A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Capital One 360 Customer Reviews

(211 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 41
4 Star 17
3 Star 9
2 Star 21
1 Star 123

The Most Helpful Capital One 360 Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By mbb500 Aug 18, 2015

Excellent choice for online savings and moving money

We have moved 11 times since 1970 so have had experience with many small, mid and large banks. We were building a home in 2006 and funding much of it with our cash. Found ING Orange (now CapOne 360) and it was the only choice that gave reasonable interest and allowed us to move large sums to our builder (up to 6 figures) with a simple "push" from the website. Currently use it for savings with various goals and the ability to create "sub accounts" is very handy way to keep from commingling funds and violating our own rules and goals. Have never had an issue that involved customer service in 9 years.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Caasmom Nov 22, 2013

Unfair Banking Business-Do Not Trust this Bank! Long story short, Bank closed Account, No notification or warning!

We all make mistakes, and I am willing to pay the consequences. But the way this bank handled my account was unheard-of. My husband and I were in the process of trying a new budget system for our family. I got my own checking account with CO360 and he would keep our original joint checking account with CO360 then transfer money to my linked account so that I would know exactly what I had to spend. In the change over, there were two automatic monthly draft bills that came from my account. At the time, the overdraft was maxed out and so CO360 sent me an email that said, We went ahead and paid this for you but if this keeps happening, we will close your account. I got one email on Sept. 12 and one on Sept. 18 for the two drafts. Once I realized this was happening, I immediately called CO360, explained the drafts were changed and this would not happen again. They said that was fine. One day in early November, my card was lost and I ordered a new one. The card arrived, I spoke to a customer service person to activate new card. Not a word was said about account status. I went to buy gas. Card denied. Called CO360 to find out why, said account was closed and money in account was sent to another checking account they had on file. (an account that was also closed when I opened this one so I went through a mess trying to find my money in electronic limbo!) When I asked why, they said it was because of NSF charges from September! Two months later. No warning, No call to ask where I wanted my money sent, No notification to this day (Nov. 22) except the call that I made that day. Only chose this bank if you want this to happen to you. I would have gladly paid a fee for the NSF rather than have this happen. Changing to another friendly online bank. Jeers to CapitalOne 360. I liked you better when you were INGDirect!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Capital One 360 Reviews

  • C
    Reviewed By cgee Oct 25, 2016

    Capital One Savings Lockout

    They have locked my savings account because of potential fraud on my credit card a month ago. Have been trying to contact them to get it straightened out but you can not contact them. I have waited on their call line at least ten times for up to 50 minutes with no answer. I have left messages but received no call back as message promises. I call other Cap One numbers and they say the group is backed up and understaffed and will get to me when they can. Their solution is to call in and put my phone on speaker and go about my business and at some point they will pick up. In the meantime I am being denied access to my money in my account. There is no one you can call for help. there are no email addresses to write to either. If I ever get this straightened out I am going to remove all my cash and close my CC account. Absolutely worst customer service I have ever seen anywhere in my life.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jjs6661 Oct 21, 2016

    Worst Banking Experience EVER

    This rate it app made me put one star - I wanted to put zero! I reactivated my old ING account, now Capital One 360. I received my debit card and made my first deposits. Capital One placed a hold on my payroll check. I have spent hours holding for customer service, getting told different stories by different employees. I have faxed, emailed, called. Still the deposits are on hold - I even received an email that stated my employers bank said my paycheck may not be paid. Huge lie on Capital One's part. Do not do business with Capital One unless you don't need access to your money for weeks! Now I get to wait until they clear the deposits and they will mail me a check in 7 to 10 days to close my account - but I have to call back in to get them to send the check!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MsRosenbloom Oct 21, 2016

    Accont closed without notice

    I visited my account online only to find out it was closed. I was surprised because I had not received a notice. Several direct deposits are due to come in and this is the only account I have. I hope to recover the account when I call on Monday morning. This is new and impressive to me...a "Recovery Team". It proves they want to keep you as a customer. But, they should give notice before closing an account. My email address is on file,

    However, thus far I've had no other complaints about the service of my account and the customer service when calling.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jaylj6 Oct 12, 2016

    not impressed

    Over the weekend I deposited 2 checks cause money was tight and I had 2 charges coming through and need to cover them. So I did there phone app. Figure they would cover charges that came out the following week on Tuesday. Nope that rejected them and cost me $50.00 dollars in fees. I called them on it figuring they would fix it. Was told that the check did not get process till Tuesday and where not available till midnight weds that its not there fault. So even if you have money coming to you and they don't feel like processing it your problem. Fair warning unless you never have a tight week good accnt. for you. One last thing there free atms sucks because they do not have very many in my area so most of the times it places i never ever go to because there out of the way. So I'm always paying fee to get cash. Going back to local bank a lot easier to get to and i can deposit same day and get to there atms.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By balncb Oct 11, 2016

    Horrible Fraud Resolution

    I have had my online account since 2004 with ING. It was great under ING, but now that Capital One is running it, its been horrible. Online access to my account was blocked and was given a number to call that no one was answering because of the weekend/holiday. I was able to log in on the investing side and I can see that money has been stolen from various savings accounts, but I still cannot login to view the detail. Over two days later I was finally able to get a hold of someone, and they say its going to be at least another 1 hour on hold before I can speak to someone about my account being hacked. This is beyond crazy. This online bank CANNOT be TRUSTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DrDon Oct 7, 2016

    Horrible BIG Bank

    Interest rate advertised is a farce. They start with a quoted rate and time frame and then once deep into the loan approval they quote a higher fee with a lot of changes, and took months rather than "weeks". Use anyone else!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Drg623 Aug 22, 2016


    The most ridiculous practices of any bank I have EVER dealt with. Fraud services are downright rude and acusitory. They locked my account to verify against fraud AFTER holding a deposit check for 6 days, then wanted to contact the person writing the check and me to provide the contact info. Oh and they won't give you a last name but expect you to reveal account info, social security, date of birth and the phone number for the person on the check. Again all after the check had cleared!!! If it was fraud don't you think the writers bank would have questioned it? Closing my account and my credit card account and moving on. Never again #capitolonecustomergoesbyebye

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By raisadiaz Aug 10, 2016

    Worst bank I have ever had

    As per my own experience this is the worst bank you can ever have. Deposits take too many days to take effect. And the day they want to close you r account they do it without previous notice you simply find out once you try to use your card and it's decline so you call the bank and find out that they will be closing your account. Then on top of that they will retain your money for more than 10 days so if you have all your money in that account be ready to financially struggle for more than a week, doesn't matter how many calls you make to try to explain you need the money they really don't care. They don't care about their account holders

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jleondude123 Aug 4, 2016

    Capital one? More like CAPITAL NONE!!!

    I just registered for a bank account of Capital One 360. The registration was pretty much simple. I just got a check and I deposited it on my account. Also simple. However, things started to get crazy. Today. I just got an email that I need to verify my personal info within the next 10 days or they will close my account for good. I called them, and I gave them my personal details. Few minutes later, the caller said that the verification of my account failed. They are closing my account with no reason whatsoever. WTF!!!!! I gave them the right details to verify my account and they won't verify it? That is some BS. I'm finding another bank now. SCREW CAPITAL ONE.
    This horrible bank does not care about anyone but themselves. They should change the bank name to Capital None. I will never go with this bank again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pshults Jul 19, 2016

    Terrible customer service

    We opened an online Capital One Spark Business Checking account with a deposit of $2,000 and simultaneously applied for Spark Business credit cards. I was using their mobile app to monitor our checking account, and it showed that the full amount was available to us after 3 business days. I wrote one check for just over $200 8 days after our first deposit. Nearly a month later, after making another $7,500 in deposits, I accidentally discovered on the Capital One 360 site that Cap One had frozen our account six days after we opened it, and our first check had bounced. When I called customer service, they informed me that they had sent an email 30 days ago notifying me that my account was "restricted." It so happened that I had received a phone call from Cap One fraud department that same day regarding our Spark credit cards and I satisfied the agent. I assumed the two events were related, and the issue was handled. Wrong. Totally unrelated to the checking account. Meanwhile, no notice of the "restricted" status of our checking account ever appeared on the mobile app. No more Capital One emails, never a phone call. Capital One just sat on our frozen $9,500. Meanwhile, I suffered the embarrassment of bouncing our first check and incurred a returned check fee from the third party. After three phone calls and an email with Capital One customer service, the only gesture they offered was waiving their own insufficient funds fee and magnanimously informing me that my funds are now available. Gee, thanks! I'm now moving our account to a neighborhood bricks and mortar bank as fast as I can (hope not to experience the challenge getting our money back out that other reviewers have posted). Bottom line, 1) you can't trust their mobile app; 2) Capital One is NOT a single entity, and the right hand doesn't appear to know what the left is doing - it's really easy to get tripped up between sites/groups; 3) forget all their marketing hype -- Capital One seems much more concerned about preventing fraud than in delivering good customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.