Number of reviews:
11,898
Rated by You! The Most Helpful Customer Reviews: Winter 2014
A unique feature that sets MyBankTracker apart from any other banking site is our reviews page -- anyone can write a review about their bank or credit...

Read »

Latest Reviews

itsjustme's Profile Image

itsjustme reviewed Suntrust Bank

May 24th 2015

5 out of 5 marks

my wife and I got schooled

My wife and I just opened a new account at this branch in frostproof,

I have banked with other banks and never knew what we had learned about banking on this day,

Nichole Peters, was this woman's name and she knew what she was doing she told us everything we needed to know and then some, she gave great advice on bank accounts, credit, how the different bank accounts work and which account would be best for us and why. So I googled the stuff she taught us and I am only amazed with what all she knew about it all. When we went in the bank we had never met this woman and within just a very short time she had us feeling like we belonged there. This is someone who you would think wrote the book of banking. Very nice and polite and now with her knowledge past down to us we will start to build a future for our selves and our children. If you are able to read this Nichole thank you very much for your wisdom. Sincerely Steven and Angie Young

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Mellit's Profile Image

Mellit reviewed Capital One 360

May 23rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

So much better!

I switched to capital one 360 because of the overdraft line of credit. I don't usually overdraft, but the times that I have by accident, I got totally reamed by wells Fargo. Like eight overdraft fees in one day. And usually for something dumb, like my husband took out cash without realizing I had bills coming out. It's really painful to lose hundreds of dollars in those fees when you already are on a tight budget. And sometimes you can't cancel scheduled bills in time, even after you know about the negative balance, so those overdraft too. I even turned off overdraft protection with wells Fargo, but they still would allow stuff to go through! They would approve my debit card purchases, or atm withdrawal, and then later when a bill came through they'd go back and charge me an overdraft for ALL of the purchases, not just the bill. Their excuse....that the stated date from the biller preceeded the purchases, even though the actual bill wasn't withdrawn until after the purchases. I'm not sure that's even legal, but they are getting away with it. These big banks will do anything to trap you in these fees. Cap One helped get us back on track. The overdraft line of credit saved my butt a few times, with no fees, which saved me more. I also love how they automatically deduct money from the account when I send a check or payment, even if the check hasn't been cashed. Being a scatter brain, I often forget about payments that I sent, which causes overdrafts. This checking account helps keep me on track. I've also had no issues with customer service. They've always been very nice and informative. I've had a capital one credit card since college. It is literally the only credit card I've ever had that doesn't raise interest rates. It's been the same rate for thirteen years, no matter how high the debt got. Other cards that I had at the same time raised their rates even when I paid faithfully. So, I paid those ones off and now only use the capital one card.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

HectorT's Profile Image

HectorT reviewed BBVA Compass Bank

May 23rd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

"mimie"

I visited this branch to cash my payroll check and with a little help from Mimie, decided to open a checking account. She was very nice, professional, and smiled. I noticed that both, her and the other teller, greeted incoming patrons by name. In my opinion, that's personal banking at it's best. Thank you.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

dbbaird's Profile Image

dbbaird reviewed Umpqua Bank

May 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

mortgage department

Umpqua is a horrid conglomerate. Do not honor Power of Attorneys, lost $2000 because of that. Can't talk with legal department or escrow department directly - must be high security clearance. Would put my money in a mattress and live in a cardboard box before would do business with them

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

swanndanielle's Profile Image

swanndanielle reviewed BB&T

May 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

4 years of having a checking account with them and this....

i have had my bank account for 4 years through bb&t and I have worked at the same place for 3 years every two weeks I go to deposit my check. and today I go and I am told that they want to put a 2 day hold on my check. I am told that it is because they do not have my employer in there computer and to go to the bank that the doctor I work for uses all way across town to cash the check and come back and deposit it... so I go to m&t to cash my check and I am charged $10 to cash my check cause I don't have a account with them... I get back to bb&t for the women inside to tell me that the reason they could not deposit my work check was because I didn't have enough funds in my account to cover the check.. I explained to her I have had as little as 20 dollars in my account before and have never had a problem I have used the same branch the same checking account and had the same employer for 3 years and now they want to start holding my pay checks... yeah I don' t think so I will be going else where to do my banking from now.. they have lost a customer

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

jrupe's Profile Image

jrupe reviewed Bank of the Ozarks

May 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Shylocks

Processed a payment to my cell phone provider on April 23. Funds left my account April 26. Another $7 charge came through . Instead of accessing overdraft or return for $7 they took back my cell phone payment of 350.00 and charged a $36 fee. Then charged for $7 payment. The return came back 7 days later.So I drained my account to cover cell phone bill. Then I was charged a fee for EVERY penny afterwards that came through. Fees added up to $374. Called to shut down account before I was robbed even more.They shut my account down and charged off. My paycheck came DD two days later. They reversed my requested charge off then took my ENTIRE paycheck.Then closed my account again.I can prove all transactions where shady at the least and I am taking legal action against this so called hometown bank. They told me they have the right to take any money that's written to me in any fashion they please. All money owed was 100% fees. They talked to me like dirt and accused me of robbing them even tho They where paid in full after my check was stolen. Now because they help people so much I will be in the poorhouse in about 3 days. Thanks for your help

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Shamaro8's Profile Image

Shamaro8 reviewed Bank of America

May 22nd 2015

5 out of 5 marks

Exceptional Branch Manager

Will not say what I went in for, but the Branch Manager Jason, was exceedingly professional and friendly...I was thinking, the tellers must enjoy their job, with such leadership present!!

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

adv3ntur314's Profile Image

adv3ntur314 reviewed Simple

May 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Simply Frustrating

I moved to Simple after my local credit union hired a new bill pay servicing company. Simple seemed simple. I am beyond frustrated with this bank - the website drives me insane, the app looks neat but really only does half of what my local banks do, and every time I call customer service for assistance (I have to call customer service for simple things like how to use bill pay) I spend an eternity waiting for someone and invariably get put on hold while they try and "figure out my issue." An example of an issue, wanting to update a recurring payment and not being able to tell if one payment had been effected or the entire series. Seems like it should be simple...

The nominal interest rate is a joke at 0.01%

The average processing time for payments is approximately a week, which means they withdraw the money from your account (not earning 1/10 of a penny on those funds!) and hold the money for a week before delivery. Sure there is processing time, but this is obviously a means for them to hold large amounts of funds from the spectrum of accounts to generate revenue.

Check deposits take FOR EVER. My first deposit was held for 11 days. Subsequent deposits will be held for 7-9 business days. My local bank does it in one.

The "goals" feature doesn't automatically catch up when funds are deposited, nor is there a single button for catch up all.

The coup de gras for me, every time I want to add or edit a payee for billpay, I have to get a text message confirmation code, adding 10 payees took an hour and a half, 10 texts, and then additional texts for "simple" things like changing a nickname.

This account is FAR more effort than it could possibly be worth. I am entirely dissatisfied with all aspects and am deleting my account less than 2 months after initiating it.

When I told them that I was unhappy and looking for a new bank, they said "oh, ok." Glad I found out now that customer satisfaction is not a priority.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Aero1987's Profile Image

Aero1987 reviewed PNC Bank

May 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Played around

I was at this bank to open a new bank account. Since i had a negative account that was closed and i paid it in full after a month, the pnc verification center wanted the branch manager to request a bypass code.

The branch manager MARY SUDHERS acted as if she tried her best and i believed her. Later when i talked to the pnc over phone, they weresurprised to see that she had denied me to request the code and the bank was ready. Dont go to her.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Ihatetowaitsolong's Profile Image

Ihatetowaitsolong reviewed Bank of America

May 22nd 2015

1 out of 5 marks

Only one bank teller working at all times. Very long wait!

This bank only has one bank teller working at all times. There are other people working in the bank. But no one will open up a second bank teller window when the line gets long! The wait time is very long when this happens.

Is this review helpful? ▲ Yes 1 ▼ No 0

Featured Rates

Featured Saving Rates

Compare more rates »