B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(891 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 50
4 Star 17
3 Star 17
2 Star 69
1 Star 738

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  •  
    B
    Reviewed By bajangaamad May 23, 2017

    not illegal but unethical charges on balance

    two days ago I've received my bob's furniture's statement through wells Fargo bank. i knew that my special term is going to end this month and I've been paying extra $$$$$$$ to end this account within one year. however, we returned the sofa after few months because of defect and exchanged with another pricey one with extra $$$$$$$ on my account. to my surprise bank charged me $348 as interest. I've called the customer service who dragged me through banking terms and banking rules as well as my singed contract. i kept asking that where they put how my monthly fee has been split into what accounts. finally, after 45 minutes long call manager informed me with strings that she would drop $87 only if i paid the whole amount of over $1500 within two days. it should be over the next year. i was very upset, not pleased for having the feeling of being ripped off by this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By Kburns May 17, 2017

    Horrible customer service!!!

    The fact that there are so many bad reviews and nothing has been done is crazy. I am sitting in the drive thru waiting because the lady is too busy talking to someone else to let me get my deposit receipt and go back to work. When i ask how the teller how she is, she responds good and goes back to making me wait an extra ten minutes in the drive thru. I come here for a business account with my employer. I left wellsfargo because of this on my personal account. I am in shock that no one has fixed the many issues at this branch. I have never been happily helped. Where did customer service go? Why is this okay. I have been in the drive thru for 15 minutes and she just not finished talking to actually do my deposit. I work in retail. I will make sure to let everyone know not to come here. Get it together Wells Fargo

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By Rissakwilc May 13, 2017

    The run around

    I applied for a credit card from Wells Fargo when I went to activate it there was a freeze on it I was told to go to the bank to activate it. The employee called to get my card activated and was transferred to several diffrent departments, each department gave excuses and transferred him to a diffrent department, including the fraud department. In the end I was told I had to go home and wait for a phone call back. Q: why was it frozen before it was even activated. Q: why the runaround. This has been one pain after another I've decided to cancel the card and NEVER deal with this company ever again. Oh I'm still waiting for that call back, good thing this is not an emergency.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By Wells_Fargo_Hater May 5, 2017

    83651

    The worse bank ever in the world. They don't know respect, customer service. They have cause elder abuse with elderly in my family. They have done fraud, description, emotional stress, depression, publicly humiliation, slander, depreciation of chacter, falsely calling in a police report, fee goughing, oberage fees, pulling a credit report without reason and more. They have done this over a period of all 5 months time just to one family member. The bank manager has no business even working there. She should be fired for all this. It isn't only 1 branch it is 3 branches in my city that had done this. Time to file a lawsuit against them for my family member who has Dementia which they refuse to believe she had it when with a doctors letter stating so. I want compensation for my mother and us for having to go through all this with this pos bank! I also wa by to make sure they are not doing this to anyone else who is, will, has currently going through it. To make it known we will not put up with this from any bank! Wells Fargo was founded in the early 1800's by bank, train robbers and thrives. They found away to steal money legally by opening up Wells Fargo. They must be stopped!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By geetarman58 Apr 25, 2017

    Double Dipped My Loan Payment

    Wells Fargo took two payments from my checking account. Long story short,ten days later,hours on the phone with over 17 different "bankers", a complaint filed with their executive branch (whom when you call their "direct ext." you get a voice mail and nobody else can help you because it it is not their case. I'm still out my money! I'm also going to be out of Wells Fargo as soon as I get it back. Credit Union here I come. Wells Fargo is a BIG two thumbs down....Stay away from them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Mzcebee Apr 15, 2017

    Worst Bank Ever

    I deposited a check in a local NC branch, this is the worst branch ever. They have nasty racist attitudes. Long story short, a few days later they came back and said it was a fake check. NO, it is not. This is a government check and I have been deposited this check in this amount for a while. I called their CS absolutely and positively no help. Then they had the audacity to charge my account a 12 dollar fee. I will be closing my accounts with them. I have been with them since they were Wachovia. But no more. Now I have to go through a lot of extra nonsense for what; cause they are idiots. Good-Bye and good riddance.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jons Apr 6, 2017

    Tried to give them my business

    Recently after getting married decided we should combine accounts so I applied for a new account in Jan. After calling 9 times and being promised it was going through and expect something in 5 days and even recording the notes and having other customer dis-service folks there read it back to me and then tell me I am sorry but they lied to you. April 6th and NOPE not approved. I am shocked how hard it was to try so hard to give them my business but instead my wife will be closing her account and I will tell everyone to quickly DUMP Wells Fargo and their dishonest schemes and lies. If you can trust a bank what good are they?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By artkb3 Mar 28, 2017

    Student Loans

    Wells Fargo is the worst bank to go through when it comes to getting a student loan. If you have other options, do not go through them. When you are finished with school they will not work with you if you are unable to afford the monthly payments, which they start out at a ridiculous amount. They will also tell you that if your cosigner can afford the loan but you cannot that it is not their problem and you need to discuss that with your cosigner.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By livelaughlove Mar 24, 2017

    Changing Banks ASAP

    Horrible customer service. Disrespectful representative who's supposed to be the branch manager. I was discriminated against and I will make sure everyone knows how I and others I've talked to have been treated.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Cmadison Mar 22, 2017

    Excess Hold On Depisit / Unprofessional Branch Manager

    We are long term customers of Wells Fargo personal and multiple business checking accounts, mortgages, credit cardS, etc. I made a deposit yesterday from another bank that my husband owns. The check was made out to him, the check matching his name and address on WF checking account and the deposit slip, etc. After calling the rude Branch Manager, I spoke and was transferred to 4 levels of customer services units and no one could tell me where the money is held until March 30? We know WF will receive funds in a day or two and we know when the money is funded to WF. This hold is excessive and I know the Branch Manager determines the length of holds and this improves the Branches position. I will no longer use the Concordville Branch and interestingly that when we recently opened on (3/17) another new business account the Concord Manager came into the office, could not have been friendlier and was so pleasant. This is the most unprofessional Branch Manager I have ever encountered. Although it's requires a lot of effort I will begin interviewing other local Banks and once the excessive hold is released we will begin closing our accounts. In the meantime I will find another WF Branch even if it's inconvenient. After yesterday I totally get why so many people are moving away from WF.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.