B+ MyBankTracker Rating

PNC Bank Customer Reviews

(342 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 46
4 Star 11
3 Star 11
2 Star 22
1 Star 252

The Most Helpful PNC Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By foothills Jun 29, 2016

Excellent Customer Service

The employees at this bank have been so helpful to me and my organization! If you want top notch customer service, explanations you can understand, and quality, then this is the bank for you!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By lmorton11 Mar 26, 2014

Worst banking experience ever! Lost 50 points on credit report.

We were trying to pay off a loan for a line of credit on our home. Every time I called the bank I was redirected to sometimes five different departments as we were told we had a "special" loan. I sent in a check for the payoff amount and they said they didn't receive it.

After weeks of frustration I went to our local bank to send the money electronically. Our local bank could not get in touch with them via email nor were the bank managers phone calls returned. Eventually they took the amount out of our local account and I received a statement showing our check cashed! Not only cashed but credited and debited.

During all this one payment was late (and I was still trying to pay the full amount) and after years of never having one payment late they sent it to the credit bureau where both my husband and I lost 50+ points on.our credit score. The entire event was the most unprofessional and taxing event I have been through. Any person who is thinking of using this bank should think twice to keep both their sanity and excellent credit score.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest PNC Bank Reviews

  • G
    Reviewed By ghgb Oct 20, 2016

    no customer consideration

    Just want to give a heads up to all PNC customers/credit card holders: this month i was late making my credit card payment by about 5 hours and PNC charged me a $25.00 late fee. I didn't realize that online payments had to be made before 5 pm. I have been a PNC account holder for a long time, even before PNC took over this particular company. So, not only does my credit card business mean nothing to PNC, but my checking and savings means nothing to them. I guess my little working class income isn’t enough for them to forgive a $25 late for on a $35 pay due. Add to that, my neighborhood branch has an un-accessible ATM, due to all the bars on that street, there is never anywhere to park when you want to use the ATM, therefore, I end up using the ATM at my neighborhood gas station. SO SAVE YOURSELF SOME TROUBLE: DON’T BANK WITH PNC!! Please share this with any other social media accounts you may have to save your friends…

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CarolynBell Oct 14, 2016

    No one answers the phone!

    I am new to PNC. When I visited the Riverbend Way Branch to set up my account, the Branch Manger gave me his business card to call if I had any questions. I tried to call, THREE times on a Friday afternoon -- was twice was put on hold with no one ever picking up; and the third time an actual person did answer, but immediately asked me to hold and never returned. I tried emailing the branch manager, via his email address on the business card that he gave to me, but I received an "auto reply" that he was out of the office for the next 10 days -- and no other individual was listed to contact in his absence. All I needed to know was the bank's routing number! Other banks have their routing number listed on the website--I could not locate this information on the Riverbend website. VERY POOR customer service! Do yourself a favor and go to Capital One Bank!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jzhang0125 Oct 13, 2016


    First I had to admit it was my fault that I didn't do thorough research before I chose PNC as my final choice of lender. You would think since they are a such big bank you don't have to worry too much right? WRONG. I walked in with a contract and it took them no time to pre-approved me. Everything after that is less pleasant. 3 days before our closing date, we heard from our loan officer informing us the underwriter does not think we have enough money to close. I have no idea what our loan officer was doing in the past month if they think we don't have enough money. I think the gift money my parents sent me (from a foreign country) add complication to my case. However, it seems like the underwriter is having a hard time figuring out when and where our cash towards closing came from even though we have provided documents showing 401k loan and liquidation of our other assets. In the underwriter's little simple mind, 20,000 in our cash pool was gift. I didn't receive the gift until 9/21. Shouldn't any cash before that point considered OUR money? I don't know why and how the underwriter couldn't understand this. So instead of showing proof of 42000 for closing, we now have to show 62000 (minus 20000)? What the heck PNC? Do you get your underwriter from high school drop out pool? Also, their appraisal took FOREVER! It didn't take them long to charge me for the service though. My credit card got charged the second day and we had to wait for our appraisal for 20 days to deliver?! At the mean time, they kept pushing us to sign a waiver for having the appraisal delivered at least 3 days before closing. The government makes this a law for a reason. Why on the earth do I want to sign this? And $500 dollars couldn't get me some piece of documents in a week?

    I cannot wait to be done with this damn thing. and I will NOT recommend PNC for anyone to take a loan.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nursesrule Sep 28, 2016

    Avoid the PNC in Dr. Phillips (Orlando)

    I don't have a problem with PNC as an organization but this branch has some of the rudest customer service representatives I have ever run into in my life. No friendly welcome, smiles or personality at all!! The assistant branch manager, Maria could definitely benefit from some customer service training. She dropped my ID under her desk and told me to get it because it was closer to me!!! Yeah!! Just go elsewhere!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Delgadina997 Sep 27, 2016

    Absolutely Worst Bank Ever!

    My mother and I decided to close our joint checking account at PNC. We both went to our local branch with my mother's up-to-date (and balanced) check ledger. We told the teller we wanted to close the account; she merely looked at the amount in checking, said "OK", and proceeded to close it out. My mother asked her to check in the computer to see if all the checks written recently had cleared; she said, "Oh, they have," and closed out everything. Lo and behold, six weeks later, we received a notice from our local waste management company that the check we had sent them for account payment had been returned to them marked "Account Closed". And guess who got stuck with their $20.00 fee? Right! We did! My mother and I cleared things up with the waste management company (who lowered the fee for us), and then we went to PNC. The branch manager told us that the whole thing was OUR fault for "not being truthful with the teller about outstanding checks." -???- Needless to say, we are still out the fees and were told that we are basically liars. Hmmm, the customer is always right, eh? This was not the only incident at this bank; several months ago, my mother wrote a check for $7.00 to her church for their Sunday collection. PNC somehow interpreted this check as having been written for $70.00 dollars.(I saw this check before my mother took it to church - it was clearly written and completely legible.) They refused to change anything until my mother contacted her parish office and their very efficient and honest secretary told her she had the check and it was most certainly only for $7.00. Thanks to this very nice woman, PNC had to adjust my mother's checking account balance to reflect the correct amount. This is by far the most useless, idiotic and flat-out rude bunch of people I have ever had the misfortune to have to deal with. My mother has now joined my credit union and is completely satisfied with their excellent service and friendly staff. I have been a member of this credit union for 26 years and I have honestly never had any problems there. Please take my advice: DO NOT have anything to do with PNC bank. It is staffed by some of the most disrespectul people I have ever met.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By Castayclovis Sep 14, 2016

    Great customer service skills

    The best experience I have had at a bank I have been going to this bank for years and today I went with my mother Kendall castay. We were greeted by a representative by and I hope I'm spelling this right corena and she knew my mothers name and was patient and all around nice. Fantastic customer service skills.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rettallen Sep 9, 2016

    PNC online experience

    Worst online Experience ever!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RoniBradshaw Sep 8, 2016

    Worst Bank Ever

    I would not recommend PNC Bank to my worst enemy. I usually use my credit union account but because its only 1 near me and I cant get there before they close during the week and its crowded on Saturdays I decided to go to PNC which is on the corner by my job. I deposited a government life insurance payment check and was told there would be a 5 day hold. Went in on the 6th day to get cashiers checks from the account for my children but although the check had cleared and PNC had the money, they put a 10 day hold on it. WTF! Long story short instead of getting cashiers check on the 10th day I had my 22 & 23yr old son and daughter (both working adults) go in with me to open accounts and transfer $50k each to them. They were not allowed to open checking accounts b/c they didn't have a prior bank account. WTF?? They had to do PNC smart access card which is PNC pre-paid card crap which would be mailed in 5-10 days & until they came they had to go into the bank for any transactions and PNC charge a fee for going to the tellers. Whenever they went in to withdraw money they were asked to sign something giving PNC the right to 'invest" their money. They declined of course. Cards came with no money on them, you have to go online to move the money from the savings account to the "smart access card". Online banking set up was a nightmare. Called to get help and was told they had to send a PIN (5-7days) PIN came didn't work, locked us out of the system called and they said "oh they didn't need to send a PIN they needed to send a PASSWORD" (5-7days) no password instead-I KID YOU NOT- they sent my USERID WTF!!! I swear I am not lying!!. Furious I called they said they didn't see a request for the password. WOW! finally about a week later we got the password and had to call to get the unblocked and was finally able to set up online banking. Mind you its almost 2 months since opening the accounts, meanwhile have to pay fees for every in-bank transaction. One would think they would've waived the fees since it was their fault we couldn't access online. NOPE..Oh and transferring money online from one PNC account to another PNC account takes 3days!! WTF!! That's not all. LAST STRAW was when I was going on vacation so I went in to get $5,000 they tried to make me get a cashiers check, I declined I wanted cash. I sat there for an hour for them to finally give it to me and told me that if I needed to get that much cash again I need to give them 3 days notice. $5,000 WHAT!! This wasn't at one of their locations inside the grocery store, this was one of their branches in Silver Spring MD. A busy business district with shopping stores and 2 movie theaters. They operate like a bank that is about to go under. Needless to say myself and my children have closed those accounts. We strictly use credit union only. This experience made me never want to go to another commercial bank. i am giving 1 star because there's no option for 0 stars. STAY AWAY FROM PNC!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By fk92 Sep 7, 2016


    I financed my new car with PNC, and I am completely dissatisfied. I had to call a few times just to get an online account set up. The first time, the representative gave me the wrong pin number, and nearly every other time I've been misinformed.
    I regret spending all that time and energy on trying to make an online account, because the only thing the online account offers is the remaining balance- I can't even make online payments. Some of the links like "Account Activity" do not work either (and have not work since I've started this loan 1 year ago).
    Don't bother trying to go into the physical bank to get any information. Unless you're dealing with a checking account, they don't know how to do anything to help you.

    It's 2016... A business without a reliable and credible service and website is not a business worth dealing with at all.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pnpro Aug 23, 2016

    Best Small Town Bank Branch in Florida

    At the PNC Branch on Indian River Dr. in Fort Pierce FL, you are always greeted with a smile, a friendly hello, and professional, courteous service. I have very seldom had to wait in line, or at the drive through, and in the event I was in line, the wait was minimal. They have handled all my banking needs with perfection. But I shouldn't tell you this, why would I want the secret to get out.

    Professional Enginner

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.