B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(884 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 50
4 Star 17
3 Star 17
2 Star 69
1 Star 731

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  •  
    A
    Reviewed By artkb3 Mar 28, 2017

    Student Loans

    Wells Fargo is the worst bank to go through when it comes to getting a student loan. If you have other options, do not go through them. When you are finished with school they will not work with you if you are unable to afford the monthly payments, which they start out at a ridiculous amount. They will also tell you that if your cosigner can afford the loan but you cannot that it is not their problem and you need to discuss that with your cosigner.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By livelaughlove Mar 24, 2017

    Changing Banks ASAP

    Horrible customer service. Disrespectful representative who's supposed to be the branch manager. I was discriminated against and I will make sure everyone knows how I and others I've talked to have been treated.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Cmadison Mar 22, 2017

    Excess Hold On Depisit / Unprofessional Branch Manager

    We are long term customers of Wells Fargo personal and multiple business checking accounts, mortgages, credit cardS, etc. I made a deposit yesterday from another bank that my husband owns. The check was made out to him, the check matching his name and address on WF checking account and the deposit slip, etc. After calling the rude Branch Manager, I spoke and was transferred to 4 levels of customer services units and no one could tell me where the money is held until March 30? We know WF will receive funds in a day or two and we know when the money is funded to WF. This hold is excessive and I know the Branch Manager determines the length of holds and this improves the Branches position. I will no longer use the Concordville Branch and interestingly that when we recently opened on (3/17) another new business account the Concord Manager came into the office, could not have been friendlier and was so pleasant. This is the most unprofessional Branch Manager I have ever encountered. Although it's requires a lot of effort I will begin interviewing other local Banks and once the excessive hold is released we will begin closing our accounts. In the meantime I will find another WF Branch even if it's inconvenient. After yesterday I totally get why so many people are moving away from WF.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By swimlabswest Mar 18, 2017

    SBA Loan Powerhouse

    If you are looking into an SBA loan, make sure Wells Fargo is your first stop. There is a reason why they are the largest SBA lender - they have an extremely efficient, customer friendly and cost effective process. We were ripped off by another bank and fleeced and it was smooth sailing with Wells. They won't take your money until you are already pre-approved, there is no application fee, you can sit down with them for a consultation and they will go over all what you have and need. Without up front fees.

    Their customer service is phenomenal. Their agents were sending multiple emails a day holding all members of the process accountable to clarity on where things were at, what were next steps, helped us push for an aggressive closing. We got a long term, competitive fixed rate.

    Again, in short, there is absolutely nothing you will lose by contacting Wells Fargo if you are looking for an SBA loan. Bravo Wells and thank you for helping us in our small business dream!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By Daninmn Mar 7, 2017

    Excellent customer service from Daniel

    I visited the walk in teller and I was very impressed with Daniel. Sharp and on the ball. Honestly, I rarely leave the bank impressed, but today I was. Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    E
    Reviewed By elarson89 Feb 24, 2017

    They Screwed Up - I Pay For It

    I worked with FirstBank (of CO) for years and will be going back to them for garbage like this. It's a small thing but signifies one of the main problems with large institutional banks like Wells Fargo.

    On the app, I was told I had $X available in my account. I would expect that to reflect pending purchases, since it is the available balance and not the current balance or however they differentiate the two. Anyways, it's the balance that is supposed to tell you how much you have available to spend.

    So I spent less than that amount, only to get slammed with overages the next day and be told that the X amount was actually completely wrong and significantly less and that's why when I made the major purchase it went over.

    I immediately transferred money into Wells Fargo to cover the overage. I called customer service, they removed the overage fees for that day. While my money was pending and therefore, unable to be transferred into the overdrawn account, I was still getting hit with overages. Once the money posted, I called and told them to remove the fees because 1. the only reason I was over was because their system gives us an available balance that is inaccurate and 2. I made the transfer to Wells Fargo immediately the day before so why am I being punished for their processing time? I did my due diligence, did nothing wrong, and spent the money Wells Fargo told me I have and I end up paying BS fees.

    They said they could not remove the fees. Thank you Wells Fargo. I just moved over 2 months ago and already regret it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By denjamar Feb 22, 2017

    Vacation Ruined

    I have a car loan through Wells Fargo. I went in to pay for my car payment and was assured they were not going to take it out of my check again. Well guess what they did. They couldn't refund my account and said they had to wait till the payment went through and they will send a check. So i had to cancel my vacation because of these dumb bastards. So today I called to see if they sent out the check since was with the manager at The New Berlin, WI location and they said i would have it within 48 hours. They never processed it and wanted me to pay for Fedex express. Really they are the dumba**es that f***ed up. I strongly recommend not banking with Wells Fargo since you can clearly see they have know clue what they are doing.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By CigarMan143 Feb 17, 2017

    Ripoff on points, account hacked, bank doing nothing

    My account was hacked, the SS numbers were modified, I was informed we were "past due" on our account (which has not happened in in the past 30 years) and the mailing address was changed. I went to a local bank branch to let them know of our concerns, the branch could not help. They called Wells Fargo customer service, credit card department and the Fraud Department. None of the offices could help us fix the problem, that had occurred with our account, which we have had with Wells Fargo for more than 30 years. They debited 191,000 points from our account and said they expired. But our account was a "never expiring point" account. With all the banking options we have, we decided to close the account and remove over $275,000.00 from the Wells Fargo Bank to a local bank or credit union in Vancouver WA. DO NOT do business with Wells Fargo.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mistreatedcustomer Feb 10, 2017

    FRAUD DEPT BREACH OF CONTRACT DENYING DEBIT CARD FRAUD CLAIM NO BASIS

    DO NOT OPEN ACCOUNTS WITH WELLS FARGO, THEY ARE DISHONEST, LACK INTEGRITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY.

    They open fictitious customer accounts to help their bottom line.

    I have been with wells fargo for ten years with over five different accounts.

    Recently i opened a fraud claim for debit card i never use and never have been in possession with on person EVER. This card was always kept in my checkbook THAT I NEVER USE OR LOOK AT, that
    1) could have been taking by many people who were friends with my kids from miami to north florida and others states. I reported that i never used card and anyone could of also
    2) got information from gas pumps ect
    3) when i reported claim online with fraud department 6 transactions for gas stations showed pending that were not me and while on phone another 6 transactions at gas pumps showed up.

    I went through bank statements as advised by fraud department and noticed many charges that amounted to $577.04 that I did not make period.

    after an unacceptable amount of time passed i called today 2/10/17 and sr resolution specialist said he declined my claim and accused me of being dishonest and lying.

    I told him who is being dishonest a bank that opens fraudulent accounts perhaps.

    bottom line i never used this card and as such they should have reimbursed me for all charges with their Zero responsibility for fraud for their customers which they with all certainty claimed that fraud could not have occurred.

    Really we are closing all accounts over this idiot and when expressed to him and her they ok thats your right OMG thats ridiculous. Maybe the CEO and Banking Commission needs to know this too and open a class action lawsuit against wells fargo for breach of contract and misrepresentation of the protection of their customers in fraud cases.

    I will be filing complaint with banking commission and looking at legal options as this small micro issues has now become a global macros issue. Think about it if there were thousand of fraudulent charges would they protect you.

    NO my guess is they wouldn't based of my experience and others.

    the fraud department automatically assigns suspension, guilt and dishonesty to card member and takes no responsibility to protect their customers but says they don't care if you go somewhere else.

    THAT BEING SAID EVERYONE GO SOMEWHERE ELSE TO BANK

    joseph luksich
    772-214-2169

    you may contact me and put together a class action law suit and add to banking commission complaint

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dghadiri Jan 28, 2017

    Worst Experience Ever with Wells Fargo (never recommend it)

    Worst Experience Ever with Wells Fargo (never recommend it)
    My experience is related to the downtown Wells Fargo branch (635 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR).
    Here is the story: We moved to USA on November 1st and opened an account in WF. I had a check which I wanted to deposit into my account on Saturday, December 17th 2016. I sold something online and the buyer sent me a $1000 check for a $200 item and he wanted me to deposit the rest to the money to movers account on Saturday ASAP which was very weird and I got suspected that this might be a fraud. I took the check to the downtown branch and the teller (Laura) looked at the check and said it looks fine. I told her the story that I suspect to fraud and she said wait until Tuesday and when the full amount becomes available in your account, then you are good and can transfer the $800 (she didnt take the case to her manager or suggest to take the case to fraud department). I did the same and on Tuesday (Dec 20th) morning when the money became available. At 6pm on Tuesday, the check returned and bank deducted the money and I ended up losing $800.
    I called the Wells Fargo customer service right away and told them the story. I said that I know this was a fraud and I will take the responsibility on my part. My concern is regarding the wrong information which I got from the teller. The teller should have told me to wait more or took the case to fraud department. I said, she could have told me that I dont know when she has no information. I was frustrated and the customer service manager said that he will open a case and understand the wrong information from the bank (it looks that this is their approach when you are frustrated even when they dont want to do anything). He said wait a week. We also went to the branch and the Service Manager said please come to us if nothing happened.
    A week later I called the customer service to follow up and they totally denied the case and they said they will do nothing. OMG!!! I went to the bank and service manager said that he talked to the teller and she accepted the mistake. He said he will work with the resolution center and he assured us that we will get the money back in a week. Now it is January 27th and after a month we have been told that the case is declined.
    We went to the branch to talk to the Branch manager (Luis D Santos NMLSR ID: 1065064). He came and he was completely in rush. He didnt even sat down. He said that the teller was new and we are responsible about the action. He didnt take any responsibility for the mistake.. Not even an apology. He finally left the meeting. Very rude and not professional at all. As a manager he put the business interest ahead of the customer interest and from the minute one he has no intention to help us.
    In conclusion, money is one part of the story. I am sad because of the wrong information that I got from the teller which caused the situation. The lack of information is a concern for me at the organization which dealing with peoples money every second. Even the manager doesnt know how long it will take or how is the resolution process. They just make nonsense promises to keep you waiting. The other part is about the lack of responsibility in Wells Fargo. I am sorry for this bank which doesnt take the responsibility for the mistakes done by its employees and cause losing money for innocent people. Not even an apology!!
    I will take my business somewhere else and dont recommend wells Fargo at all.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.