Number of reviews:
10,316
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or cred...

Read »

Latest Reviews

custerfr's Profile Image

2 out of 5 marks

TD Ripoff card

About nine months ago I received a secured TD Cash Rewards VISA credit card. Recently I made a $500 online payment via another account at Citizens Bank. I find that TD will not take fund transfers from another bank. So, Citizens cut them a check and sent it to them. TD received the payment the following day and recorded it on their online site. I was told that it wasn't posted until 6 days after that and that the funds would not be available for 7 more days while they were being verified. That is today and the funds still are not available! When I called their 888 number I was told that the funds would not available until midnight tonight. That's tomorrow! So the verification process is really 8 days. That means TD has sat on my money for 2 weeks. Card Services was ZERO help (3 management levels). I do believe that this is the 21st Century and there are such things as computers which can clear a check in minutes if not seconds. Just wondering how much they made on my money. Stay away from TD.....Bad card, Bad service, Bad policies

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nonono's Profile Image

nonono reviewed First Niagara Bank

Jul 24th 2014

2 out of 5 marks

Some investment and mortgage personnel seem unprofessional

Curious about mortgage rates because I was considering buying a condo, I stopped to talk to an officer at my small branch office. I didn't know her because the staff changes constantly there but she checked my records (after speaking with her vet about her pet ) and quickly put on the phone with a "mortgage consultant" (read: salesman).

He expected me, I believe, to want his approval so much that a courteous introduction or expectation of privacy (I was in a rather public, half glassed-in cubicle) was unnecessary. He fired out his questions about IRAs, savings, salary, debt, etc., with condescending casualness.

The whole motus operendi was so rude and unprofessional that I would never consider First Niagara as a lender.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

fredfriedrick's Profile Image

fredfriedrick reviewed Wells Fargo

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Wells Fargo incompetent with over the top fees

I have checking, savings and brokerage accounts at wells fargo. I noticed that my online access to my checking account was not available. So any reconciliation I intended to do was impossible. The next day I tried to issues trades on the brokerage account (around 9:30am Mondday). However the brokerage link never returned a response.

I went to another institution to transfer the brokerage account to a more reliable service. Now I see a $95.00 charge for a "termination fee".

I am closing all my accounts after this.

I suggest that you reconsider doing any kind of business with Wells Fargo. If you have an account, get your money and get it to another more reliable service provider. Be careful though. Wells will gouge you if they are able. I suggest going to the bank and requesting CASH.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

FedUp304's Profile Image

FedUp304 reviewed BB&T

Jul 24th 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Good riddance

We have been banking with BB&T for years in several states. Our current local branch very convenient as it's right around the corner, and that's where the positives end. Highlights of the negatives: I've had to remind tellers at least half a dozen times that I was getting cash back (presumably an honest mistake but still), I once noticed that the wrong amount was entered electronically on a deposit slip (sloppy), and one of the floor managers takes the cake. She is lazy, rude and incompetent. She refused to notarize a common document for a house closing, claiming she "wasn't authorized." We took it down the street to another bank where we have no accounts and got it notarized with no problem. She slogs around the office as if she's doing the bank a favor by being there, and if she doesn't feel like helping you, she won't. A simple request for an account confirmation letter was refused because she claimed she couldn't verify we have accounts there (Um, hello? Try looking on your computer, which is how I log into my own account!). We offered to do that and provide our ID and were dismissed with the "I'm not authorized" excuse and told our request would have to be sent to some department which would take three days and $20. So we went to another branch and received the requested letter in minutes, no questions asked, no fee charged, no b.s. Kudos to that employee, who was unfortunately an aberration from my typical BB&T experiences.

I filled in the form online to report a complaint and two weeks later have received no response. Big surprise (not).

Went into the bank today to let them know we will be using our debit card overseas, and I received a patronizing lecture from the sour-faced manager about how despite letting them know, the card could still be blocked. Whatever. It's a back up since I'm already in the process of transferring our accounts elsewhere. Oh, and they also charge outrageous fees on foreign ATM withdrawals.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

troixb's Profile Image

troixb reviewed TD Bank

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Clueless and Robbed!

I'm not a TD Bank customer and after today I can definitively say I never will be. I stop at this ATM on my way to work for cash (my bank reimburses other bank's fees). Towards the end of the transaction as the machine is about to dispense my money, the screen freezes then goes black. I go inside to ask to speak with someone. I'm told to wait. I wait. There's a woman sitting at a desk not helping anyone stairing at her computer monitor. Not wanting to be late for work, I go over to speak with her. She tells me to have a seat doesn't even want to know what I need to explain to someone. Then another customer comes him from the ATM something similar happened to her. She and I start talking and I start telling customers in line what happened real loud like. Finally that gets the attention of the assistant branch manager who comes over. I finally get to tell her what happened. She doesn't know what to do and makes a few phone calls. By the end of these conversations she just asks me for my contact information. I have no idea what to do in this situation. Should they!?! I go across the street and print out MY bank ledger showing the transaction ID and that TD Bank's ATM withdrew money from my account. I walk back over to give it to them and say, "balance the machine and the cash should be off. Also, there are cameras you will clearly see no cash was dispensed" and left. About an hour or more later the branch manager calls me to say there's nothing they can do and I need to file a dispute with my bank in order for them to investigate. Lydia was her name and she was not nice, sympathetic or informed that customers are not knowledgeable to corporate bank policies but her employees should have been instaed of wasting my time today. Horrible horrible place!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

SeaShell's Profile Image

SeaShell reviewed Bank of America

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

No brainers! worst Customer service/respect

I was out of city and used my Credit card once. the day after I received a call with no introduction that said Your Debit card closed Then I couldn't see my credit account online when I came back I called the bank and I was told that was for security Well who's security? mine or the potential thieve? Imagine another person used my card in another city. You Blocked me online, not to be able to see what's happening to my account while the card is still OK to be used by who ever You kidding me?? They could at least call me and check if it was me?? At the end I see a "maintenance fee" charged in my account too ,which I don't know why is that?

More over, when look at my activities on line, any time in this couple of days I used my credit card , it shows the Type as "Cash Advance" not the regular. Cash Advance from a credit card has charges!!!!!! No wonder why they never blocked the card.

I emailed the bank from the contact page within the bank account-online. They responded back to me almost in 1 week that I have to log in my account and send email from the secure page within my account / online.

Didn't I just do that?!?! so pissed off.

Contacted CEO office. no difference ...

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

LauraWiggins's Profile Image

LauraWiggins reviewed BB&T

Jul 23rd 2014

3 out of 5 marks

Rude tellers

Just wanted the branch to know that I dislike going to their location because the tellers in the drive through window always seem extremely rude. They never look happy and act like it's a pain to help you because they don't go out of their way expect what they're suppose to do. I get it, it's not part of their job, but just because it's not written in your job description doesn't mean you should turn your nose up. I'll be using other locations from now on.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

nyerod1212's Profile Image

nyerod1212 reviewed Citizens Bank

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

THEY HIRE PEOPLE OFF THE STREETS ,NO EDUCATION!!!!

Do not go to the citizens bank on panorama trail in Rochester 14625. They have workers there that have absolutely no education what so ever. No ged, no high school diploma and defintely no college. I have proof. I went in there to open an account and this girl gave me her card. Her name is Sara Mason.She told me that she just started not to long ago cause i was talking about my daughter needing a job. Sara told me that she has no ged or high school diploma. She went to a school called Bryant and Stranton for like 4 months and it was a school that you can work on your ged and trade. But she told me that she only went there for a few months and had them write her a resume which probably lied. I dont know but she said she got hired. Now i dont know about you guys but when it comes to my money i want it in good hands, and someone who has no education what so ever is in the bank that you probably have your account in. i was so pissed when i found that out i left. I will never open an account there now.. I have family in this bank and i am telling them about this situation and who ever else cause thats not right.I think other peoples identity and money is in jeopardy.PLEASE PEOPLE BE CAREFUL. YOUR WHOLE LIFE IS BASICALLY HANDLED BY JUST ANYONE OFF THE STREETS....

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

ometecuhtli2001's Profile Image

ometecuhtli2001 reviewed Synchrony Bank

Jul 23rd 2014

1 out of 5 marks

Mystery interest and charges, cruddy web site

I got a card with GE Capital/Synchrony/whatever they're calling themselves through Banana Republic. Immediately there were problems because I never got the card or a statement. I called the day before payment was due only to find out that it had been returned to them because the apartment number (which I had specified) had not been included in the mailing address. The rep offered to re-send it, along with a copy of the statement, and take payment over the phone with no charge. Cool.

I spent the next week trying to get into their horrible web site to verify payment had gone through but I was unable to do so. My card finally arrived, as did my next statement which I paid early and in full.

I just got my third statement and it shows there is now interest and a nearly $300 balance even though the last two payments appear in the transaction list. I haven't bought anything since the last payment was made, and no charges are listed. The last statement did not have interest or additional fees, so it appears all payments have been made on time.

When I mentioned this to friends, those who have had GE/whatever said they have a nasty habit of doing this kind of thing. Totally not worth my time - I'm seriously considering closing down the BR card.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

buckslady's Profile Image

buckslady reviewed National Penn

Jul 23rd 2014

4 out of 5 marks

Good, Consistent Service

I opened a free checking account with this branch in February 2012. Just this year, the free checking was done away with and I had to make a decision about what to do with my account. Because my account is small, the requirement to maintain a minimum balance would not work for me. They were able to use the balance in a joint account with my husband as a balance basis for the new account I was switched into. This was a huge help, although I would still rather have the simple, free checking account.

This branch, as well as all the others I have visited, have always maintained a consistently excellent service mentality in all my (our) transactions. We appreciate the efforts they take to do this.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0