Number of reviews:
11,312
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

turningintoacockro's Profile Image

turningintoacockro reviewed Barclays Bank

Jan 25th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Dealing with this bank is like Kafka's Metamorphasis

I hold financial Power of Attorney (POA) over my father's accounts. I called Barclays customer service to make sure there was not going to be an issue with setting up a CD account for my father. They assured me that all I needed to do was set up the account online in my father's name and then fax the POA document once the account was established. I entered the information necessary to set up the account and then pressed enter. Half an hour later, the screen still showed that the application was processing. I realized that I had forgotten to enter a beneficiary, so I closed the window and attempted to re-enter the application. The application would not let me back in and urged me to call customer service, so I did so. Customer service then told me that they would not be able to give me any information about the application unless they could speak to my father. I explained that my father could not speak to them, which is why I have POA. They said that they could not speak to me without a POA, but that I could not send them a POA document until the application had been approved, putting me in the absurd situation of being unable to do anything to move forward on setting up this account. At this point, I no longer had any interest in an account with a bank that would force me into such an absurd situation. Even the customer service agent acknowledged the absurdity of the situation. I asked that they delete the application as they were obviously not interested in my father's business.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

hockey143's Profile Image

hockey143 reviewed M&T Bank

Jan 25th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Dirty Deeds And There Done To Me

With a M&T Bank credit score of 799 and after being a loyal customer for 43 years, this bank informed me that they will be closing my accounts and that "they no longer want to do business with me". Refuse to give me a reason and never informed my local branch of this corporate decision. Somebody has to know! Doesn't even deserve one star but I had to in order to post this. Dave

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

MKPhillips's Profile Image

MKPhillips reviewed FirstMerit Bank

Jan 25th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Terrible Bank

My husband has had an account with this bank since before it was First Merit. I believe, since his early 20's, and he's now 42. That's some long term patronage. Previously, he got rid of his ATM card with this bank due to a fraudulent $5 charge by the Obama Campaign. It happened through the ATM card number so he was nervous to even get a new card due to that being his primary account for direct deposits from work. He didn't like the vulnerability of all his funds potentially being hit and the time it takes to resolve the issue could cause all sorts of other problems. For this reason he sometimes needs me to cash a check for him at his bank when his work schedule won't allow him to get there himself. The Algonquin branch always waived the $10 fee for cashing the check because I'm his spouse. They were wonderful and kind at that branch. But at the Gurnee Branch, I was warned about the possibility of paying the $10 fee in future. The clerk was also very intrusive into why I wouldn't be jointly on his account. The manager herself had them waive the fee in the past at this branch. However, due to the warning, I've really avoided going there and instead drop the check in my TCF account then take out what I can from the ATM. This weekend he left a check for $75.00 that he needed and I went in to cash it for him on Saturday. The clerk told me I would be charged $10. I simply took my check back and told her I'll take it to my own bank instead. On the way out, I told her, he's not going to be happy about this and he will likely leave this bank. Upon seeing all the negative reviews here, I can say I am not at all surprised. He also recently had all his scheduled online bill payments just disappear as if he never set them up. Thank GOD he sets them up well in advance and was able to go to each site and make his payments. Only one ended up late. But no thanks to the bank. And that's all I have to say about that. Thank you all for your reviews...knowledge is power!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

mzamarripa11's Profile Image

mzamarripa11 reviewed Howard Bank

Jan 25th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

No Integrity Here - they will do anything to get you to sign

Ultimately the lack of integrity within this bank falls upon Mary Ann Scully. The CEO should strive to instill a sense of accountability and responsibility in her employees. Her staff cannot be allowed to misrepresent facts on loans. Her employees must be held responsible for claims made against her bank. Customer should not have to suffer because of Howard Banks gross miss representation of facts.

A deep forensic audit of the loan processes and customer communications should be performed to ensure Mary Ann’s bank is following all the procedures mandated by the government agencies they represent and profit from.

It is also shameful when Mary Ann’s vice presidents admit to wrong doing yet provide no road map for corrective action and customer remediation.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

pixie26's Profile Image

pixie26 reviewed Community Savings

Jan 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Needs Updated

I used this site to find the times of my bank and wasted an hour trip because it said they were open three hours after they really closed. The site said 4 pm but when I went in at 2:30, the sign on the door said 1. So yes, I believe some updates need to be made.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

reviewmybank's Profile Image

1 out of 5 marks

Deposit incorrect

My deposit at 90th and Fort branch on 01/24/2015 was incorrect. I noticed after 1PM. I called about the error, reached the rep. Kayla ext 1059973 at the call center . She was unconcerned about how this error and how it may effect me until it can be resolved. Since it is a Saturday apparently it could be as long as 01/27/2014 and that is because I caught it. Never once was a apology given. Error strike one ,terrible customer service strike two.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

stronghill's Profile Image

stronghill reviewed Essa Bank & Trust

Jan 24th 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Deceptive loan rates

Don't bother visiting based on loan rates listed on Internet site. Fill out the application and you will find that the closing costs and fees will be thousand(s) more.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

joeb1991's Profile Image

joeb1991 reviewed Eastern Bank

Jan 24th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

all my personal & business accounts

I have been dealing with Eastern Bank for many years now and do all of my personal and business banking there. I have always found them to be friendly and helpful. I recommend them highly!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

the172flyr's Profile Image

the172flyr reviewed Umpqua Bank

Jan 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Gone to Hell

This used to be Sterling Bank, which was great have been with them for 15 yrs. now bought out by Umpqua Bank, not only has the service gone down the toilet, but the employees are totally clueless, except for one, Mary she still knows what customer service means. Their bill paying service stinks. I have been signed up for that for 2 mos, and this week alone 3 people didn't get paid, and they have no reason for it, all I got was double talk, and 3 late charges, I was able to get rid of one. Now they don't even answer their 800 number, they say they will give you a call back Ya 2 days later. I'm so flippin out of there come Monday. Bite Me Umpqua Bank!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Fnb53's Profile Image

Fnb53 reviewed PNC Bank

Jan 23rd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Home equity line of credit

Worst bank ever' they are too big and inefficient to provide good service. It took 9 days to process a bank to bank payment. I was forced to place a stop payment on the bak to bak draft payment. I had to go to a branch to make my home equity line payment. They receive my payment 3 days before the due date. However, they arbitrarily freeze my account. I received a piece of pauper statin that freeze my account due to default despite that they received my payment ahead of time and $19,970 more than the minimum payment. The piece of paper has initials JG, no information about my rights, nor a disclosure where to summit a grievance or complaint. I had to submit a complaint at Consumer Financial Protection Bureau to fight for this abusive behavior of PNC Bank

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »