B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(860 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 48
4 Star 17
3 Star 17
2 Star 68
1 Star 710

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  • S
    Reviewed By sev13 Oct 18, 2016

    worst customer service

    I went to make a deposit, it was around 5:45, I stood in the line to see a teller since I had more than the usual to deposit, then a banker came towards me and ask me why I'm not using the ATM and said " you want to see the teller" (I noticed that the tellers were females). I didn't know there are new ATM's inside the banks. the comment is very offensive, and doesn't show any professionalism. the banker is sitting left side to the entrance. It was my first visit to this branch.
    Hopefully in the future Wells Fargo can educate their bankers to be more polite and classy as they look.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sweetharley Oct 16, 2016

    Refused to modify our home loan

    We got our home in 2005 with Wells Fargo on a 15 year term at 7.5% interest. By 2007 we had to refinance and add an extra 5 years. We ended up falling into a predatory loan with our interest rates tripling (18.9%) and house payments more that doubling (1850.00) a month. We paid our payments online. We also had to sign for our children to have accounts for direct deposit from their jobs because they where under 18 at the time. In 2008 I had closed our accounts and transferred to another bank. Reason being, our kids accounts where hit with withdrawals for a debt my husband owed. When I inquired as to why the money wasn't taken out of our accounts, I was told because my husbands name was on the accounts. These where our kids accounts and they did not owe the debt. I had also noticed charges and services I did not authorize coming out of our accounts as well as the kids. When I closed our account I had one check out and made sure money was in the account to clear the check, which I assumed it did, until I received a collection letter saying I owed money for girl scout cookies. The check was deposited on the 24th and 25th of November 2008, Thanksgiving weekend and 9 months after out account was closed. After closing our account WF gave us so much trouble and harassed us so much each month for our house payment that they would call us up to 20-25 times a day on mine and my husbands cell phones. I have records. By 2013 we lost a lot of our income and started applying for a mortgage modification to lower the interest and monthly payment to fit into our income. We wanted to save our home. By May 2015 we had been denied 4 times and our home was sold to Coldwater Bank right out from under us in the middle of modification. Their reason was: Our lost of half of our income did not warrant us enough for a modification and that we need not apply anymore as it will not be granted. We pulled out every ounce of sayings and 401k to save our home but all they did was throw us into default by saying we made no payments and applied our money to interest. We have no idea of where any money went that we paid on our home for over 10 years.They said we owed 180,000 in 2015, but we bought it for 115,00 in 2005, and sold it (2015) to Coldwater Bank for 101,000 and now it was sold for 88,000 (2016). Needless to say we lost our home for good. And to add salt to the wound, we owed IRS mega for money we took out of our 401k to send to WF towards our loan, of which they said we needed to do to save of home. Not only did we loose our home but WF went out of their way to destroy our credit. This bank is has been stealing from people as far back as 2005 that I myself have experienced personally. I could go into more, but anyone with a right mind, stay away from this bank and bycot it. Maybe someday the people will get justice!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nazirabid Oct 15, 2016

    Corrupt wells Fargo.

    I was one of the targeted customer in 2015,when they forced us loan through the builder of our house in Elk Grove ,Ca and charged huge amount of loan fees and other hidden charges,i tried to
    reach wells Fargo management but they ignored me again and again,and used their illegal practice
    techniques to rip me off...I am glade finally they were caught and are under the eyes of world,they can see....i will be more happy if this bank go bankcrupt and go out of business,so that they wont target other people,it is common in America rich people can easily cheat the system.......I will suggest people bycott this bank and help to eliminate corruption... God Bless America

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Mae Oct 10, 2016

    Worst bank and the biggest rip offs

    I am disabled and have been receiving disability since I was 9 years old. I have banked with Wells Fargo for a number of years. At first I didn't have any problems but after a while I noticed every time I walked in I was being pressured into opening up a new account! I would give in and the next thing you know I was in the negative for non use, they would then have me pay the account so that I could close it only to ask me to open another. I have been charged so many fees over the years 1,000s of dollars! I can't afford it, I will be switching banks after finding out about the suit and joining the others who where also taken advantage of!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dpicascia Oct 7, 2016

    Smiling faces BUT very poor service

    I am generally satisfied with my Wells Fargo account. This branch is the closest to my house so I still occasionally go and it's also a mistake. I am very satisfied when I go to the 2 farther branches from my house.
    I go to get my signature notarized for some important documents at 2 different dates once in the morning and once in the afternoon.....BOTH times the "manager(who apparently is the only one able to do this)" is not in .
    I deposit a large NJ bank check....AFTER it's deposited , I get a receipt and I am told that most of money will not be ready for me for 7 business days.
    I say I need new debit card and I'm told to call the 800 number.
    I will now be driving the 5 extra miles to go to another branch.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • I
    Reviewed By itsmyreality Oct 6, 2016

    They have become awful!

    I have been with Wells Fargo for more than 20 years both in personal accounts and in business accounts. Up until a few years ago they were always ready and able to help me out. Between my personal and 3 Business accounts, I have about 300-400K in deposits sitting in their bank in non-interest accounts (what they pay is so little that I tell the managers I would rather have great service). I am actually flagged in their system as a VIP. Anyway, you would think that I would not have to go to the branch to get an issue resolved 4 times and it is still not resolved over 6 months later. It's over a sweep account I have that only has a few hundred and the main checking has over 100K all the time. They started charging me a fee on that account even though it states that combined balance need to be over something like $5K. Branch manger just scratches his head as to why they are doing it every month and can't get all those fees reversed.

    Next issue is deposited a check from one company to another running account in another one of my companies. I think wrote a check out of that company to my personal account. All this was done at night at the same time. Mind you all these accounts are at WF. Well they put a hold on the check I deposited to the other company (I do this all the time) and then caused my check from the other account to bounce.

    Next issue is they ran a special that if you borrowed 20K from an equity account by a certain date you would receive a free Nest Thermostat. So I took out the money for a month since the interest was only $40 and the Nest is about $250. Even called to make sure this was ok. well that was 4 months ago and 3 calls to them to find out where my Nest is. Their system said that I was not eligible, but going through it with the agent he said that I definitely met the criteria and would pass it to management to immediately get it out. 2 more calls a month apart and had to go through the same thing and got the same explanation. I understand someone dropping the ball once, but three times? I have a feeling that I will never see it and it was just some scam they were pulling (like all the other here lately)

    Lastly, on one of my company credit cards, it was automatically enrolled in reward points program. I never use the card and keep it "just incase". Well I look at the statement and there was a $50 annual rewards member fee. I call and talk to the agent and tell her that I don't want it and she states that she can remove the reward point program from the card and credit the account. Only issue is they have autodrafted the $50 from the checking account and that I would have a $50 credit. I really didn't want the credit and would have liked it returned to the checking account but I knew if I asked them to try to do two things it would get screwed up, so I said that's fine. Well here we are 5 months later and there is no credit on my card in any of my statements.

    Am I asking too much of them to just do what they say? Is 300K-400K of my money they are using (at least 90% of it can be loaned out to others at god knows what rate) not something they care about? Maybe they know they are too big to fail but for small business owners and personal banking they have failed me one too many time. Going to start shopping tomorrow for another bank (more headaches for me to get new checks for all the companies and my personal stuff but at this point the cost and headache is worth it just to get away from them)

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tar4heel2 Oct 1, 2016

    25 year customer, reconsidering

    I am really struggling with an objective review of this bank given its recent history, but here goes:

    I've been a customer of WF for 25 years. Until recently I was very happy. I also used to work for WF in their mortgage division in the early 2000s, and was very happy. They treated me well when I worked there. All this scam news is contrary to what I knew about WF during my employment. But that was then. This is now.

    a) When the Target fiasco happened at the end of 2013, WF very quickly issued a replacement card with the chip in it without me asking for it. I was impressed. 5 stars for that.

    b) Then, every time I go to Europe they are Johnny-on-the-spot in flagging a bunch of foreign transactions. I now have to call them prior to leaving when I know I'm going to be overseas to let them know to expect charges from there. 5 stars again for fraud detection (the irony does not escape me).

    c) I went to them for some business financing and they gave me basically what I asked for (I have a 780 mid credit score and average $20,000 balances in my liquid accounts). 5 stars.

    d) ATMs on every street corner nationwide. 5 stars.

    e) GREAT iPhone app. Use it all the time to find ATMs and branches when traveling.

    f) CC purchases and cash withdrawals in the EU transfer at par, although there is a "foreign transaction fee", there is no currency markup on foreign transactions. 5 stars.

    g) When I buy Euros in the US they are efficient, offer a fair price (with markups) and do what they say.

    Now, the bad part which is why I will probably leave.

    1) You will suffer a "death from 1,000 cuts" in the fees. OMG! My CC fee for my business CC account carries a $150 annual fee which is more than my freaking interest payment!!! Fees everywhere you turn, and if you don't stay on them it will never stop. Even with my high balances giving me a break on some fees, they still find a way to screw me to the wall. Zero stars.

    2) I am one of the customers that had an unauthorized account opened. In May of 2016 I had a strange $168 "refund" credit my account, then the news about the fraud was made public.

    All other stars immediately negated on this one issue.

    I am pissed beyond measure. They refuse to waive my CC fee of $150 and have yet to offer any restitution for the felony theft of my money and unauthorized access of my accounts. Now, I hear recently-fired ex-employees have started a class action lawsuit for being fired for refusing to participate in the scam. There is also a shareholder class action that's been recently certified.

    Yeah, Wells Fargo can kiss my rear end. I only gave them two stars because of the long history of good relations, but that was then. This is now, and I'm done. I now have to go transfer 5 accounts to another bank, which I'm willing to do.

    Tread carefully in dealing with WF. They smile, then twist the knife in a way you barely feel it. It's only when you see the blood and then look down that you know you've been stabbed.

    I don't want to constantly have to look over my shoulder to make sure my bank is not screwing me. Nor should I have to, which is now the case with WF. I'm done.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Wellsfargocrooks Sep 10, 2016

    Fraudulent banking

    Banker Daniel Bartley opened fraudulent accounts and manager Alexandra Delposo was worthless, rude, and unwilling to assist.... Stay far away from this branch and Wells Fargo in general

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jeffery Sep 8, 2016

    Very Worst Bank

    Wells Fargo was the most incompetant, mismanaged bank I have ever dealt with. - When setting up an account, their computer program will only allow the names of three beneficiaries. Any additional beneficiaries have to be noted in a different file. When the CD accounts renew, the additional beneficiary names are lost. - At maturity of CDs, if any changes are desired, the CDs are closed out and new CDs are opened, requiring a lot of extra time and extra paper work. - Any customer that has a large account at Wells Fargo will receive phone calls from the Wells Fargo Investment Group on a regular basis. Telling them you are not interested or telling them to stop calling is to no avail. - Upon the death of my parents, our estate lawyer mailed Wells Fargo the death certificate(s), updated benificiary list, and the official Probate statement appointing me Personal Representative of the estate. Wells Fargo lost all of the paper work. Instead, Wells Fargo required each benificiary to provide a signed notarized letter declaring their right to inherit the funds. Goodbye Wells Fargo... FOREVER

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rickjo94 Sep 3, 2016

    Disappointed with My Mortgage Holder

    As the owner of my mortgage for almost 5 years, I have pleaded with the service and ease of banking from Wells Fargo.

    I recently decided to check the availability of a better shorter term fixed lower rate mortgage and put the word out in the Net thru inquiries. ( going from 30 fixed to 15 fixed.) My instructions were clear, all initial correspondence was to be via my email. Once I narrowed down the opportunities, I then would open up direct phone conversations.

    WF and 3 other companies honored my request and instructions. Several others called. They were eliminated immediately.

    I was clear to the 4 possibles that I was on a search and diacovery mission only at this point. All 4 gave me rough payout numbers and I was pleased. THEN

    2 companies including Wells Fargo pulled my credit numbers before I gave the approval. ( Credit Rating of 820+)

    I was very clear with my instructions all along and the 2 that jumped the gun on creating Credit Inquires managed to lower my rating by 4 points. No big deal. Well it is to me. Anyway, I have eliminated WF from my potentials.

    I would not recommend WF for a Refinance opportunity.

    Submitted respectfully.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.