B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Citibank Customer Reviews

(225 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 21
4 Star 4
3 Star 11
2 Star 15
1 Star 174

The Most Helpful Citibank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By delavega Sep 17, 2012

Very Good Service

Everytime i went to the bank, the attention was correct and i did not spend more than 10 minutes. The attention by telephone and email is very good too.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By rmckinney15 Jan 28, 2015

Poor Management

This branch is a joke. I opened an account via phone and I went into the this branch because they wanted more information. At that time I opened up business accounts as well. I wanted to receive some type of voided check so that I can have my merchant deposit go directly into that account and the assistant branch manager told me that their carbon was low on there printer and advised me to go to another bank. I then went to another branch which told me they wouldn't be giving me any type of voided check or anything I would have to go to the bank that I opened up the account at.

This happened on a Saturday and on that Monday they closed out my accounts due to fraud, I spoke with the branch manager in Forest Park Aamad…. (He's the real Joke) and he told me that no one will ever advise you in this bank to go somewhere else to get voided checks, you would have to get it here. Which was a laughing matter because I countered by saying well how do I know that your carbon is low in your printer; he never answered the question but he went in the back and came back and told me that someone will be coming out to my office to verify that I have a legit business I guess because he was calling during the holiday season thinking we were working and wondering why he didn't get an answer.

Keep in mind that he knows my company name he has access to the www, so what a smart person would have did was some research on the company! If he would have did that he would have seen that my business is a 4.5 star rated company and we are doing well! Something that couldn't be fabricated over night. Haven't said that I said ok; a week went by and he sent me off twice saying that someone was going to be there and never arrived! So I went back into the bank and now the story changed to "I just need you articles of incorporation." I said ok sent them to him right away! Now another week later and every last single one of my accounts are closed! And I didn't get a valid reason as why they were. I am g

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Citibank Reviews

  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Caymandiver May 21, 2017

    Horrible customer service

    I disputed a charge on my account. I did not receive the service I paid for. The company after my research turned out to be a scam, yet they sided with the fake merchant. Never investigated my side. Cancelled my account immediately. Will use my capital one account who have always protected my security and interests as a customer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By Robsoyoung May 3, 2017

    Horrible customer service.

    Citibank has been absolutely horrible to deal with. They insisted that I changed my address (which I didn't) and then couldn't verify my identity. They told me five different ways to verify my identity, then I was told by another manager that it wasn't a valid method. Every person I talked to told me something different, they don't have a uniform protocol or message. I had to call them 9 times; after every time my card got denied and then multiple more times to try and "verify my identity." Customer service was horrible, managers were rude and unhelpful, and I got the run around everytime I called. I can't believe they're still in business. I got a card through Costco and every Costco rep was extremely helpful and polite. Huge contrast to the horrible treatment I got from Citi. Frankly I'm surprised Costco would be affiliated with such a horribly run company. I finally had to fax my social security card, license, and a utility bill, where I included a cover letter asking them to call me to confirm the closure of my account. They didn't call and after three days I called to check on the status-they told me they couldn't read the account number on my utility bill but they couldn't call to tell me that because my identity wasn't confirmed. So they had no intention of letting me know that I needed to send the documents again. It was the most ludicrous run around and that was every single conversation I had with them. 9 calls and a whole lot of confusion later I finally have my account closed. I will never open an account w Citi again. You shouldn't either.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By annlorina1943 Apr 26, 2017

    A 40 Year Customer

    I have been with Citibank for over 40 years - which includes New York and Florida.
    Regarding the Citibank on Jog Rd and Boynton Beach Blvd - Boynton Beach, Florida
    This bank has become insensitive to parents with infants, the disabled, and the elderly - especially in Florida. The present manager for the past two years or so has not shown courtesy to his customers. If you speak to him about a situation he shows sympathy for his
    tellers. He is not managing the bank properly. You walk in the bank - NO ONE on line - and the drive through is closed. Three tellers perched on their chairs talking - but the drive through
    is closed. He tells me he had his tellers take one customer in the bank and then one drive
    through customer - for this reason there was always a long wait. I am sure with the technology of today, Citibank should offer better service. TD Bank offers longer hours, 7 day a week banking and a drive through.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By rebdaniel Apr 25, 2017

    They get one star cause there isn't anything lower...

    You auto enroll for paying on a Best Buy purchase through Citibank 3 years ago. You get monthly emails since then telling you when you payment will be withdrawn and for how much. This goes on for three years. Suddenly you start getting phone calls which sound like sales calls. "This is Citibank. We know that you are busy, as we all are... Could you please stop by our website and update some details? Thanks." Messages keep coming for 4 or 5 days, so you go to Best Buy's website and sign into your account. It tells you that you are past due and gives you an amount. You call the number on the screen and ask why autopay isn't working. They tell you that it wasn't set up. You've got 3 years of history in autopay, but now you aren't registered? You take care of the past due amount online and set up autopay once again. You refresh your browser afterward to see the payment update... and the browser locks you out of your account. You call the number on the screen and they tell you that you closed your account and that it is FIVE MONTHS overdue. You ask how this is possible. Not one of the monthly emails mentions this. It still tells you when the next payment will be withdrawn and how much it will be. No alert. No warning. Your credit score has been damaged and all the while, you were doing what you should have done. Citibank is the least customer-friendly bank I have ever seen. I was told that I could not do anything about it. I swear that as long as I live, I will never do business with them again, and will warn everyone who will listen that this institution will damage your reputation, your financial standing, your future. Customers beware. Enough people complaining might just get them to change their practices and policies... but I highly doubt it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By ttricoche Apr 18, 2017

    Citibank-Atlantic Terminal

    I visited the Citibank in Atlantic Terminal , I usually don't see a teller, I usually use the ATM machine. I walked into the bank, there were two girls sitting behind the counter, I walked up to Ms. Ramirez, I guess she wasn't ready for me, but the way she responded was clear she was annoyed, for what, I just walked up to be waited there was nothing stating I had to wait to approach, I mean really, if your in the customer service business, please be courteous, even when you may not feel like it.
    I'm a long time Citibank customer, besides a former employee.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By LMichelle M. Mar 14, 2017

    A horrible bank

    I chose Citibank long distance to aid with large deposits and investment income. So far from day one, this bank is horrible. They have poor office administration and not very efficient for long distance banking. its literally a nightmare for those outta state and using web banking. Stuck as we speak. What appeared to be a blessing looks like a curse. i do better using savings accts and prepaid cards.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Melbow14n Mar 13, 2017

    Highway Robbery...

    My payment supposedly was 1 day late. The item I was paying for was $20.
    They charged me $35 and I didnt have enough to pay it at that time. I tried to call and make some sort of deal, I was put on hold indefinetely so I hung up.
    Now the balance is $137...ALL fees on fees compounded daily apparently.
    So after getting my measily tax return I had to pay this ridiculous amount.
    I WILL NEVER EVER CONSIDER THEM FOR A LOAN...OR A CARD, or ANYTHING else they provide...as long as I live.
    And I WOULD NOT recommend anyone else using them, their fees are the highest, and their customer service the LOWEST.
    I wouldnt even give them 1 star.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By BMW7Series Mar 2, 2017

    Hours

    Now why would they close an hour earlier than Monday or Friday? Unacceptable. Not only do they close an hour earlier, but they close 10 minutes or so before the actual closing time. Jonathan is a nasty teller, no manners, always in a bad mood for no reason.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    O
    Reviewed By outofreason Feb 20, 2017

    Extremly dissapointed

    I want to share my experience with Citi Commerce Solutions and their credit cards offered to those who request for one. I applied for a HD store credit card back in June and the Citibank offered me a credit card limit of 6k. After a half a year they actually do a soft request on your credit report to check if their back is covered and if the customer has the same risk '0' as it was when they accepted the application. On January 6 they did that to me and based on my "to that date" credit report they decided to lower my limit to 1k from 6k. "That's the bank right!". So I reacted by calling their customer service asking them why they did that?! Also I asked the agent to check if she can increase the limit back to 3k (at least) without pulling my credit report (common sense was to use whatever they've had from January 6) but I was wrong. Those employees are trained to act as robots (or as the "system" told them to act) and not use their brain, the agent pulled my credit report without my permission. I escalated the case to the ''Office of the President'' which sounds big but they can do very little. I've got a letter from them stating that after the investigation they've run their records indicate that I gave my permission to their agent to pull my credit report and there is no way I can hear/read/smell those evidence. So their understand/apologies and all those magic words is the best they can do. If I don't have any other questions/issues he, "The Office of the President agent", will have to terminate the discussion because I can guess there is a time frame they can spend on each problematic customer.They appreciate the opportunity to address my concerns" which doesn't mean it will be solved. Extremely disappointed in Citibank in particular and banks in general.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    H
    Reviewed By haroldpohl Feb 17, 2017

    Convenient, efficient

    My first attraction to the Citibank Marina Branch when I moved into the area was its location and appearance. When I went inside I found the staff well trained and efficient, as well as genuinely friendly. They have unerringly handled my accounts for several years now and it has worked extremely well in doing various types of bill paying, transferring funds, tax matters and all the usual banking operations. Most operations can be carried out very efficiently by using a comprehensive on-line banking system. In my opinion, this branch of one of the largest banks is doing a superior job of bringing the versatility of a large banking system to a friendly neighborhood branch.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.