Number of reviews:
11,123
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

Bogus2014's Profile Image

Bogus2014 reviewed Capital One

Dec 21st 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Capital One - Worst Bank I Have Ever Used - Total Fail

I had card fraud in the first three weeks and I was out of town for my Father-in-laws funeral. After the service we were on our way to the burial and stopped to get gas. My card was declined and I called Capital One which put a hold on my card for unusual card usage. I had no cash and a limited amount of time to get to the burial in another town hours away. After being on the phone for 45 minutes and hearing how they were sorry and should have called me but didn't, I was able to get a one time ATM withdrawal and head to the burial. We lost too much time and did not arrive until the service was over and my wife was devastated. Capital One unlike most banks, does not identify their card transactions with an ID until after the transaction has been processed. We were out of town and my mobile banking had many transactions but all of them were labeled pending transaction not Sears, WalMart or Texaco. When I called and asked why every transaction was not immediately identified they said if I call them they can tell me what each one is but I won't know until they finish processing which could take up to three days. WOW! NOBODY DOES THIS. You have to carry your paper register around with you and update it constantly or a transaction may not get caught for several days. Even the fraud group told me I needed to wait for the fraud transactions to finish processing before they could do anything and again I say WOW. The employees at every level of Capital One could not explain to me why their software does not ID transactions instantly like all other banks have been doing forever. I finally called Shylundrya (201) 421-3925 at the executive level at Corporate to finally get ANY kind off resolution to the fraud and get some money back in my account. The lack of ID with transactions has been a major complaint by Capital One customers and they plan to fix it in a YEAR OR SO! We miss you Dad..

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

rubmewrong's Profile Image

rubmewrong reviewed Santander Bank

Dec 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Santander investment sales people unethical

Santander investment sales people ruined a good thing. I closed my account because investment sales person called me under false pretense multiple times.

The final straw was when this jerk called to have me come in and update my beneficiary--it took a moment before I realized it was the same slimeball who always calls. He wanted me in his office and sell me investments.

SANTANDER bank tellers were friendly, fast and accurate. I hated to cut ties with the bank over one bad guy bordering on criminal behavior. Didn't the FDIC crack down on this bait and switch already?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nocashforyou's Profile Image

nocashforyou reviewed The Provident Bank

Dec 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Walk-in customer service lacking

Have had an account with this bank for 7+ years. Their online banking is fine for my needs, but occasionally I have to go in for my transactions. Those times when I do, it's never busy but yet I have to wait for teller's personal conversations to end before I'm even acknowledged in the lobby. It's unprofessional and irritating. When I cash a check, I'm grilled on whether or not I have an account with them... even though it's my own Provident bank checking account on the check I hand over and I give them ID. No matter how many times I have been in over the years, it seems like they still don't know who I am... or care for that matter. (Note: There are different banks in a 1 mile radius to this branch and I have accounts at them all. The experience given at Chase, Husdon City, etc are much more pleasant.)

This morning, I witnessed a woman asking if they had a working ATM she could use her debit card in as the drive up one was out of order. They didn't, and it took her three attempts to seek a solution until a manager was called over to complete the transaction. Other banks would have fallen over themselves to help her but the response was less than impressive.

In all, Provident bank really should ramp up their CS training as their tellers could greatly improve customer interaction with a more positive attitude.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

GlenAckerman's Profile Image

GlenAckerman reviewed Wells Fargo

Dec 20th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Intimidated by cop for not agreeing to 7$ cashing fee

On 12/19/14 I was physically bullied and intimidated by a police officer at a branch in northwest houston because I was complaining about the arbitrary and unfair 7$ check cashing fee. After the incident I called customer service twice and it was unclear as to whether he actually worked there or was a customer. I either case It was uncalled for and innapropriate. If the cop worked there he shouldn't use physical intimidation when someone disagrees with policy. If he was just a client then he had no business standing 3 inches behind me and nudging me at the bank window as I conducted my business and should have been told to back away by the manager with whom I was speaking. I'm disgusted and appalled.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

arunnagpal's Profile Image

arunnagpal reviewed The Bank of New York Mellon

Dec 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Mellon Bank not serious about business

Today Mellon Bank has reversed a wire transfer coming out of my Chase checking account to my account with Discover Bank, Mellon is intermediary for the Discover Bank, saying UTA need valid beneficiary account. And on top of t deducted $40- reversal fees. It was a valid account and I had no problem with wire to other banks. How could Mellon's documentation specialist make that terrible mistake for money coming into their bank where I may have to pay twice each time for incoming and outgoing wires?

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Kevin1943's Profile Image

Kevin1943 reviewed Bank of America

Dec 18th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

NEVER PURCHASE FOREIGN CURRENCY AT Bank of America

I went to a Bank of America branch to purchase Mexican pesos for an upcoming trip. When the teller gave me the receipt for the transaction, I saw that they were giving me a little over 7 pesos to the US dollar. At home, looked up the exchange rate for that day and it was over 14 pesos to the dollar. I called the bank and cancelled the purchase. The manager said he had already put the order in but that he would send the pesos back. When the pesos arrived, the manager called to confirm my desire to cancel. He told me that Bank of America would refund my money at a lower rate. In the end, I was charged $80.00 for this cancellation. Never use Bank of America for foreign currency purchase. Their rates are unfair and the process is rediculous

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

CBOstopshere's Profile Image

CBOstopshere reviewed Fifth Third Bank

Dec 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Won't cash their own checks

I received a check written on Fifth Third Bank from a physician who is closing his doors on December 31, 2014. I wanted to make sure the check cleared so I took it straight to Fifth Third in Wauseon, Ohio. They tried to charge me $4 to cash the check. They said I would have to open an account there to avoid the $4. I told them to forget it, so now I'm just going to deposit it at my own bank. But this is ridiculous. Not cashing checks from depositors at their own bank? Talk about a rip-off. I would never recommend anyone go to this bank.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

therealmvp5's Profile Image

therealmvp5 reviewed Chase

Dec 17th 2014

4 out of 5 marks

if this is all you can get..

Last option in terms of banks. So many options with online banks that it is pointless to use a big bank unless you need a teller.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Salulu's Profile Image

Salulu reviewed Ally Bank

Dec 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible application process

it was like i am applying for a secret service agent positions with ally reps contacting me for the 4th time in 1 month trying to get me to continue furnish them with additional info bcos they could not verify my wife's address for a MM account. this was after we've given them more than enough info such as DL, SSN utilities, Voter Registration card, etc to validate her current address. they got hung up on an old address appearing on her DL. Terrible customer experience in the front end that made us jump to another competitor today. they made me feel like they are doing me a favor.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

BankTrak222's Profile Image

BankTrak222 reviewed Comerica Bank

Dec 17th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Horrible Customer Service

We had a two business accounts with this branch. The branch manager was very disrespectful, and could not answer business account questions. He wold not give a straight answer, and would change his answer back/forth within the same conversation. I do not know if he is just unknowledgeable and untrained, or just rude. But we will never bank with Comerica again. Once, after asking if we could please have the contact information for the regional branch, since we could not get a straight answer, he made a decision that he would just "freeze" our accounts, and then insisted that a company officer fly in from New York to un-freeze our accounts. He refused to give us any regional branch contact information, and insisted that only he could "help" us with our business accounts. When I called the customer service number, they put me on hold, and they dialed the branch manager, who was sitting right across from us, then customer service "accidently" disconnected my call, and when I returned the call, they also refused to provide any contact phone numbers, saying we are only allowed to speak to our bank branch manager, no customer is allowed to speak to anyone higher up in the organization. Turned out to be a lousy bank in regards to treatment of customers. You would think they would value large business accounts, but they do not.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »