A MyBankTracker Rating

Nationwide Bank Customer Reviews

(13 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 0
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 13

The Most Helpful Nationwide Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By davilajr Apr 10, 2014

Nationwide is not on my side

I recently applied for a HELOC at Nationwide solely based on a quick review of lenders and their HELOC rates. Shortly after submitting and documenting my application, I contacted Nationwide because I had not received status of my application. The rep on the phone was courteous and, after reviewing his computer system, told me that the underwriting team needed a couple more documents related to my income tax returns and income which I immediately provided.

Weeks went by and I then received an email indicating that they have made a decision on my application and that were unable to approve my application at this time. The email also said Nationwide would contact me by mail explaining its decision. Again, weeks went by and nothing came which prompted me to call them. I spoke to a lady who, from the beginning, sounded as if I had stolen one of her children from her home. She said the underwriting team had disapproved my application because I had not lived in the home more than six months. Where they obtained that information escapes me, I completed the application myself and showed them I had owned the property since 2010. By the way, my attempt to inquire where that information was taken from triggered a one way conversation from the rep to me to the point that I had to ask her why she was upset at me. She wouldn't provide me a direct name or contact person to resubmit evidence of my home ownership and simply said I needed to fax it to the number she was giving me.

Anyway, Nationwide did not bother to contact me to confirm any information prior to, unilaterally, dismiss my application and sent me an explanation letter that never came. Having read the reviews others have provided here, I decided that Nationwide is not for me and will not follow up or attempt to support my application. Some reps at Nationwide are rude and simply not customer service oriented. They do not seem to have time for customers and their issues.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Robert V. Aug 2, 2013

Great, until they started socking me with fees.

I had a money market account for years that I was depositing to on a regular basis. Good initial rate, no problems. Then I had a period of inactivity and they started charging "dormancy" fees (even though I had several thousand dollars in my account). So I contacted them and they refunded the charges and told me I just needed to withdraw or deposit funds periodically to avoid charges. So I did that and when my account dropped below a certain figure, they started charging a low balance fee of $8 per month. When I complained that their representative did not warn me of this when I told him I was going to take out most of the money, they refused to refund the charges. They said the charge was listed in the account disclosure statement.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Nationwide Bank Reviews

  • N
    Reviewed By NevaBear Feb 11, 2016

    Be aware of this Bank

    I had an unfortunate few days with Nation Wide Bank for a refinance for my car loan. Well, lots of trouble with the application and the numbers for my new loan kept shifting and then they said I had to change my browser from Opera to some other browser and I just told them to forget it. Stay away from these people!

    Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By airforce Jan 20, 2016

    Most Horrible Bank Alive Stick To Your Failed Insurance

    Nationwide bank is online banking service that requires no documentation to access a new checking account. They offer multitude of garbage custumer service, and nationwide is not on your side, they will do anything to save themselves and nothing for the costumers. They blocked my account without notice, mail, email, or communication to find out it was blocked due to transaction of groceries i made because there electronic 1967 fraud dectection system flagged my groceries purchase an fradulent. They stated i needed to call them everytime i needed to make a purchase horrible bank

    Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By Lhayes Oct 23, 2015

    Nationwide Bank Doesn't use Normal Banking practices. BEWARE

    The issue first started with their bill pay service I set up to have a bill paid. All of a sudden the very payment they bill pay for me bounced How did this happen??? I called to find out they just send a payment (check) and don't take the funds from the account till it clears. I could have done that. It so happened the same day the company took the funds out when I did the bill pay but I was charged 50 nsf fees for them bouncing there own check they refunded one of the fees. Issue two went to a hotel and used the debt/cc card they put a hold on the funds which is normal. I still had additional funds available once the Hotel produced the actual bill they were pending the hold and the actual bill and Bounced a Check to my boss and charged an nsf fee of 25. I called them right away and they released the hold on the one which put my account back to normal but refused to refund the NSF they charged. I'm not even sure if I will get one from the Merchant. As soon as the check clears I'm closing this account they don't know how to BANK they should stay with Insurance. Horrible Customer service I have been waiting for a supervisor call back for over a week. I have reported them to the BBB. Its only 25 but now its the principal of the matter.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By renabertie Aug 5, 2015

    Watch Out for Lock Out

    I am having a horrible experience with Nationwide Bank. Shortly after opening an account and making a substantial deposit. Nationwide locked me out of my account. The didn't tell me they would be doing this. I found out when I tried to access my account. Apparently they want documentation about the account that the $ was transferred from. I don't understand why they care about were the money came from, and I'm very disappointed that they didn't tell me that they wanted more info before processing the transfer and locking me out.

    Is this review helpful?
  • U
    Reviewed By Upset Person Jul 29, 2015

    Trouble bank and have no clue why it is even allowed a person to open an account without proper identification

    Received something in the mail that I had opened an echecking account with them and that I needed to put some money into the account. Hmmm- I never would ever setup up a bank account online. I would go to a legit bank and sitdown face to face with a bank employee. Where the bank can get my information and PHOTO Id to prove that I am the person setting up the account. I went through Nationwides online no check process and were horrified how easy it was to setup an account without any identification. Do not trust these people they are a fraud and will steal your identity.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By danabana34 Apr 23, 2015

    The Worst Bank Ever

    Tried to open up an account with them because my boyfriend just opened one up about a few days ago. Was told that i did not pass the verification and that i have to send in identification and now the app process will take an additional 2-3 days. So now im inconvenienced from opening my acct on thursday until tues or wednesday and because of this hassle i can only imagine what would happen to my money so i decided not to pursue this bank at this time.

    Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By toddfox1988 Jan 26, 2015

    horrible experience

    Seemed great at first. Deposited a check with my phone, and then could not access my account anymore. After more than a week of "verifying" my account they told me they are going to send me a check and close the account.... On the 4th. So now another 2 weeks and I might have my money back. This was the worst experience possible with a bank go through anyone but them.

    Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By davilajr Apr 10, 2014

    Nationwide is not on my side

    I recently applied for a HELOC at Nationwide solely based on a quick review of lenders and their HELOC rates. Shortly after submitting and documenting my application, I contacted Nationwide because I had not received status of my application. The rep on the phone was courteous and, after reviewing his computer system, told me that the underwriting team needed a couple more documents related to my income tax returns and income which I immediately provided.

    Weeks went by and I then received an email indicating that they have made a decision on my application and that were unable to approve my application at this time. The email also said Nationwide would contact me by mail explaining its decision. Again, weeks went by and nothing came which prompted me to call them. I spoke to a lady who, from the beginning, sounded as if I had stolen one of her children from her home. She said the underwriting team had disapproved my application because I had not lived in the home more than six months. Where they obtained that information escapes me, I completed the application myself and showed them I had owned the property since 2010. By the way, my attempt to inquire where that information was taken from triggered a one way conversation from the rep to me to the point that I had to ask her why she was upset at me. She wouldn't provide me a direct name or contact person to resubmit evidence of my home ownership and simply said I needed to fax it to the number she was giving me.

    Anyway, Nationwide did not bother to contact me to confirm any information prior to, unilaterally, dismiss my application and sent me an explanation letter that never came. Having read the reviews others have provided here, I decided that Nationwide is not for me and will not follow up or attempt to support my application. Some reps at Nationwide are rude and simply not customer service oriented. They do not seem to have time for customers and their issues.

    Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By ptunis Dec 23, 2013

    Do Not Opt for the Insurance Debit Card if You Are Settling a Claim!

    I will caveat my review by saying that Nationwide has done a good job providing me service after a truck rear-ended me a few weeks ago. However, when the time came to disburse the total of my vehicle, I was given the option to receive a Nationwide debit card or a check. The rep went the extra mile in relation to the debit card, talking about how much quicker and user-friendly it would be.

    Not the case. There is no funds transfer capability, so if you want to transfer the money to your account, you have to do a cash advance through a bank that has agreements with Visa. If your bank uses MasterCard, like me, the option you are given is to withdraw thousands of dollars from an ATM in $20 increments and then deposit the cash. I called Nationwide and was told I could cancel the card and a check would be overnighted. I was charged a $10 fee, and then told it would be at least 7 business days before I would receive a check. The period after an accident is frustrating enough. Save yourself from this additional headache!

    Is this review helpful?
  • BZ
    Reviewed By Bert Z. Oct 29, 2013

    Inactivity fee scam

    My experience is the same as others report here. If there is no activity in a six month period Nationwide charges a $5.00 monthly "inactivity fee". Activity can be a simple phone call, but you have to remember to call. Why should anyone have to do this? This is obviously a scam. I have not encountered this scam at any other similar online bank. So it's clear- find a different bank.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.