B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citibank Customer Reviews

(217 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 21
4 Star 4
3 Star 11
2 Star 14
1 Star 167

The Most Helpful Citibank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By delavega Sep 17, 2012

Very Good Service

Everytime i went to the bank, the attention was correct and i did not spend more than 10 minutes. The attention by telephone and email is very good too.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By rmckinney15 Jan 28, 2015

Poor Management

This branch is a joke. I opened an account via phone and I went into the this branch because they wanted more information. At that time I opened up business accounts as well. I wanted to receive some type of voided check so that I can have my merchant deposit go directly into that account and the assistant branch manager told me that their carbon was low on there printer and advised me to go to another bank. I then went to another branch which told me they wouldn't be giving me any type of voided check or anything I would have to go to the bank that I opened up the account at.

This happened on a Saturday and on that Monday they closed out my accounts due to fraud, I spoke with the branch manager in Forest Park Aamad…. (He's the real Joke) and he told me that no one will ever advise you in this bank to go somewhere else to get voided checks, you would have to get it here. Which was a laughing matter because I countered by saying well how do I know that your carbon is low in your printer; he never answered the question but he went in the back and came back and told me that someone will be coming out to my office to verify that I have a legit business I guess because he was calling during the holiday season thinking we were working and wondering why he didn't get an answer.

Keep in mind that he knows my company name he has access to the www, so what a smart person would have did was some research on the company! If he would have did that he would have seen that my business is a 4.5 star rated company and we are doing well! Something that couldn't be fabricated over night. Haven't said that I said ok; a week went by and he sent me off twice saying that someone was going to be there and never arrived! So I went back into the bank and now the story changed to "I just need you articles of incorporation." I said ok sent them to him right away! Now another week later and every last single one of my accounts are closed! And I didn't get a valid reason as why they were. I am g

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citibank Reviews

  •  
    O
    Reviewed By outofreason Feb 20, 2017

    Extremly dissapointed

    I want to share my experience with Citi Commerce Solutions and their credit cards offered to those who request for one. I applied for a HD store credit card back in June and the Citibank offered me a credit card limit of 6k. After a half a year they actually do a soft request on your credit report to check if their back is covered and if the customer has the same risk '0' as it was when they accepted the application. On January 6 they did that to me and based on my "to that date" credit report they decided to lower my limit to 1k from 6k. "That's the bank right!". So I reacted by calling their customer service asking them why they did that?! Also I asked the agent to check if she can increase the limit back to 3k (at least) without pulling my credit report (common sense was to use whatever they've had from January 6) but I was wrong. Those employees are trained to act as robots (or as the "system" told them to act) and not use their brain, the agent pulled my credit report without my permission. I escalated the case to the ''Office of the President'' which sounds big but they can do very little. I've got a letter from them stating that after the investigation they've run their records indicate that I gave my permission to their agent to pull my credit report and there is no way I can hear/read/smell those evidence. So their understand/apologies and all those magic words is the best they can do. If I don't have any other questions/issues he, "The Office of the President agent", will have to terminate the discussion because I can guess there is a time frame they can spend on each problematic customer.They appreciate the opportunity to address my concerns" which doesn't mean it will be solved. Extremely disappointed in Citibank in particular and banks in general.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    H
    Reviewed By haroldpohl Feb 17, 2017

    Convenient, efficient

    My first attraction to the Citibank Marina Branch when I moved into the area was its location and appearance. When I went inside I found the staff well trained and efficient, as well as genuinely friendly. They have unerringly handled my accounts for several years now and it has worked extremely well in doing various types of bill paying, transferring funds, tax matters and all the usual banking operations. Most operations can be carried out very efficiently by using a comprehensive on-line banking system. In my opinion, this branch of one of the largest banks is doing a superior job of bringing the versatility of a large banking system to a friendly neighborhood branch.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By susqtownshipguy Jan 26, 2017

    pathetic example of a bank

    worst bank ever. turns me down for a credit card due to debt income ratio but somehow opens up a $9600.00 credit limit card for someone using my name in NC and I live in PA. And they charged $7500.00 of stuff in like 2 days . After telling them it wasn't me the CSR laughed and said looks like somebody got $7500 worth of free stuff. worse yet it is on my credit report.
    Plus I have a Sears card with them with exorbitant interest rate. I missed one month payment and you would have thought end of world. they cut you off of the website so you cannot pay online and have to call and talk to people that cannot speak English correctly. Hopefully Trump will go after these banks that have call centers in foreign lands. and banks that rape people with high interest rates after a teaser rate of zero percent. Wouldn't recommend Citi Bank to anyone.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    N
    Reviewed By nmter Jan 13, 2017

    HORRIBLE service, ridiculously high fees.

    This bank has gone from bad to worse. And I am (was) a CitiGOLD customer. Calling for service is a robot nightmare, as it takes at least ten minutes to get a live person. They lost two rollover checks from closed retirement plans, requiring me to ask for reissues. Now that I am closing my account, hey actually charged be $180 dollars to do so. Going to a branch is like a trip to the DMV. You wait and wait while a "banker" is helping someone on the phone and the teller line is empty.
    I tried to refinance my mortgage, and finally abandoned the process and went to another lender after two months of their wanting "one more thing." The other lender was able to refi me in less than a month.
    Won't be bank to Citi ... that is for sure!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Mwrood Dec 6, 2016

    Horrible customer loyalty

    Horrible company! Allows contractors to commit blatant fraud, drags the dispute on for 90 days, and then sides with the contractor who has OBVIOUSLY submitted fake "evidence". Doing all of this while continuously asking for more documentation, that has absolutely nothing to do with the case. How is a person suppose to get a "refund authorization" from someone who is a scam artist?!?!? That makes absolutely zero sense. Way to be incompetent. My dog has more common sense than your "investigators".

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Asa Nov 23, 2016

    Branch Manager's Behavior was terrible

    Horrible and very impolite and rude Branch Manager. I called them today and talked to the branch manager to issue me transactions of this month. I knew that official bank statement will be ready by end of this month, but I had to provide an official letter to mortgage company today as my house closing is next Monday. If I wouldn't provide them the transaction's history today, closing date of my house would have to be postponed which means changing rates etc. I explained this to the manager, but she was very rude and said we can not issue you that and we can not fax that neither to you nor to mortgage company and wanted me to call online banking. I had to check with her whether she was listening or not, because she would respond me like 3 or 4 seconds after I stopped taking...sounds like she was on another task simultaneously!!!!
    Before I called this branch, I had called citibank online, but they wanted me to call the branch directly!
    Manager was very rude and impolite and not friendly at all. She never provide any solution for me to address my problem. She was just repeating herself that call online banking or stop by the branch. I told her that I'm not in Chicago and there is no branch in this area where I currently live (that's another frustration of Citi Bank). I told her that she needs to learn how to talk to customers, as she didn't really know proper way of behavior. I wanted her to give me her boss's phone number; she said her boss is in vacation. I insisted her to give me a number that I can talk to someone who acts as her boss today. After few minutes she gave me a number. I called that number for multiple time and no one answered and also it did not go on voice message where I could leave my name and number for them to call me back. Not sure where she found that phone number from. A big lie. Finally, I told that I would recommend her to review some books, manuals, etc to learn techniques and proper behaviour to become a responsive manager and she just hung up the phone on me!!!

    Even if there was no way for them to provide me the transactions, she as the BRANCH MANAGER could have explained that for me in a nice way and provided me some solutions. Not just being rude and impolite.

    Avoid this branch. This has been the third of fourth times during the past two months I experienced issues like this (depositing check, statements, etc) with the Citi Bank. I will close my account with them and start working with other banks. In multiple occasions I have seen that the Citi staff are careless, unfortunately.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dmibor11 Nov 13, 2016

    Your money is unsafe with this bank!

    The worst bank ever! Your money is unsafe with this bank, when you will have hard time and ask this bank help you they will make your situation even harder, and they will try to cheat you if they could. So dont have any deals with this bank even if it close to your house but if you already a customer leave this bank as soon as possible before you get hard time and this bank will take advantage on you! I had account in this bank more than a year and what Ive experienced. Someone took about $300 from my account in Japan without my card, so dont be impressed that this bank says that we have secure cards with cheap, the account security is so weak that hackers dont need not you, not your card for grub money from your account in this bank. And security system so stupid that it cant figure out that if I pay with this card a few hours before in Miami I cant be already in Japan. And after I report about this fraud in this bank they said that they will investigate this problem and if all OK Ill get refund within 10 business day! It sounds like this is my problem that Citibank gave my money someone in Japan! And I guess Im lucky that they didnt took all my money because it would be hard be without money within 10 business days! And they try to cheat you if they can! For example I pay nothing for use my debit card if I make at least one registered transaction, other way I have to pay $10. So I created an auto payment for my phone so I didnt worry about this. But in several month I saw that I was charged $10 as monthly payment. I contacted bank throw chat but they said this is because your money was sent later so it wasnt in my cycle period and refused refund me my money! Like this is my problem that this bank sent it later though money was available on my account and it was the auto payment, so bank sent it itself! And only after I called in bank they refund me money. And the worst thing from this bank is that if you have a problem get your money and ask Citibank to help you with this they will make you time harder. For example, I won some expensive lot and was a little short in money for pay for it but I thought, not a big problem tomorrow I will have a pay day and I have $300 available right now and $200 on next day as usual. I was need $400. So I asked bank on chat if they can give me $400 immediately after deposit my check, he said I have to ask it in bank. So next day I went to Citibank bank deposit my check and saw that now available immediately not $300 but only $100! When I asked what happened they said the bank changed its policy. I asked why? They said bank can do it when it wants and how it wants without any notification of clients. I asked help me because other way I will have to pay late fee if I will not pay now but they help me nothing. You may think it is happened sometimes. When I again had the same problem and asked bunk again help me cash my check faster they said it is federal law and they can cash my check up to 7 days! So they gave me nothing on next day and said I have to wait till Wednesday for completely cash my check, though I said I need pay my rent and I need this money as soon as possible! So my recommendation never have any deals with Citibank and if you already customer of Citibank leave it as soon as possible for you and your money safety!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By PeterN04 Oct 13, 2016

    Incredible service !

    I went to the 577 Bay Street , Staten Island , New York branch and was assisted by Personal Banker Mary Gamboa . She was fully attentaive , gave me her time and knowledge to help me open an account . She went above and beyond, there are very few people who put their heart and all into what they do . I highly recommend her and this branch .
    Managers name is Michelle Montgomery .

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    F
    Reviewed By faruque7 Oct 5, 2016

    Citibank does not care small customers

    I had CitiBank account for more than 15 years. I just closed my bank account including all of my citibank credit cards after having horrible experience over the last few years. In 2012-2013 (not sure specifically the year), citibank blocked transactions on my checking account sensing a fraudulan activity. I was making payments to another creditor and getting notification for dishonored payment . Citibank had my home phone number, cell phone number, my personal e-mail, and also citibank's own in-box messeging service. Unfortunately, citibank won't care that it's important to communicate with their customers, because they treat customers as 'customers' where as other bank treat customers as 'valued customers' or 'clients'. So they did their job and blocked and it is customers' headache to take the responsibility to communicate with them instead. As a result, that creditor closed my account and put a 'derogetory' flag on my credit report. Because of that, I paid thousands of dollars when bought my car, trying to refinance my houghe, etc... Today, I went to check my credit report and same thing I see. A negetive mark on my credit report for over limit on a citibank credit card. Again, not any sort of communications, same repeatation of 2013. This bank is number one to charge you the fee for the account, not to mention.

    So I called today and spoke to an agent of citibank and wanted to close my bank account and as well as all of my citibank credit cards. The agent without asking me the reason say 'OK, no problem'...I had to laugh.

    I don't even wanna suggest to citibank to hire trained and skilled employees and save billions instead of saving a few bucks an hour and hire untrained and 'don'tcare' type of agents.

    No wonder why citibak's rating here is 'ONE STAR'. But they don't even deserve it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Beg78655 Sep 26, 2016

    Don' t waste your time with this company !

    I really wish I could give this horrible bank a 0 as their rating! I signed up for the Citibank simplicity card late July ... September is almost to an end and I have still not received this card !!!! The reason I signed up for their simplicity credit card is because they have one of the longest 0% interest rate on a balance transfer. Its been 2 months and I have not been able to transfer my balance because they can't get the damn card to my address for stupid reasons ! I've spoken to 5 of their representatives within this period to check status on my card ! First they said they had the wrong address, then they said I had to receive a letter first in order to request this card again. After not receiving it after a month i started to get really upset because bills were due ! I called again and they said they "don't know" why i haven't received it so they were going to resend it. I just called today the spoke to corporate and she said that the person I spoke to last CANCELLED it !! WHY?!! I have never in my entire life dealt with such idiotic people ! I will never recommend this bank to ANYONE ! Now its been 2 months and she says that i have to wait AGAIN to have it get sent and they "can't" expedite that . At the same time I applied for this card I also applied for the Chase Slate card and received that card in 5 days of signing up !! I can't believe this when comparing both banks ! Save your time and go with the Chase Slate card if you're looking for a card to transfer your balance.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.