Which Major U.S. Banks Offer Second Chance Checking Accounts?

checks

Have you burned bridges with your previous bank or banks? Are you finding it difficult to open a new account to help you manage your money during the holidays?

Failing to manage one bank account properly could give you a bad reputation amongst most financial institutions. There is a way to open a bank account -- a second chance checking account is your way back into the bank's good graces.

Just like your credit is monitored, so is the status of your checking and savings accounts.

ChexSystems is the monitoring agency that banks report to and lists a variety of reasons why you may have had an account closed and are having a hard time opening a new one.

Financial hard times could have left you without a bank account to deposit and access money from.

You may have honest intentions to get your finances in order but with things such as checking account fees on the rise, it can seem virtually impossible.

If you are having a difficult time opening a checking account -- rest assured, second chance checking accounts are available from financial institutions such as Wells Fargo and Capital One.

Wells Fargo Opportunity Checking 

Wells Fargo Opportunity Checking  allows those with bad banking history to open an account for just $50.

Once enrolled, a monthly service fee of $10 is applied if you're unable to meet the minimum daily balance requirement, direct deposit amount, or posted purchase debits/payments. 

To waive the $10 monthly fee, account holders must maintain a minimum daily balance of $1,500, 10 debit card purchases and/or payments a month, or a total of $500 or more in direct deposits.

The biggest benefit of this account is that there is a $0 cash withdrawal fee at Wells Fargo ATMs. There is, however, a $2.50 cash withdrawal fee at U.S. located non-Wells Fargo ATMs, with additional fees applied from the owner of the ATM.

Cash withdrawal fees at non-Wells Fargo ATMs outside the U.S. are $5 per withdrawal plus any additional fees from the ATM.

Learn more about the Wells Fargo Opportunity Checking fees to determine if this type of account sounds appealing to you.

Capital One 360 Checking

Capital One offers customers a online, fee-free checking account that features no minimums and access to over 39,000 Capital One ATM's. 

Capital One 360 Checking  is $0 to open and maintain the account, plus allows account holders to earn interest that varies based on account balance.

When Capital One says there are no fees, they seriously mean no fees. No overdraft fees, ATM-withdrawal fees, mobile deposit fees, or even returned deposit fees. 

Anyone is eligible to open the account, and quite possibly the biggest perk is that once your credit has improved, there is no need to change accounts or upgrade.

The biggest caveat to the account is that you cannot use a Capital One teller to perform transactions. For the perks it offers, no monthly fees, and ability to open regardless of your previous banking history, it is a fair tradeoff.

You can read up more about why we think Capital One 360's checking account is the best to boost your credit. 

U.S. Bank Second Chance Checking Account

Anyone can open a bank account with U.S. Bank. To open a second chance checking account you need a minimum deposit of $25.

You also need to be debt-free elsewhere. The monthly fee for U.S. Bank is $6.95 a month for online statements or $8.95 for paper statements.

This fee can be waived if you accumulate $1,000 or more in direct deposits throughout the course of a month, have a balance of $1,500 or more, or hold a line of credit such as a credit card or auto loan with U.S. Bank.

PNC SmartAccess Prepaid Visa Card

In lieu of a checking account, PNC Bank offers a prepaid Visa card that features a secured and easy way to manage your money that's open to anyone, no matter what your financial status might be.

You can deposit cash at any PNC branch or any participating Visa ReadyLink retail location for little to no fees. 

The card costs $5 a month to maintain and charges $3 for out-of-network ATM withdrawals. There's an additional $5 fee for international ATM withdrawals, and a 3% foreign transaction fee. 

If you opt for paper statements, you'll be charged $2/month, however, online statements are fee-free.

Besides those few fees, PNC does not charge for purchases made with the card, in-network ATM withdrawals, inactivity fees, cash reload fees, or balance inquiry fees. 

Visit a branch or call PNC's specialist hotline to speak with a representative to learn more details about how the card works.


The most beneficial aspect of second chance banking accounts is that most offer you a chance to upgrade to a normal account.

Establish your credibility with a new bank for a period of time and you can get back into good standing with ChexSystems.

The new year is right around the corner so it is a good time to establish good habits. Get a jump start on improving your credibility with banks by opening a second chance checking account.

The majority of negative information remains on your account for five years, so it's better to build your reputation sooner rather than later. Manage a new account to help you budget your finances as you shop during this holiday season.

Related Articles

U.S. Bank Overdraft and Checking Fee Policies
Best Citi Checking and Savings Account Bonus Deals
Should You Open a Checking Account With a Brokerage vs. a Bank?
Wells Fargo vs. Bank of America Checking Accounts Review
U.S. Bank Vs. Capital One Checking: Which Is Right for You?
Premium Checking Accounts Compared at the Top 10 Banks

Ask a Question

disqus_8J8WakiOX9
Friday, 01 Sep 2017 5:38 PM
<p>Girl, I know exactly what you're talking about! "Legalized Fraud"! Get into a credit union, best banking decision you'll ever make!</p>
krystalnicoleashford
Friday, 01 Sep 2017 3:50 PM
<p>Yes they do they got me for almost 350 in NSF fees!! and that was after the charges cleared and were posted!</p>
disqus_NImrtd8y3g
Wednesday, 28 Dec 2016 5:50 PM
<p>I had my card number and pin stolen and the idiots made several transactions. I was surprised that Chase put the money back in my account, after telling them that the transactions were not mine.</p>
disqus_NImrtd8y3g
Wednesday, 28 Dec 2016 5:35 PM
<p>Woodforest Natinal Bank offer second chance checking. But watch out, they charge $10.00 each and every time you have to replace your debit card. To me Woodforest is a scam because of the issue I am having with the pin numbers not being recognized. And then they want to charge $10.00 because you get a new card with the same card number and a new pin. Now that is a scam just to make money. When you open an account, you will be charged $15.00 for a debit card fee set up. I don't advised going to this bank. They are a bunch of rip offs.</p>
sarahmaples
Wednesday, 28 Dec 2016 3:50 PM
<p>Is there any bsnk with second chance that is less restrictive than Chase?</p>
Saturday, 08 Oct 2016 4:35 PM
<p>Same issue with me,some guy hacked my Wellsfargo Account and did a mobile Check Deposit and he called and text threatening messages to me about me giving him his money back,so i took the issue to the Branch Teller and they saw the messages so I paid off the overdraft just so i do not have it in my credit history and yet I been denied an account with them ever again,only reason they can give me was the check was in my name so I am not allowed to apply for any account with WellsFargo.</p>
Saturday, 08 Oct 2016 4:30 PM
<p>I been looking up banks that will give you a second chance when other banks turn you down for an account but even those second chance banks turns you down even though you never even gotten an account from them.So why would banks be second chance if they deny people that never had an account with them before,banks are just trying to manipulate you to pretty much have your info in their system.</p>
omshhaol
Saturday, 01 Oct 2016 3:06 AM
<p>The majority of banks had to pay back the money they were given as part of the bailout. Its not like individuals expecting to write checks with no balance and not only have it clear the bank, but to expect no penalties for spending money they do not have. Just Sayin'</p>
omshhaol
Saturday, 01 Oct 2016 3:04 AM
<p>So how did the police know "he's outside of 'state line'"?</p>
omshhaol
Friday, 30 Sep 2016 11:35 PM
<p>Took the words right out of my head! Indeed it is refreshing to see someone own up to their own action. Was to go QuitBlamingOthers... Everyone makes mistakes. I know I have, and probably still will. But you won't find me complaining about my bank "taking out two major transactions the same day my money was available"... Because guess what, that is the way banks are supposed to work. If a bank is presented with a debit, it is their obligation to process it in timely manner. Similarly, if you make a deposit (which is a debit to another bank/account), that other bank is also required to process it in a timely manner. If that does not bode well with your plan, go try a loan shark if you can find one.... (And take care of your knees before you lose them)...</p>
disqus_8J8WakiOX9
Thursday, 04 Aug 2016 5:23 PM
<p>That's why I now have a credit union. Waaaay better!</p>
Thursday, 04 Aug 2016 4:54 PM
<p>Yes they do I really dislike that bank they try to get over on someone all the time</p>
disqus_8J8WakiOX9
Thursday, 28 May 2015 5:32 PM
<p>Yes! Can you believe it? The major transactions were both debit and taken out the same day my money was available! I did file a complaint with the CFPB!</p>
SimonMBT
Thursday, 28 May 2015 3:50 PM
<p>US Bank has stopped manipulating transaction-processing order to maximize overdraft fees. Deposits are processed first and withdrawals should be processed in the order that they occurred, while checks are processed by check number.</p><p>Are you still noticing different post orders? If so, you should definitely bring it up with US Bank to get your fees refunded. Also, you can report this behavior to the CFPB:</p><p><a href="http://disq.us/url?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.consumerfinance.gov%2Fcomplaint%2F%23bank-account%3A9TRUYc8COPaAHEEEdbYDxH_MBdc&amp;cuid=15643" rel="nofollow noopener" title="http://www.consumerfinance.gov/complaint/#bank-account">http://www.consumerfinance....</a></p>
disqus_8J8WakiOX9
Wednesday, 27 May 2015 9:25 PM
<p>US Bank is a joke! They will manipulate your transactions so that they can slap you with NSF fees! This stupid bank is disgusting! They get away with it!</p>
pay_pay
Tuesday, 28 Apr 2015 4:40 AM
<p>Tell them baby</p>
Friday, 20 Feb 2015 1:13 AM
<p>I had my identity stolen along with my wallet 2 years ago. I thought they had put a fraud alert and all that. Now I am trying to open a checking account and I keep getting denied. They said I owed wells Fargo 225 dollars from 2013 the same time all that stuff happens. So I just payed them the money and I am still having issues. Banks are nothing but stealers </p>
danghosoph
Saturday, 31 Jan 2015 8:11 PM
<p>OR..THIS WAY...---live like your ---rich--- spend all your money-- never save any--and--- YOU WILL ALWAYS BE POOR--!!</p>
danghosoph
Saturday, 31 Jan 2015 8:08 PM
<p>LIKE MY SUPER RICH UNCLE SAID-- live like your poor--save your money--- and YOU WILL ALWAYS BE RICH..!!</p>
danghosoph
Saturday, 31 Jan 2015 8:04 PM
<p>GOVERNMENT TODAY--IS RUN LIKE THE ROMAN EMPIRE RAN THERES ---FULL-- OF CRIME AND CORRUPTION--- TILL IT FELL APART!!</p>
danghosoph
Saturday, 31 Jan 2015 7:57 PM
<p>your right</p>
Friday, 28 Nov 2014 5:02 PM
<p>No you are so wrong. It was truly the banks fault and the car companies. What does gross mean to you? To me it means the amount of money made before taxes. Dont forget we live in America where we PAY to have our freedom. Now Net, how about you explain this one? Net is the actual amount you bring home. You cannot base if someone can afford something based off money that they actually never get. The banks knew exactly what they were doing. Charging the hard working man fee after fee after fee for things like late payments, returned check fees and eventually foreclosure/repossessions. Think how many people they overextended credit too.... Now think about all the fees they racked up in fees...... Then to take a bailout and still get to keep someones home or car to go resell after they got our tax dollars. They knew exactly what they were doing. Welcome to America, where the government bails the banks out and the banks bail the government out. Now think about all that money, why not bail the man out and help him save his home, hell in my eyes it would have been cheeper.</p>
disqus_72tFCmMd34
Thursday, 30 Oct 2014 10:33 PM
<p>I agree in part but deadbeats aren't the only people put in this kind of predicament. There are plenty of people who go bankrupt due to medical bills. They are the exception. But yes those who have overextended themselves through their own carelessness should shut it and be happy they are being given a second chance</p>
SimonMBT
Friday, 26 Sep 2014 2:34 PM
<p>It's always refreshing when people own up to their past mishaps for the reasons that they are stuck with less-than-average financial products. Yes, media sensationalism favors the consumer-advocating, bank-bashing side of the argument, but it's just nice to see people who acknowledge their financial mistakes. These are the people who, I believe, possess the right attitude to improve their finances.</p>
Saturday, 05 Jul 2014 11:55 PM
<p>Banks have no real money, and any money the do claim is the ridiculously high interest paid on loans or your money that they take and flip (invest). And still charge a fee for just keeping your account active or open. Bailouts, are just another way to show us American ms how naive we really are. So you mean the whoevers bail them out and the consumers who created their cash flow is still in debt. Thats crazy. Honestly, banks have no real objective but to make the middle class poorer and keep the low income to poverty level of people out of the loop of financial support, stability etc...its all a setup. You be better getting a safe!!!!!</p>
geraldmorales
Wednesday, 25 Jun 2014 4:26 PM
<p>At least banks provide people an option to open an account. It would be much more devastating if you couldn't open an account at all.</p>
Sunday, 04 May 2014 4:27 PM
<p>Yeah I remember that matter of fact I was just watching a movie on comcast internet tv in reference to the bank bailout oh wow it was sad how they did those people you stay strong and ill keep you in prayer caise im praying hard for myself</p>
disqus_pONGLTOzz1
Monday, 06 Jan 2014 9:47 PM
<p>The banks destroyed millions of peoples lives, then they get bailed out after being irresponsible, the justice department after 5 years has yet to put anyone of these multimillionaires in jail...And I have to get a second chance account.</p>