Profile | Reviews

BBVA Compass Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, bbvacompass.com

159 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By CompassSux Jan 5, 2018

    I will never do business with Compass Bank ever again.

    Wait till you try to get your money when your CD matures. O, they'll let you apply for & fund a CD on line, but just wait till it matures & you try to get your money out. Their rates suck so bad right now that nobody in their right mind would open a CD with them at this time, but I opened a 5 year CD with them (5 years ago) and it just matured on 12/31/17, and you would think I was the worst customer ever because I now want to transfer my money into a bank that is paying 5 times the interest they are. I was on the phone with them several times before it matured explaining to them that I was going to be withdrawing the money as soon as it matured. Well, when it matured, and then they renewed the CD against my will at .50%. They won't let me electronically transfer the money out of their bank and they wont transfer the money for me, and the nearest branch to me is an 80 mile round trip. Their call back service hung up on me twice and when I did finally get thru to someone, they transferred me all around and then hung up on me again and I still never got my money transferred, so I sent them a message thru their secure message center requesting the money to be transferred so I have something in writing within the 10 day grace period proving that I contacted them and requested the money be transferred so that I don't get hit with a $25 fee for closing a CD early that I never requested to be renewed in the first place. At this time, you can get a 5 year CD rate of 2.50% (see ratebrain.com). A Discover Bank Savings Account is currently paying 1.3% and your money stays liquid, and Compass wants to pay .50% for a 5 year CD. There's a no brainer. My secure message was suppose to be answered within 48 hours and I am now at 72 hours with no response. They can expect a lawsuit real soon.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By erisnushi Dec 19, 2017

    Worst Bank ever

    I have been banking with them for years and they suck. They don't consider the good relationship you've had with them or the length of it. They will reduce your limits as they see fit, without considering the negative effect it may have on your credit report.
    Do not bank with these people!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By BedazzledCheeto Nov 20, 2017

    Breathtaking Stupidity

    So, I've been trying to contact these people via email since phone calls are a struggle. Half the time, you're not actually listened to and what you requested doesn't actually happen. I should have known it'd be a bumpy ride when I first opened my account and was given checks to use. Checks? Seriously? No temporary debit card. I was like, "Fine. Checks are still legal tender" except when I actually tried to use them. After being declined and showing that I actually had money in my account, I called the bank and spoke with a "customer agent".

    After explaining that the person making the purchase was in fact me, and if they could clear that up, I got an unintelligible reply (a series of mumbles. Great service there) I (wrongfully) assumed that my request would be honored. Guess what. It wasn't. I gave up on trying to use the (useless) checks and just waited it out until I actually received my debit card. This all within the first few days of signing up with them, which was in July of this year.

    Fast forward a few months and I'm deeply in the red. I had requested that if I didn't have the funds available, decline the purchase. Period. Not that hard. To BBVA, I'm assuming that translated to "oh, you mean make sure you get an NSF on everything? WILL DO." So I write an email to them, because working with the customer service via phone is painful and making sure my account wasn't shut down was pretty important. Wrote my email, got a reply that asked me to supply the same information that I had written and answered it accordingly. Or I would have if their online system wasn't so broken.

    So I did what any other person would do and started with a fresh email. I once again explained the situation, gave them the information that they would undoubtedly ask for again, then waited. The answer I received was so incompetent, it made me wonder how it is she became an agent of anything let alone being in charge of banking and loans. Totally disregarding the issue that started it all in the first place, she went on to request information about my technical difficulties then ended it with how she could see that I had been a loyal customer for years and that she was sorry I was having problems.

    Years. Because being signed up since July of the same year is considered years. With the email system still not working, I gave up, sucked it up and took to the phone. After being on hold for ten minutes, I was hung up on. So I called back, was on hold for yet another ten minutes and when someone FINALLY picked up, there was no one there.

    I've been in a call center environment. I feel for these people, I really do. But if you're not competent enough to do a job, don't do it. Since opening an account with BBVA, I've regretted doing so every day that I look at my account or have to deal with their customer service. I wouldn't recommend this bank to my worst enemy with a gun to my head.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By HRM69 Nov 12, 2017

    Morons

    I needed to cancel a lost card but when I called they wanted the password so just to make sure my wife had not changed it, I confirmed it with her so the rep said that I cant do that. I tried for months to just change my address and finally gave up. My wife finally a accomplished the address change. There customer service people are some of the worst Ive ever seen. Its time to find another bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Louismedina Sep 17, 2017

    Compass bank does not care for clients

    I have a car loan with compass bank and i just went thru hurricane harvey and i needed help to push back only 1 month payment til i get back on my feet...i lost 1 week of work pay and have damage to my home and i called chase'discover'and tdecu and they help me with no questions ask...i called compass on 9/1/17 and again on 9/7 and they can not even call me back...i spoke to 5 different service reps and they cant tell me anything except there manager will call me...once they did but i was back at work and could not answer and i call back manager number and again its not manager number but just a process number ...so in total i called 4 times if i can get hurricane relief and no help with any customer service agent.... i know how compass does not care for there clients...i be leaving compass bank soon ... people do not use compass bank...

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By dareway Sep 14, 2017

    WORST BANK EVER

    BBVA Compass bank is a joke. I just open my account with them and I'm about ready to close it. I have never experienced a Customer Service that is as horrible as BBVA COMPASS BANK ever before. DO NOT BANK WITH THIS BANK. I GIVE THEM A ZERO FOR THERE PHONE CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER 1 HOUR OF ANSWERING QUESTIONS THEY JUST HUNG UP ON ME AND DIDN'T EVEN CALL BACK. IT SOUNDS LIKE 50 PEOPLE IN THE ROOM ALL TALKING AT ONCE. IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE ME GIVE IT A TRY. BE READY TO GET REALLY MAD AND FRUSTRATED.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Dlkrall Aug 28, 2017

    Debit card number stolen (no help)

    My debit card number was stolen and the thief charged 1420 at restaurant in Chicago. The bank reimbursed that amount but are still allowing a large amount of NSF fees. I keep calling them asking when the fees will be reimbursed but they told me it may take 90 days to finish the investigation. I am sorry I am in the middle of the largest flooding event in history and the fraud department keeps telling me that they can't help me. How do I survive when they are up to ten NSF charges for someone who has had an account with them fir 19 years?

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By jhouk71 Jul 26, 2017

    Close account

    I have moved to Sturgis SD 57785. Please close the account and send the proceeds to: Jonathan Houk, 1900 Ellen St, Sturgis SD 57785, I sent the debit card to the Lincoln address 10 days ago.
    I was not a customer of BBVA for long enough to judge one way or the other; however, I believe it could have been a positive relationship.
    Thank you

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By wanda2017 May 23, 2017

    Bank Malfunction

    This is one sad ass branch. I deposited cash in the machine on Monday. I was told to call a 1-800 number because the machine malfunctioned. They found my money the following day, and the money is still not applied to my account. Cash should be credited to the account immediately. I wouldn't refer nobody to this bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By jillymcarter May 12, 2017

    WORST EXPERIENCE EVER... One Star is too high...

    I made a payment on a car loan on Tuesday, May 9th, 2017 over the phone & received a confirmation number. They couldn't verify the payment had been made even though I had a confirmation number. I talked to 10 different people in customer service & one person who was located in South America. They wouldn't provide a simple letter stating my account was up-to-date. They couldn't add a person to my account over the phone. They told me to e-mail them. I did and when I followed up they didn't even know the e-mail address that one of their employees had given me. It was a HORRIFIC experience. I've spend all week on the phone with them trying to get something done that should have been quick and easy. I'm taking my loan somewhere else.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.