B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Wells Fargo Customer Reviews

(854 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 48
4 Star 17
3 Star 17
2 Star 68
1 Star 704

The Most Helpful Wells Fargo Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ben Dec 17, 2012

Terrible Customer Service-Wells Fargo

I went into Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Center, MN to get a replacement Check Card. The woman behind the counter was all too interested in selling me products rather than addressing my reason for visiting, which is exactly why I avoid going into Wells Fargo at all costs. She gave me a temporary card and said my new card would come in 5-7 days. The temporary card was a joke and would decline randomly, which resulted in me having to call Wells Fargo numerous times where someone seemingly flipped a switch and said "ok, it should work in 5 min".

Wells Fargo also called me on a daily basis from "Fraud Protection" and wanted to go over all of my purchases. After 2 weeks had passed I called to check on the status and was told "it was sent and to wait a few more days". A month had passed and I called to see where my card was and the woman told me that no replacement card had ever been issued. Needless to say, I was upset and wondered how so many people couldn't figure this out. All I wanted to do was get a Check Card.

Now it's the middle of December and I spent the better part the morning purchasing Christmas gifts online. Once I got home from work I see email after email saying my card was declined and my orders were cancelled. All of my Christmas gifts!! Cancelled!! So I called Wells Fargo to see what the heck is going on and am told that my temporary card was cancelled and I would have to stop into a branch to get a new card. At this point I'm pretty upset but keeping it cool because by now I understand how Wells Fargo Customer Service works.

The woman tells me that she hopes my card comes in the mail in time to reorder my Christmas presents in time for the Holidays....Just before she tries to sell me BillPay....
I will be taking my money elsewhere.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Marta Lugosi Jul 20, 2015

Service fee

This morning as I checked my balance at Wells Fargo I noticed they posted a service fee of $13 on my checking account. According to the contract (everything is a contract when you sign up for something) I was told there is no service fee as long I don't request hard copies of my statements. I've been a customer from 1995 at First Union, Wachovia and now Wells Fargo and I am treated like this. They sent no notes, or mail or e-mail to announce this change. After a long discussion with a supervisor she gave me a partial reimbursement of $3.25 and pocketed $9.75, which in my opinion is unjustified. This supervisor also told me, the change was communicated in the monthly statement and I could have avoiding it by switching over to a different type of checking account 3 months ago. How should I have known this??? I have decided to close my account and open a checking account at a different bank. STAY AWAY from Wells Fargo, they are stilling our money.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Wells Fargo Reviews

  • T
    Reviewed By tar4heel2 Oct 1, 2016

    25 year customer, reconsidering

    I am really struggling with an objective review of this bank given its recent history, but here goes:

    I've been a customer of WF for 25 years. Until recently I was very happy. I also used to work for WF in their mortgage division in the early 2000s, and was very happy. They treated me well when I worked there. All this scam news is contrary to what I knew about WF during my employment. But that was then. This is now.

    a) When the Target fiasco happened at the end of 2013, WF very quickly issued a replacement card with the chip in it without me asking for it. I was impressed. 5 stars for that.

    b) Then, every time I go to Europe they are Johnny-on-the-spot in flagging a bunch of foreign transactions. I now have to call them prior to leaving when I know I'm going to be overseas to let them know to expect charges from there. 5 stars again for fraud detection (the irony does not escape me).

    c) I went to them for some business financing and they gave me basically what I asked for (I have a 780 mid credit score and average $20,000 balances in my liquid accounts). 5 stars.

    d) ATMs on every street corner nationwide. 5 stars.

    e) GREAT iPhone app. Use it all the time to find ATMs and branches when traveling.

    f) CC purchases and cash withdrawals in the EU transfer at par, although there is a "foreign transaction fee", there is no currency markup on foreign transactions. 5 stars.

    g) When I buy Euros in the US they are efficient, offer a fair price (with markups) and do what they say.

    Now, the bad part which is why I will probably leave.

    1) You will suffer a "death from 1,000 cuts" in the fees. OMG! My CC fee for my business CC account carries a $150 annual fee which is more than my freaking interest payment!!! Fees everywhere you turn, and if you don't stay on them it will never stop. Even with my high balances giving me a break on some fees, they still find a way to screw me to the wall. Zero stars.

    2) I am one of the customers that had an unauthorized account opened. In May of 2016 I had a strange $168 "refund" credit my account, then the news about the fraud was made public.

    All other stars immediately negated on this one issue.

    I am pissed beyond measure. They refuse to waive my CC fee of $150 and have yet to offer any restitution for the felony theft of my money and unauthorized access of my accounts. Now, I hear recently-fired ex-employees have started a class action lawsuit for being fired for refusing to participate in the scam. There is also a shareholder class action that's been recently certified.

    Yeah, Wells Fargo can kiss my rear end. I only gave them two stars because of the long history of good relations, but that was then. This is now, and I'm done. I now have to go transfer 5 accounts to another bank, which I'm willing to do.

    Tread carefully in dealing with WF. They smile, then twist the knife in a way you barely feel it. It's only when you see the blood and then look down that you know you've been stabbed.

    I don't want to constantly have to look over my shoulder to make sure my bank is not screwing me. Nor should I have to, which is now the case with WF. I'm done.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By Wellsfargocrooks Sep 10, 2016

    Fraudulent banking

    Banker Daniel Bartley opened fraudulent accounts and manager Alexandra Delposo was worthless, rude, and unwilling to assist.... Stay far away from this branch and Wells Fargo in general

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jeffery Sep 8, 2016

    Very Worst Bank

    Wells Fargo was the most incompetant, mismanaged bank I have ever dealt with. - When setting up an account, their computer program will only allow the names of three beneficiaries. Any additional beneficiaries have to be noted in a different file. When the CD accounts renew, the additional beneficiary names are lost. - At maturity of CDs, if any changes are desired, the CDs are closed out and new CDs are opened, requiring a lot of extra time and extra paper work. - Any customer that has a large account at Wells Fargo will receive phone calls from the Wells Fargo Investment Group on a regular basis. Telling them you are not interested or telling them to stop calling is to no avail. - Upon the death of my parents, our estate lawyer mailed Wells Fargo the death certificate(s), updated benificiary list, and the official Probate statement appointing me Personal Representative of the estate. Wells Fargo lost all of the paper work. Instead, Wells Fargo required each benificiary to provide a signed notarized letter declaring their right to inherit the funds. Goodbye Wells Fargo... FOREVER

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By Rickjo94 Sep 3, 2016

    Disappointed with My Mortgage Holder

    As the owner of my mortgage for almost 5 years, I have pleaded with the service and ease of banking from Wells Fargo.

    I recently decided to check the availability of a better shorter term fixed lower rate mortgage and put the word out in the Net thru inquiries. ( going from 30 fixed to 15 fixed.) My instructions were clear, all initial correspondence was to be via my email. Once I narrowed down the opportunities, I then would open up direct phone conversations.

    WF and 3 other companies honored my request and instructions. Several others called. They were eliminated immediately.

    I was clear to the 4 possibles that I was on a search and diacovery mission only at this point. All 4 gave me rough payout numbers and I was pleased. THEN

    2 companies including Wells Fargo pulled my credit numbers before I gave the approval. ( Credit Rating of 820+)

    I was very clear with my instructions all along and the 2 that jumped the gun on creating Credit Inquires managed to lower my rating by 4 points. No big deal. Well it is to me. Anyway, I have eliminated WF from my potentials.

    I would not recommend WF for a Refinance opportunity.

    Submitted respectfully.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By suedenar Sep 1, 2016

    Most unhelpful bank ever. I rate them as a money grabbing D-

    I was about to transfer all my accounts to the Wells Fargo in Ormond Beach from the Bank of America in Ormond Beach. My son has an account at Wells Fargo. He recently moved to St Louis. They have no Wells Fargo branches there. Because he drained most of his money out to transfer it to a new bank, his funds were low. He had forgotten about a small auto debit. He didn't realize this until he was on a job site in the middle of nowhere. He asked to to deposit a small amount into his account. I had is debit number with experation, his SS number, his phone number, his current address, his previous address. I had his password and username. For some reason it would not let me sign on. I went to the bank to ask them to deposit the money into his account. I did not need them to give me his information. They would not. They have done this before when another son was in a similar situation. Different teller. I will not be opening an account.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pratima Aug 29, 2016

    The bank gave fake $100 bill

    I took some cash from the wells fargo tailor and he did the machine count before handing the money to me. I went to deposit in my other bank account in less than 5 minutes time interval and the ATM in the other bank found out it was a fake $100 bill. I went back to the wells fargo bank and told the problem, they can not help since I walked out of the bank already with the money. I am never going to trust their money counting machine again. I lost $100 for nothing.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Skieb123 Aug 28, 2016

    Terrible Practices

    Worst bank EVER! Have plenty of money in my account, went to purchase furniture to replace because we lost everything in a flood. The "bank" declined my charges because it was over 2,000.00, left me standing and embarrassed. Spoke with the "I don't have authority to do anything" customer service clown, gave her all of my identifiers, last transactions to verify my identity to see if they will give me a limit increase, she said I didn't "qualify". Really? It's MY money, NOT credit!. When I received an insurance claim check from this so called bank, I took it to deposit it into WELLS FARGO, a check from WELLS FARGO and they said they have to hold the check to make sure it CLEARS! Their insurance claim process is TERRIBLE and you get a different story from different people about the same topic! I have a credit card through them and have had AUTO PAY for EVER, the auto pay fell off (don't know why) I asked them to waive the late fee (never late with them before on cards or mortgage) you know what they said? Yep, "I don't qualify for a fee waiver". I asked If they would set up my auto pay AGAIN, they said, "since the auto pay is NOT paying out of a Wells Fargo Bank, they cannot" them trying to make you have them as their sole bank! When you want to transfer money on line to another bank they want to know why, like it is their money! I am making formal complaint, with documentation to the attorney generals office and I cannot wait until Monday comes fast enough as I am pulling ALL of my money out of this so-called bank and refinancing my home loan with a REAL bank that I have been with for years! Terrible bank, terrible practices, terrible customer service, terrible claim process.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By newriverguitars Aug 23, 2016

    Wells Fargo has horrible customer service

    Wells Fargo is absolutely the "WORST" people I have ever done business with.
    I have a credit score of 803 and I am just trying to refinance a loan I already have with them at a lower interest rate and this has dragged on for 2 months. They never return my calls and it seems one hand doesnt know what the other hand is doing. Tomorrow I am going to my credit union where I should have gone in the first place. Then I am canceling all of my accounts with Wells Fargo.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By chubbiechaser Aug 23, 2016

    You could not pay me to use this bank ever again.....HORRIBLE!

    I got an auto loan through wells fargo and it was by far the worst, most stressful, most infuriating experience i have ever had with any bank. I paid them a settlement for my totalled car of 14K and they would not even work with me on the next payments for a car i dont even have anymore. they told me that my thousands of dollars were great but would not be applied as a monthly payment.... not only that but when i went to pay them off in full (so i would not hurt someone there!!) they couldnt even give me a piece of paper stating it was paid off and i had a $0 balance!! apparently there is a dept for printing, a different one for faxing, another one who can look at checks, another one for this and for that. I COULD NEVER GET ANY HELP FROM ANYONE IN ANY BRANCH!! i was always told "thats not my department." ....they have alot of "sit on your a** and do nothing" departments obviously because that is the only thing they did!!!! They were ALWAYS rude and NEVER helpful!!! I would rather drink battery acid then ever go through this "bank" again! all they are is money hungry and the customer service is a JOKE!!! no one there knows what they are doing! My dog could do a much better job then most of their employees. Seems to me the employees take a class to learn how to run off customers because from every other review i have seen, they are doing a damn good job at it!!! Wells fargo is a joke at the very least. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By nbrodeur Aug 22, 2016

    Stay away from this bank. They don't care about the small person. Customer service below a 1

    UPDATE: Checked with Chase and the check went through and the money was sent to Wells Fargo. I called the dial a banker and they said that they still have to have the 9 day hold on the account. I asked her the reasoning of why they would have to hold a check were they have received the money from the check issuing bank. She said that is just the way it is. I asked if it matters that I have been a customer for 27 years, since 1989, and she said NO it doesn't matter. I'm switching and never looking back at this HORRIBLE BANK...WELLS FARGO!!!!!

    I have been banking with them since 1989 and I am switching. I just deposited a payroll check and they are putting a hold on it for 9 days! The check is from a big company and they bank with another large institution, Chase. Chase said the check would process through the next business day and Wells Fargo would get the money. I explained this to one of those dial a bankers and she said that it didn't matter that would still hold the check for 9 days. I asked them why they were holding money hostage and all she did was quote a Federal Reserve regulation. I tried to tell her she was telling me the regulation incorrectly, because I had that regulation in front of me. All she did was continue to restate the regulation. I am not sure where they get their dial a bankers from. I will be switching as soon as I get my money and I will be going with a Credit Union or smaller local bank. The big banks just don't care about the smaller guys. The problem with that is the smaller guys is sometimes they become the bigger ones and people don't forget how they are treated. STAY AWAY UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TREATED LIKE SCUM!!!!! If I could give them a negative number I would.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.