B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citibank Customer Reviews

(210 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 20
4 Star 4
3 Star 11
2 Star 14
1 Star 161

The Most Helpful Citibank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By delavega Sep 17, 2012

Very Good Service

Everytime i went to the bank, the attention was correct and i did not spend more than 10 minutes. The attention by telephone and email is very good too.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By rmckinney15 Jan 28, 2015

Poor Management

This branch is a joke. I opened an account via phone and I went into the this branch because they wanted more information. At that time I opened up business accounts as well. I wanted to receive some type of voided check so that I can have my merchant deposit go directly into that account and the assistant branch manager told me that their carbon was low on there printer and advised me to go to another bank. I then went to another branch which told me they wouldn't be giving me any type of voided check or anything I would have to go to the bank that I opened up the account at.

This happened on a Saturday and on that Monday they closed out my accounts due to fraud, I spoke with the branch manager in Forest Park Aamad…. (He's the real Joke) and he told me that no one will ever advise you in this bank to go somewhere else to get voided checks, you would have to get it here. Which was a laughing matter because I countered by saying well how do I know that your carbon is low in your printer; he never answered the question but he went in the back and came back and told me that someone will be coming out to my office to verify that I have a legit business I guess because he was calling during the holiday season thinking we were working and wondering why he didn't get an answer.

Keep in mind that he knows my company name he has access to the www, so what a smart person would have did was some research on the company! If he would have did that he would have seen that my business is a 4.5 star rated company and we are doing well! Something that couldn't be fabricated over night. Haven't said that I said ok; a week went by and he sent me off twice saying that someone was going to be there and never arrived! So I went back into the bank and now the story changed to "I just need you articles of incorporation." I said ok sent them to him right away! Now another week later and every last single one of my accounts are closed! And I didn't get a valid reason as why they were. I am g

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citibank Reviews

  • P
    Reviewed By PeterN04 Oct 13, 2016

    Incredible service !

    I went to the 577 Bay Street , Staten Island , New York branch and was assisted by Personal Banker Mary Gamboa . She was fully attentaive , gave me her time and knowledge to help me open an account . She went above and beyond, there are very few people who put their heart and all into what they do . I highly recommend her and this branch .
    Managers name is Michelle Montgomery .

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By faruque7 Oct 5, 2016

    Citibank does not care small customers

    I had CitiBank account for more than 15 years. I just closed my bank account including all of my citibank credit cards after having horrible experience over the last few years. In 2012-2013 (not sure specifically the year), citibank blocked transactions on my checking account sensing a fraudulan activity. I was making payments to another creditor and getting notification for dishonored payment . Citibank had my home phone number, cell phone number, my personal e-mail, and also citibank's own in-box messeging service. Unfortunately, citibank won't care that it's important to communicate with their customers, because they treat customers as 'customers' where as other bank treat customers as 'valued customers' or 'clients'. So they did their job and blocked and it is customers' headache to take the responsibility to communicate with them instead. As a result, that creditor closed my account and put a 'derogetory' flag on my credit report. Because of that, I paid thousands of dollars when bought my car, trying to refinance my houghe, etc... Today, I went to check my credit report and same thing I see. A negetive mark on my credit report for over limit on a citibank credit card. Again, not any sort of communications, same repeatation of 2013. This bank is number one to charge you the fee for the account, not to mention.

    So I called today and spoke to an agent of citibank and wanted to close my bank account and as well as all of my citibank credit cards. The agent without asking me the reason say 'OK, no problem'...I had to laugh.

    I don't even wanna suggest to citibank to hire trained and skilled employees and save billions instead of saving a few bucks an hour and hire untrained and 'don'tcare' type of agents.

    No wonder why citibak's rating here is 'ONE STAR'. But they don't even deserve it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By Beg78655 Sep 26, 2016

    Don' t waste your time with this company !

    I really wish I could give this horrible bank a 0 as their rating! I signed up for the Citibank simplicity card late July ... September is almost to an end and I have still not received this card !!!! The reason I signed up for their simplicity credit card is because they have one of the longest 0% interest rate on a balance transfer. Its been 2 months and I have not been able to transfer my balance because they can't get the damn card to my address for stupid reasons ! I've spoken to 5 of their representatives within this period to check status on my card ! First they said they had the wrong address, then they said I had to receive a letter first in order to request this card again. After not receiving it after a month i started to get really upset because bills were due ! I called again and they said they "don't know" why i haven't received it so they were going to resend it. I just called today the spoke to corporate and she said that the person I spoke to last CANCELLED it !! WHY?!! I have never in my entire life dealt with such idiotic people ! I will never recommend this bank to ANYONE ! Now its been 2 months and she says that i have to wait AGAIN to have it get sent and they "can't" expedite that . At the same time I applied for this card I also applied for the Chase Slate card and received that card in 5 days of signing up !! I can't believe this when comparing both banks ! Save your time and go with the Chase Slate card if you're looking for a card to transfer your balance.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Singh143 Sep 16, 2016

    New teller manger

    New teller manger is rude!!!! Don't go there

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hugol13 Aug 25, 2016

    bad sevice

    Very bad. I have never been to a bank where they make assumptions and discriminate people just because the way they look.
    This lady was very rude as soon as my brother and I enter the bank, she said if you want to open an account here you should have at least $500 and she ask if we were citizen or residents.. and to make an appointment when we had enough money to open an account.
    and she also said if you don't have money on you don't waste your time. and open the door for us. I would never ever will try to open an account with them . She was very offensive an racist .

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By janetmcnamara Aug 22, 2016

    Husband dies, they close account and "delete" my thousands of accumulated points!!! .

    This is the worst customer service on every level of "service". I called to report my husband died and without informing me they cancelled my card and "deleted" thousands of accumulated points! I have been a customer for over 20 years, never a late payment. I only found out that the card was cancelled after going through the checkout line. Seems to me a little common courtesy and customer service would have gone a long way. After reporting my husband's death the customer service agent should have told me the card and points would be cancelled, but no...she should have noted that I was a long-time customer, ask if I want to apply for a new card, and transfer the points to my new card, but no!! I spent hours on the phone with Citibank and the Thank You Rewards, I was transferred 8 times and received 8 different answers! Finally the last "supervisor" was extremely rude and condescending. I was told NO I couldn't get the points transferred, I gave up after that.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FUCitibank Aug 22, 2016

    Citibank sucks A$$ - Take your business anywhere else but them...under the mattress would be better!

    Worst company and customer service I have ever experienced. I will never ever use this card again. Called them with the primary card holder present who talked with them as well to make me a fully authorized administrative user; telling them explicitly that I need to be able to do everything and access everything the primary card holder can. We have called them no less than 5 times and currently I am still listed as simply an employee and they say they can not look up the information we need without the primary card holder available. Dumb bimbo in Arizona couldn't even tell me how and why my account balance is higher than what is stated on the statement but she could sure take a payment. Completely inept these idiots are! If you talk to any of their service reps in Arizona you may as well be talking to a rock - at least I could bang my head on the rock to get some relief from these brain dead morons!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By simply2o9me Aug 22, 2016

    worst bank ever!!!!

    Spent an hr on the phone with customer service only to get nothing resolved. They allow you to make a deposit into a newly opened account but fail to tell you it has a block so when you go to use the money you deposit it is not available. Aweful just aweful bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rastap1991 Aug 21, 2016


    I work for citi bank.if yall need any assistant contact me.im willing to help yall with any questions yall. Have.9547939606 eddie

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By robinlenogue Jul 22, 2016

    Online AWFULNESS

    Just spent 1h on the phone with EVERYTHING but useful. One of the reps didn't even know what a Citi Prestige Credit Card was. Nearly impossible to get someone on the phone if you don't have a Citibank account, also, which is kinda funny I guess they don't want new customers. I was to go with the Citi Prestige CC, but I might stay with my good Amex Experience and apply to their Platinum Card instead then.....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.