B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Suntrust Bank Customer Reviews

(162 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 14
4 Star 5
3 Star 4
2 Star 10
1 Star 129

The Most Helpful Suntrust Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Teresa Y. Mar 14, 2013

Nightmare, we have gotten to the day before closing 3 times only to find that the Bank has not done their job.

This bank put a peace of property on the market without having the title clear. Then did not know enough to get it straightened out in a timely fashion. We should be closing today, for the third time. They still have not gotten their act together. We have invested too much time and energy to not sign yet another 2 week extension. My husband is a 90 percent disabled veteran and I am having to take him to see the doctor today because of the undo stress this has caused him.

Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Krobinson450 Jan 7, 2014

Rip Off

I was charged a fee of $36.00 for not having enough money in my account to cover and item that hit my account, I did not have the money to put in my account until I got paid, the account was overdrawn for about 6 days. On the day of my direct deposit SunTrust hit me with another $36.00 fee for the same item. When I called them about it, they said it's an extended overdraft fee. I work had everyday trying to make it, I can understand being charged an overdraft fee one time for not having the funds but to hit me a second time is just WRONG. That was my gas money for the week. Suntrust has lost me as a customer and I will warn all my friends and family members about SunTrust practices. Don't bank with SunTrust.

Is this review helpful?

Latest Suntrust Bank Reviews

  • R
    Reviewed By rdavis02 May 17, 2016

    Ripeoffs

    When opening your account with Suntrust, they do not explain all of the fees that will be associated with your account. The representative are not properly trained and Suntrust overcharges for everything. If this is your first account, you need to be sure that this is the bank of your choice unless your employer also banks with them. Also, I would suggest researching other banks before choosing this bank. The overdraft fees are outrageous and the representatives that you speak to on the phone are not trained properly and sound like they are making things up as they go.

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jandn May 13, 2016

    Stupidity at its best

    My husband and I bought a new car and it was financed through Suntrust. I hate this company. They lost a payment in January called me in February to tell me we were behind. We have been back and forth since then, and they STILL have not fixed the problem. We do what they tell us to do only for the rules and procedures to change when they screw up. We faxed them PROOF that we paid them 3 separate times, to have them tell me that "we have to file a missing payment request". But I'd heard up to that point that all they needed was for me to fax them this bank statement. She continued to tell me that it was probably a managers fax number that the other operator had given me and they didn't know to file a missing payment form. Why else would I fax them proof of payment from 3 months prior?! Everyone I talk to still says "if I paid, if I can prove it." They tell me they have only talked to me through this whole ordeal, when my husband has talked to them several times! They've called my husband a liar because they can't find paperwork and their departments can't share information! Even though their OWN people give out the numbers to different departments. We got a letter from them in the mail saying that $400 is debited to our account, they have no record of such a letter, the conformation number on that letter is not even in their system. My mother-in-law gave us the money to pay them until they found our payment so that they would stop harassing me at work. My husband picked one of the numbers to call and make a payment, he goes through the whole thing files missing payments. A few days later I get another call at work informing me that we are behind. They've ALREADY lost my money from January now they've lost her money from two days ago. They proceed to tell me that if I called any number but their line it doesn't show up in their system, they can't confirm payment. When I give them my husbands number to call and handle this they tell me they auto dialed me, and have no way of contacting him. He calls them later that day only to have them say they need to speak to his mother to approve her making this payment. They then they end the call with " if they do not get a payment soon they will file for repossession on our car." At this point I'm so ill with this company. I DARE them to take our car, someone will hang, and I'm fixing to own Suntrust. We are looking into taking out a loan from a dependable bank to pay them in full so we can get out from under their bs. My mother-in-law called them, my husband was there, they called the "right" number gave them all the information filed missing payments reports, at this point it's another waiting game and I'm just praying to God that this is finally over. Something that should have ended in February, after their first call.They suck at customer service, communication, and overall being a good dependable business. Never once in ANY of our numerous phone calls have they admitted to their mistakes or complete lack of competence. They continue to "assure me they they understand" but refuse to even apologize for their mess-up. I absolutely HATE Suntrust. This kind of handling of loans and people will run this business into the ground. There is no excuse for the way these people behave and no structure to their polices. Yet they have the gall to call US the liars!

    Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jgdouglass May 12, 2016

    Suntrust Froze my Home Equity Line of Credit

    I made my Home Equity Line of Credit payment at Suntrust Bank and received a call 20 days later informing me that I was late. I was going through a tumultuous time with family health issues and I had not noticed that the payment had increased by 48.00. I had paid the old payment amount of 102.00 - on time. I was informed that I owed them 48.00. I apologized, asked them to please draft that amount, and explained that I simply had not noticed that the payment had increased. As a result, they froze my line of credit indefinitely, even with good credit and a good job. Be very careful and shop around before you use this bank!

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mobilejoecowboy May 7, 2016

    Friendly and Helpful service

    I was there yesterday towards the end of the day and received such friendly and helpful service. I really always do.Starting a new business I needed to open a business account and the two ladies that helped me could not have been nicer. Thank you again ladies.

    Is this review helpful?
  • G
    Reviewed By gastarit Mar 29, 2016

    Visa Prepaid Cards

    Unbelievably, this Suntrust prepaid VISA card my physician gave me for giving blood for a research project -- original value of $10 is now worth $4. Without any upfront knowledge -- and the physicians office not aware -- this bank deducts $2/mo. from the card value if not used. Yet, the card itself showed an experation date of 5/22. This is a scam and cements this bank's already dismal reputation. On a side note, apparently they charge credit card customers a charge to speak with customer service as well. It's mind-boggling!

    Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kevin_2015 Mar 6, 2016

    Suntrust Bank

    I have a Suntrust savings account since 2005. And I am very pleased with it. The customer service in the Suntrust has exceeded my expectations.Furthermore, all these years since I opened account here I have never had problems with Suntrust. The bank works very good, it saves my money and I trust on this bank. If somebody searches for full information about the Suntrust there`s a link http://www.usbankinfo.com/bank/suntrust-bank/ In conclusion, I want to say I recommend the Suntrust bank for everybody.

    Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bkatea12 Mar 2, 2016

    Forced placement by SunTrust Bank

    SunTrust had been charging me for insurance coverage on my line of credit without my knowledge for more than 5 years. I had insurance coverage at the time. When the line of credit was ending, I found out what they had done. A SunTrust rep at my bank looked into it and managed to get half my money back…they had charged me more than 70 thousand dollars over that period….then he hit a wall. No one would answer his calls and it has know been 8 months since the discovery. He has given up and told me to get a lawyer. Now I have to litigate the bank. They will have to pay me eventually but I'll never get the legal fee's back.

    Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By cgptinfo07 Mar 2, 2016

    Overdraft thieves

    They love to steel money from people. They are crooks. They love to process payment late and then charge you an overdraft fees. Do not bank here. The last time they charged me about $400 and fees. They said it was my fault and I had and have pics of how they changed information on my online banking statement. They put a hold on my direct deposit. Finally when I told them that I have pics of my online banking and how it was manipulated and changed to show it was my fault. Finally they realize that they were in the error and refunded my the money. This banks is terrible and they are crooks. I recommend that no one bank here or do any financing.

    Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RSB61 Feb 21, 2016

    Can You Here Me Now SunTrust

    I had a SunTrust Sky Miles debit card for several years. In the summer of 2015 I received notice that they were changing some of the terms on it. The annual fee came due on Aug.28 2015. I never remember reading anything about changing the date the annual fee comes due. On January 28 2016 I was charged the 95.00 annual fee again. I called the call center early February 2016 and was told the date it comes due had changed. I informed them I wanted to cancel the card and wanted my 95.00 refunded. She cancelled the card and said she would refund the annual fee. A few days later I saw where I had only been refunded 47.50. I call the call center again and was told I would be refunded the 47.50. My last call to the call center was on February 10 2016. I was very irate after having continued being lied too all this time. I was finally told that I was not going to receive the 47.50. I feel I should have been refunded the total amount. But, it is more about the deception and unethical policies of SunTrust Banks call center. Up until now I had been a happy customer.

    Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mikee Feb 13, 2016

    Lowest of the Low and Outright fee thieves in my opinion.

    Bank got taken over and turned into a Suntrust branch and even after repeated assurances from their teller that my account had not been transferred into a fee based account they were actually stealing $15 a month. It was a small saving account, paying no interest and clearly not appropriate for me but they don't care about customers expect to steal as much as they can before they move on. In this age of predator banking even a routine savings account has to be monitored. You would think that your putting it in a safe place but not these days. Dahlonega Ga. branch.

    Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.