this branch again. In fact, Wells Fargo in general. I always get great service with Chase Bank and that's where I'll be doing ALL of my banking from now on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

kumokklivecom's Profile Image

kumokklivecom reviewed Central Pacific Bank

Oct 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Customer Service

The teller, japanease women, is very rude. She treated me as an idiot. I think she doesn't deserve to have any customers.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

djinmn's Profile Image

djinmn reviewed Discover Bank

Oct 18th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Slow, Bad Service

We have our "Rainy day" fund at Discover bank. The fact that ACH transfers are much slower was not a big deal, because we don't plan on making withdrawals often. I wanted to leave that account alone, and open a second account for savings. At ING they ask "How much, where's the money coming from, and what do you want to call it". At Discover bank I needed to fill out a complete form with SSN, phones, addresses, occupations, etc.

After dutifully filling that out, the response was "Call us". When I called I was told "We are getting a lot of accounts, so we don't know when yours will be approved. We might approve it soon, or we might send you a letter asking for further information". Since there was a minimum opening deposit of $500, that much is sitting in limbo. I asked if I could cancel the process, but I was told that once it started there was nothing that could be done to stop it.

It's kind of surprising, Discover Card has excellent customer service. As far as Discover Bank, there ar much better ones out there.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

isidrohggmailcom's Profile Image

isidrohggmailcom reviewed Bank of America

Oct 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Never Got My Debit Card In My Mail

Hi,

i just want to express the frustrating experience i had with bank of america, i opened my account on july and now (oct 18, 2014) still dont have my permanent card, a total of 4 times i requested the card to be re-issued since i never got it in my mail, and now, i decided to close my business with this bank since they keep saying they will re-issue again the card, that is bad service for me. Service at the branch is ok though, but this issue with the card was very frustrating and so i will stop doing business with bank of america. At the same time in july, opened another checkings account with first tech and i got my card immediately at the branch, that was super fast and very practical. Isidro hernandez

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rajchaudhrygmailco's Profile Image

rajchaudhrygmailco reviewed Ally Bank

Oct 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Asking Baseless Ridiculous Questions Online

Recently they have started asking strange questions like which street is closest to you, who among the persons listed below do you know, and so on. These are totally ridiculous and irrelevant questions and why can't they keep the validation to the relevant information in their systems? How would one know every street in the metropolis? ( i googled those streets and some of them are 40 miles away). How do you know if i know the person or not and if you do why are you preying on my privacy. Who gave you authority and access to do searches on me? I am very frustrated customer and very annoyed with ally bank! This is totally unacceptable and needs to stop.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

cellardweller1954y's Profile Image

cellardweller1954y reviewed Synchrony Bank

Oct 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Reduced Credit Limit

I cannot believe that I have just received a letter from this bank telling me that they have reduced my credit by $200 at TJMaxx. I only had a low credit of $300 and they now reduce it. I have always paid on time and at the moment I have a zero balance. I am seriously considering closing the account. A lot of store credit cards now use this crappy bank. It makes me wonder if all of my store credit cards are going to go the same way.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

topper781yahoocom's Profile Image

topper781yahoocom reviewed Salem Five

Oct 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible, Out of Touch

Salem Five is the WORST bank I have ever dealt with. EVER. They do not clearly explain that if you use their cell phone deposit feature that your check takes additional time to collect, so the convenience means that you don't have to schlep to one of their few branches or ATMs, but instead you can bounce checks. It takes weeks to get a replacement debit card, they screw up the activation process and their "phone service" is horrible at best. This is a bank for neighborhood people only who have plenty of time to sit around waiting for everything.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

amd710earthlinknet's Profile Image

amd710earthlinknet reviewed TD Bank

Oct 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Don't Buy TD Bank Gift Cards

After purchasing 3 gift cards in the amount of $25 for my college son I found that the monies were eaten up with a $2.50 service charge leaving $7.50 on each card. Contacted the toll free number, went to the TD branch and horrible customer service. Really disappointment in how TD bank was non-responsive. I am a long time TD Bank customer. Warning - do not buy TD gift cards.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates