B MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(867 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 48
4 Star 17
3 Star 17
2 Star 68
1 Star 717

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By smartred47 Dec 7, 2016

    Debit Card Fraud Protection--WHAT A JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I reported $2400 worth of fraudulent charges to WF the day after Thanksgiving (I waited on hold for 65 minutes to do so). Nothing was done nor was I contacted after 7 days so I called back. This time I was on hold for 75 minutes. The "banker" who took my call was extremely rude and would not provide a "credit" for fraudulent charges and then subsequently hung up on me. I called again on the 10th day and waited on hold for 65 minutes. Although I have been a WF customer for over 15 years I am (happily) leaving this bank!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By ccw Dec 4, 2016

    Bad New Website

    I hate the new website. There is no longer a total for all accounts. Wish they would bring back the old site that was easy to use. I have expressed this in their "Give feedback" box, but sure no one at the company is looking at this. I will not be recommending WF to anyone.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • F
    Reviewed By FuckWells Nov 28, 2016

    The worst bank in history. Deliberately tries to ruin your life.

    Wells Fargo will decline every online purchase you ever try to make.
    You will call them and ask them to not decline it.
    They will decline it again.
    They will change your password.
    They will suspend your account because they didn't tell you they reset your password.
    This should be illegal.
    You shouldn't be able to convert a person's savings because they put in the wrong password 3 times.
    I hope the ceo of this company is jailed for life.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jhewett44 Nov 14, 2016

    HORRIBLE NEW WEBSITE

    Awful new website forced on customers as of 11/2016. They ask for "feedback" but never consider it. Should have left their great and easy website that worked i n place! Many folks very unahppy about this.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LAW1 Nov 7, 2016

    BIG BANK RIPOFF

    I have been with this bank for over 20 years from First Union to Wachovia to Wells Fargo. This is the first time that I have had to fire a bank. I stopped a check online on March 30, 2016 for $5,500.00. I did not put on the online form what check number it was because I had two checks out and wasn't sure which one it was and I did not want to submit the wrong number. The next day I called the 800 number to verify that the check was indeed stopped. I was told that everything was fine because all that they needed was the name that the check was written to and the amount. Three days after I stopped payment on the check Wells Fargo allowed the person to cash the check. That person has the merchandise that I returned and the check and will not refund the money. When I confronted my branch manager about the issue she asked why I didn't catch it sooner and I told her that I trusted the bank to do their job and she looked me right in the eye and said "It has nothing to do with Trust or Banking. " I could not believe it!!! That may not seem like a lot of money to Wells Fargo but it is a lot to us and has cleaned out our bank account. I even had an attorney send them a letter and they still won't do anything to rectify the situation. Just last week they let a woman from Hawaii take 3300. out of my account and I had to ask them for a provisional credit until they clean up the fraud. How do they keep getting away with this kind of treatment to their costumers?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By ronz Nov 4, 2016

    Extremely hard to find a bank ANYWHERE in this country that will treat you fairly these days

    It seems no matter where one chooses to bank these days it's just the same old garbage. The bank uses my (or anyone's) money to make everything they can giving you as little as possible in return. This holds true for anything from checking to home loans to credit card processing. It is insulting seeing all these people with huge smiles on their faces in the bank ads, and of course the implication is those huge smiles are there because of how wonderful whichever institution the ad represents has made the lives of the people in the photos. And the sickening saccharin tone of the tellers greeting you with "welcome to ...(fill in the blank) . I enjoy referring to these people as Satan's Angels, treating me ever so nice and polite while they slowly stick the knife in your back representing a company that will charge you $35 for accidentally overdrawing your account or paying your credit card one lousy day late, or worse yet - paying on the day it is due but because it is after 2PM you don't get proper credit for paying on time.

    I am currently using Grow Financial Credit Union, and admittedly to a degree they will treat you a bit more like a human being as opposed to to the inexcusable corporate greed mongers such as Wells Fargo or the Bank of Satan..., er America.But it is still pretty much the same as anywhere else. A few weeks ago I deposited a check in excess of $1000, written on a corporate account from my attorney, then went up the road to the Wells Fargo where I wrote and deposited an $800 check in my landlords' account. The check bounced because the $1000 check was not given enough time to clear and of course my landlord was whacked with a fee as well. The money was there to cover the check and if the the parties involved had the DECENCY to wait an extra day to let it all play out , all would have been and SHOULD have been well, but then again decency and banks are contradicting terms. 8 years ago we had the chance to give these greedy institutions what is long overdue them, but our so called political leaders , both democrat and republican alike, bailed them out because they are "too big to fail". Sadly it is going to be up to my daughters' generation to pay all this back. In the meantime the banks are left to come up with more bogus fees to keep putting the screws to the American people and NOBODY will stand up to these greedy disgusting human beings.

    Yes I understand how bitter I sound here. As an older American I can remember the time when the banks and such were quite content to do well, but these days they are not happy unless they get it ALL, and there is simply no cure for greed.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By marybowden Oct 28, 2016

    rude bank associate

    I was parked in a parking space at Wells Fargo Bank in front of the Randolph Mall before it opened this morning. I was looking for my debit card. I work 3rd shift and was trying to find my debit card to make a withdrawal. An hispanic lady pulled up beside me in a greyish colored Jeep Cherokee or Laredo.She was a young woman. She was so rude to me. She rolled her window down and told me that they were not opened and that I needed to leave the premesis. I explained to her that I was looking for my debit card so that I could use the atm. She still said that I needed to leave the premesis. I have a checking account with that bank. I felt that she was so rude and unprofessional. That does not say a lot about that business. I am a black woman, so I do not know if that was the reason that she acted so rudely or not.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By sev13 Oct 18, 2016

    worst customer service

    I went to make a deposit, it was around 5:45, I stood in the line to see a teller since I had more than the usual to deposit, then a banker came towards me and ask me why I'm not using the ATM and said " you want to see the teller" (I noticed that the tellers were females). I didn't know there are new ATM's inside the banks. the comment is very offensive, and doesn't show any professionalism. the banker is sitting left side to the entrance. It was my first visit to this branch.
    Hopefully in the future Wells Fargo can educate their bankers to be more polite and classy as they look.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sweetharley Oct 16, 2016

    Refused to modify our home loan

    We got our home in 2005 with Wells Fargo on a 15 year term at 7.5% interest. By 2007 we had to refinance and add an extra 5 years. We ended up falling into a predatory loan with our interest rates tripling (18.9%) and house payments more that doubling (1850.00) a month. We paid our payments online. We also had to sign for our children to have accounts for direct deposit from their jobs because they where under 18 at the time. In 2008 I had closed our accounts and transferred to another bank. Reason being, our kids accounts where hit with withdrawals for a debt my husband owed. When I inquired as to why the money wasn't taken out of our accounts, I was told because my husbands name was on the accounts. These where our kids accounts and they did not owe the debt. I had also noticed charges and services I did not authorize coming out of our accounts as well as the kids. When I closed our account I had one check out and made sure money was in the account to clear the check, which I assumed it did, until I received a collection letter saying I owed money for girl scout cookies. The check was deposited on the 24th and 25th of November 2008, Thanksgiving weekend and 9 months after out account was closed. After closing our account WF gave us so much trouble and harassed us so much each month for our house payment that they would call us up to 20-25 times a day on mine and my husbands cell phones. I have records. By 2013 we lost a lot of our income and started applying for a mortgage modification to lower the interest and monthly payment to fit into our income. We wanted to save our home. By May 2015 we had been denied 4 times and our home was sold to Coldwater Bank right out from under us in the middle of modification. Their reason was: Our lost of half of our income did not warrant us enough for a modification and that we need not apply anymore as it will not be granted. We pulled out every ounce of sayings and 401k to save our home but all they did was throw us into default by saying we made no payments and applied our money to interest. We have no idea of where any money went that we paid on our home for over 10 years.They said we owed 180,000 in 2015, but we bought it for 115,00 in 2005, and sold it (2015) to Coldwater Bank for 101,000 and now it was sold for 88,000 (2016). Needless to say we lost our home for good. And to add salt to the wound, we owed IRS mega for money we took out of our 401k to send to WF towards our loan, of which they said we needed to do to save of home. Not only did we loose our home but WF went out of their way to destroy our credit. This bank is has been stealing from people as far back as 2005 that I myself have experienced personally. I could go into more, but anyone with a right mind, stay away from this bank and bycot it. Maybe someday the people will get justice!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nazirabid Oct 15, 2016

    Corrupt wells Fargo.

    I was one of the targeted customer in 2015,when they forced us loan through the builder of our house in Elk Grove ,Ca and charged huge amount of loan fees and other hidden charges,i tried to
    reach wells Fargo management but they ignored me again and again,and used their illegal practice
    techniques to rip me off...I am glade finally they were caught and are under the eyes of world,they can see....i will be more happy if this bank go bankcrupt and go out of business,so that they wont target other people,it is common in America rich people can easily cheat the system.......I will suggest people bycott this bank and help to eliminate corruption... God Bless America

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.