B MyBankTracker Rating

PNC Bank Customer Reviews

(376 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 56
4 Star 11
3 Star 11
2 Star 23
1 Star 275

The Most Helpful PNC Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Jacmac823 May 14, 2017

Awesome staff

I am a customers at this bank and stopped in to ask a question. When I saw how busy it was I was going to leave. The staff noticed me immediately and offered assistance. They were enthusiastic,friendly and ever so helpful. I am thrilled to be a customers with PNC.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By lmorton11 Mar 26, 2014

Worst banking experience ever! Lost 50 points on credit report.

We were trying to pay off a loan for a line of credit on our home. Every time I called the bank I was redirected to sometimes five different departments as we were told we had a "special" loan. I sent in a check for the payoff amount and they said they didn't receive it.

After weeks of frustration I went to our local bank to send the money electronically. Our local bank could not get in touch with them via email nor were the bank managers phone calls returned. Eventually they took the amount out of our local account and I received a statement showing our check cashed! Not only cashed but credited and debited.

During all this one payment was late (and I was still trying to pay the full amount) and after years of never having one payment late they sent it to the credit bureau where both my husband and I lost 50+ points on.our credit score. The entire event was the most unprofessional and taxing event I have been through. Any person who is thinking of using this bank should think twice to keep both their sanity and excellent credit score.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest PNC Bank Reviews

  •  
    W
    Reviewed By wbritton88 May 25, 2017

    PNC Bank -- Wheaton Danada

    This PNC Branch is by far the BEST in Wheaton, if not DuPage County! The entire staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and truly cares about you as a person and not just an account number. Some of the bankers have worked in this branch for over 20 years, they know you by name (if you visit them regularly). They also serve popcorn on Friday's and Saturday's!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jacmac823 May 14, 2017

    Awesome staff

    I am a customers at this bank and stopped in to ask a question. When I saw how busy it was I was going to leave. The staff noticed me immediately and offered assistance. They were enthusiastic,friendly and ever so helpful. I am thrilled to be a customers with PNC.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By buddyroe06 May 10, 2017

    Virtual wallet sucks

    They tell you that the virtual wallet mobile application is the greatest when you sign up for a checking account. It showed that two checks I wrote were pending on May the 3rd and the money for them were taken out of my account to find out on May 9th that they had been returned and then the companies I wrote the checks to submitted then again causing my account to over draft. You call customer service to be told that virtual wallet is not a good tool to keep track of things. It shows totally different information on my computer as it shows were credit was issued for the checks and that they were returned so its very confusing caused my family huge stress to be told that its great so keep track everyday to find out its not the same information as computer says totally misleading and frustrating as they fail to tell you this when you sign up for the checking account total misrepresented to me big time not happy at all don't like being jerked around am looking for a new bank

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By cleo2016k May 9, 2017

    Coldwater Rd, Fort Wayne, Indiana branch

    Wonderful customer service at the Coldwater Rd branch in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Irene was so friendly and helpful - she went out of her way to help me with my banking. So nice to go into a bank and feel welcomed. Thank you Irene!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    V
    Reviewed By vtdavidr May 4, 2017

    New and Improved On-line Banking??

    "After May 1, the on-line banking must be updated because the previous one has been replaced. You must register with the new system and set up your account." So I did---I got a new pin number in the mail, put in my information to pay PNC my mortgage from an external bank (as they had been doing before, and did whatever they asked.) So what happened? They withdrew my mortgage TWICE. Then, after two attempts to navigate through their byzantine phone system, I spoke with a representative (who was pleasant) who told me that I would get a check (not an automatic deposit) in after waiting SIX days- so basically, I would be without these funds for a week and a half after they screwed up. A manager is supposed to call me tomorrow to help 'expedite' the process, but I'm not holding my breath. BAD changeover to a BAD website, which leads me to a BAD phone system to get to their customer service that has BAD policies. It's no wonder that some people keep money in their mattresses.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By straycat May 2, 2017

    A heads up would have been nice

    I went to this location to get a new debit card since my previous card had been compromised. It would have been nice if the bank teller advised me of the $7.50 charge for a new card rather than handing it over and making me think it was quick, easy, and FREE service. Not happy.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Angiek6852 Apr 27, 2017

    Great customer service

    This bank staff were so friendly!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By BAS Apr 26, 2017

    Applying for a Home Equity Loan

    We began the loan process about 4 weeks ago. The first person we spoke to gave us the % rate and stated that this process would take 4-6 weeks. He told us there would only be a drive-by or desktop appraisal because we currently had a Line of Credit with their bank. This was done and we received a copy of the appraisal from PNC. We are now being told that PNC's underwriters require a full home and garage appraisal. This is because we live in a historic district in an old house with a 2-story garage. It is the garage that has triggered the full walk-through appraisal because it has "storage" above it. The garage was built to look like an old carriage barn about 33 years ago. It is not good enough to look at the garage in a walk-through, they require going into the house also. We were also told the costs would be about $222. After looking at the papers we received that doesn't appear to be the case. The person that has been assigned to us is also very limited in her knowledge of this process. We are considering not going through with this loan because PNC has misinformed us as customers. The complete process with PNC has been disappointing and very upsetting. We are being treated as if we have not been good customers or that they value our business. We are very uncomfortable going into business with a company that doesn't follow through with the initial product they offer. We prefer to give a "0" rating.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By KimMcG Apr 6, 2017

    Ridiculous fees

    I opened my account with PNC and was told in order to not be penalized for carrying less than X amount I would have to have the virtual wallet. I was surprised to be charged $7 for using the drive through window. You are not allowed to personally interact with any employees or you get fined. But the real kick in the pants was when my landlord accidentally deposited my rent check 3 days before it was written for. PNC not only allowed the transaction, but when all was said and done, charged ME $93 in fees!!!! And REFUSED to reverse them. I don't know anyone who can afford to throw away $93 for a mistake that was NOT my fault.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Skidz Apr 2, 2017

    Raging mad!

    On 4/1/2017 I went to this branch to get a new debit card because I saw charges on my acct that I didn't recognize. I looked into this prior to going to the bank and the charges were made by me, just didn't recognize the payee. So, the man I dealt with said let's get you a new card. He tried 2x to print me a new card and his machine wouldn't print one so he ordered one online for me. I told him that until I get the new one, I need my old card reactivated so I have access to my acct, he said ok, played on his computer and said ok it's been reactivated. Your new one should be here by Tuesday. Went out last night, went to pay my bill and it was declined. Luckily, I was in a place I go to all the time so they said they'd hold onto my tab for me. Today I spent over 1.5 hrs on phone with PNC customer service trying to get my card activated, the guy at the bank had done something that made my card incapable of being reactivated after he had told it was turned back on. Customer Service did all they could to get it turned on and they couldn't do it. Not to mention the embarrassment of being unable to pay my bill Sat night, I now have no access to my money and need gas, groceries, etc for work this week. Customer Service filed a complaint with Corporate and told me that the person I dealt with had screwed me by not knowing what he was doing. Unprofessional at the least, and I am still raging mad!!
    ,
    ,

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.