B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Chase Customer Reviews

(478 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 46
4 Star 20
3 Star 22
2 Star 37
1 Star 353

The Most Helpful Chase Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By RandyH Apr 7, 2016

The Best!

I've never been so pleased with a bank branch like this one in my life. All personnel are a pleasure to do business with. I strongly believe it's because they follow the VP/ Branch manager's example. It all starts at the top.

Less than 10 years ago, I was so unhappy with Chase in general that I vowed never to do business with them again. I think this statement illustrates just how good this branch is- to have turned me around 180 degrees.

I actually enjoy going to my bank. Enough said...

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By YShay Mar 7, 2016

Credit Card Application Nightmare

Chase has always been my preferred bank because there are numerous accessible locations in Southern California. However, after this recent experience, I am considering changing banks.

I visited my local bank to apply for a credit card in person and was directed towards this woman to assist me. After brief discussions, I decided to apply for the Chase Slate. Since this is my first time ever applying, I didn't really know what to expect. The whole process took less than 10 minutes. The banker had ONLY asked for my mother's name, along with my phone number and confirmed my address; with only that information, she submitted my application and told me that I would be notified within 30 days.
I was slightly confused because the process seemed too easy- so I did my research and came to realize that she NEVER asked for my financial information. As a banker, I would expect them to explain the whole process to me, the client and ensure that every information on the document is accurate.
The next day, I made several calls to Chase's customer services and they couldn't help me at all. I then decided to call the bank that I went to when I applied and with terrific luck, the woman on the phone happened to be the one that had 'helped' me the previous day with the application. I questioned her why she didn't ask for ANY of my financial information. The FUNNY thing is she claimed over the phone that she did, but when hit with the question of whether or not she recalled what she had put down, she had 'somehow' forgotten. I asked her if she had put $xxxxxxx as my annual salary and she claimed that she had put in a higher number. So she either falsified or just didn't complete the information on the application. With the situation being dumb enough, she also mentioned something about my application being declined- to be honest, I don't remember word for word, but I can guarantee that that is the most unprofessional behavior I have ever witnessed. The banker did not complete the application accurately and then notifies me that it was declined (I WONDER WHY). On top of that, she even asked me if I still wanted to cancel the application. How would I cancel something that has already been reviewed and declined? I then asked if I could re-apply with the CORRECT information and she tells me that I should wait a bit because it would be 'bad for my credit'. Well maybe if the application was filled out CORRECTLY in the first place, I wouldn't be in this situation.
With the bank closed on Sunday, I tried calling Chase's personal banking and credit card services. I explained the situation to this woman on the phone and when she checked my application status, it was still PENDING. If that was the case, why did the banker mention my application being declined? I then asked if she could perhaps change the information on my application, but she couldn't. She then explained to me that maybe the banker that had helped me put the financial information from my application for a debit card onto the credit card application. Just a little background information for the readers, I applied for my debit card YEARS ago. I would have thought that if I was applying for something different, the banker would have asked me for current information and not put outdated information without informing me. Besides, when I was on the phone and asked the banker that had filled out my application if she put down $xxxxxxx, she claimed that she somewhat remembered putting down a higher number. If she had really used my salary from years ago, it was nowhere near how much I made now. Although I am a client and there are certain things that I should know, as a banker, I would expect better service and not a seemingly careless attitude about something that affects my credit.
As of right now, I'm still working on sorting out and correcting this MESS. Looking to speak to the branch's manager. Very displeased with service, especially from this certain branch.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Chase Reviews

  • W
    Reviewed By worstmanagerever Oct 12, 2016

    Exceptionally incompetent staff and rude management

    I've banked with Chase for a while and generally receive excellent customer service. This branch, however, is an unfortunate exception. While trying to get a replacement debit card, I spoke with Alex, one of their bankers, who denied me the replacement card because the state identification I provided, though matching the exact ID number they had in their system, was not a driver's license (it must have been erroneously entered as a driver's license by Chase when I opened the account, as I've never had a driver's license). I've used the same New York ID when getting previous replacement cards, so I was a bit taken aback that despite having multiple forms of identification (passport, state ID) and clearly being the person listed on the account, he refused to budge.

    Since Alex seemed like a hapless, incompetent worker drone lacking common sense, I kindly asked to speak with his manager about the issue. Rather than resolve the situation, which only arose because of Chase's error, the manager, Angela, was not only extremely rude and condescending, but was even more unwilling to assist. To make matters worse, she claimed it was my fault that the system had my ID listed as a driver's license. Incredulous at the lack of professionalism and courtesy, I began to raise my voice, at which point she told me that I must not have been raised correctly and told me to bank at another institution.

    I left the Avenue X branch while Angela was still berating me, and went to a branch about a mile away. They immediately issued me a replacement card and apologized for Angela's antics.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By DrDon Oct 7, 2016

    Horrible BIG Bank

    Interest rate advertised is a farce. They start with a quoted rate and time frame and then once deep into the loan approval they quote a higher fee with a lot of changes, and took months rather than "weeks". Use anyone else!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tlco9939 Oct 5, 2016

    Online Processes needs improvements

    I am an excellent long standing customer at 2 other banks (Wells Fargo and CapitalOne), tried to apply for a Chase total checking just to have a closer local bank. After going through all the online questions and providing all my personal information, the online site returned that my applicatoin could not be processed at this time, that my application was denied due to information on Experian. I was shocked, I've never been declined for any financial or banking applications! Immediately I pulled my Experian and the other two credit reports to see if there were negative or incorrect information on them, nothing negative, all accounts paid on time, balances paid in full each month, my FICO score is above 800. I then called the local branch, was told by the banker that they would not have any info why online appication was denied, she provided 800-935-9935, called number, customer service states they could not discuss any information about declination, that the local branch would have info. Reiterated to 800 customer service rep that local branch didn't have information because application was processed online, rep repeats again, we are not allow to discuss information over the phone so you will need to go to the local branch. I think the delination is a blessing in disguise considering that no one seems to know what they are doing in this organization. Declination states reason was on Experian credit report, but credit reports are spotless and clean, go figure. Went to another local bank and also applied to another online bank, approved with no issues.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • E
    Reviewed By erjo5055 Oct 4, 2016

    "Don't recognize the computer you're using"

    Everytime I login to chase I get this prompt. I close the books and do general accounting tasks for my fathers business, and understand the importance of this security. For me to do said accounting tasks, when I try to access the account I need to enter the temporary identification code. I have been trying for over 6 months to get the code to be sent to my phone, and despite working with customer service multiple times, and trying to change the settings through the website, it never changes. Instead, it sends to someone who no longer works with us, which makes it impossible for me to preform these tasks. I am very disappointed with Chase not being able to change such a simple setting, and am frustrated that it takes me significantly longer to close the books each month as I have to pester the other person for the identification codes.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By perkinsb2 Sep 30, 2016

    Unfair credit card application process

    I applied for a chase slate card recently online on chase.com. They said I need to wait 7-10 business days to receive a written response – approval or decline. Then they declined my credit card application due to too many credit card applications filed within 2 years. I called them and asked if I could call the reconsider phone number. They said no the decision stands. I have a 753 credit score. I make $57,200 each year. I also have only one credit card with a credit limit of $3500. Why would they decline my application? I have therefore been DENIED access to credit, which I wanted to actually use. Chase is a very dishonest company. Why do I also have NO chance to reconsider? Why do they have this unfair policy? This seems like it is just some big evil bank that is ripping off customers left and right and needs to be broken up or shut down. Since I have been denied access to credit, I deny Chase any of my banking relationships and actively pursue other more friendly companies. Chase you suck – very dishonest company. Worse than Wells Fargo!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By SuzanneG Sep 17, 2016

    Chase satisfies my banking needs and is no different than any other bank

    I have no problems banking with Chase. They have a functional mobile app, online banking, mobile deposits, and deposit-friendly ATMs. Most importantly, Chase is found in most parts of the US, so there's not a problem when I'm traveling and need a fee-free Chase ATM.

    I have yet to understand why people provide low ratings/reviews because Chase charged them an overdraft fee. This is the norm for ALL banks in the US. This isn't anything new. Big national banks, small local banks, and credit unions all charge various fees like this. Yes these fees can seem unfair at times, but if you make the decision to use a financial institution to hold your money, then both parties (you and the bank) are expected to the follow the agreed upon terms and conditions.

    Also, just a bit of advice for the ones that do not have direct deposit and/or can't financially maintain $1500 daily balance per month to avoid Chase's $12 monthly maintenance fee, I would suggest you find a local bank or credit union that typically has a free checking account with no minimum balance. You could also try an online bank if you do not regularly deposit cash. You may lose the convenience of having a Chase ATM or branch almost on every corner, but I'm sure will save more money in the long run by getting a totally free checking with a local bank or credit union.

    Overall, I hate to see people bash Chase because they can't seem to have a handle on their finances to avoid the many fees that are disclosed in writing upon opening your account, as well as publicly posted on Chase's website. This actually goes for pretty much all banks and financial institutions. Ultimately, it's all business... And yes, I have been charged overdraft fees in the past, and I also incurred those fees due to not properly tracking my finances and spending. Not once did I blame the bank for my lack of monitoring/planning. I now am simply more responsible and monitor my finances to prevent the banks from making money off of me.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By deduril Sep 16, 2016

    screw chase

    Opened my mailbox today and was completely shocked. I been elite Chase credit card member for many years, had 3-4 credit cards and a checking account. Always payed my cards in full and always been a member in good standing. Today i found out Chase closed all of my accounts, reason stating - Too many request for credit ! I applied for few credit cards every 6 month just to build my credit history. MY current score is 710 by Experian. Chase closed my accounts just because i applied for few other credit cards ???????? I'm so disappointed by Chase and i hope they will make it right to me and revoke their decision. I been nothing but a good costumer.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Troy_Reynolds Sep 16, 2016

    Hollywood / Western Chase "Bank"

    TRIED to make a deposit at the ready teller while homeless lady who is living in there was screaming on her cell phone. Went to get help.

    HERLIN said he was busy and would come in a minute. He never came. Finally gave up as the machine started mangling my checks.

    Went to Herlin who said he was still busy...but wasn't actually doing anything.

    He looked at my check and he snickered: "Look at the condition of your check." I tried to explain that their machine did it.

    He waved me off to the new machine in the center of the room. It was really new, installed in March and I had no idea how to use it. I asked him to help me and he said he was busy, and stood by the door doing nothing.

    He finally came over and screamed at me when I pushed the wrong button. I told him that's why I said I needed your help. I can't see very well, and I don't know this new machine. It was different than any ready teller I had used at Hollywood or East Hollywood branch.

    I asked him what was wrong with the machines in the other area. "I don't know." he said like I was bothering him.

    He called over a lady, "Maybe YOU can help her and stomped off and stood back by the door.

    "Can I help you?" "Yeah I'd like to report him." "I'll talk to him." When I asked her what was wrong with the machines, she said, "They're not modernized."

    I called the branch when I got home. Herlin answered and pretended he couldn't hear me. I finally said screw you. THEN he could hear me.

    I called back and Herlin answered again and demanded I apologize to HIM. Called again. Herlin screamed at me some more at me to apologize or he wouldn't put me through to a manager. Called again. Same thing. Called again. Someone else answered and said the manager was on a conference call. I said I would call corporate. OH NONO I'll help you! What is the problem? I hung up.

    Called corporate made a complaint. Told them I would Yelp this. So here it is.


    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By AwfulChase Sep 13, 2016

    Ridiculous security policy

    Been a a chase customer for less than a year and already extremely unhappy. I've had two very stressful situations with them, I think that I may officially be done with them for good after today's ordeal.

    This afternoon I had to present two certified checks (first month & deposit). I currently have two bank accounts, one with Chase and other with BOA, which I use only for bills. Living in NY & having a crazy work schedule, I decided today, the day of my lease signing to withdraw money from my BOA account to deposit into my Chase account to complete the amount. The Chase deposit was made through the ATM, because I honestly thought it was would make the transaction quicker, I was in the rush to head to the leasing office on time. As I got to the window the teller was nice and polite, that was until she pulled up my account & told me that there's been a recent fraudulent action! Thinking it was nothing, I smiled and told the teller that I just deposited money through the ATM downstairs. I was immediately asked for an ID. I told her that I didn't have my license on me but I had my expired passport, which I had on me because I was hoping to renew any day now. The branch manager by this time was called over and looked at my old passport. She blew up my signature and told me that the signature didn't match! Well, I was younger, my signature has slightly changed, but seriously who is she, a handwriting expert!!? This is ridiculous!!!!!

    I'm assuming since I made the deposit downstairs at the ATM only 5 min ago they were handling it as If I've made a cash deposit there and then at the window with them. Btw, I never knew a valid ID was required to make a cash deposit to YOUR own account (via teller), despite having the ATM card on me. THIS IS SO STUPID, NO ID NEEDED VIA ATM BUT ID REQUIRED AT TELLER????! I'm already providing you with my ATM card and my pin number to MY OWN account, what's the difference!!???

    Besides why don't they try asking customers those annoying personal security questions we get asked by phone all the time to identified ourselves!!??? They trust us by phone but not in person??! I wouldn't have mind one bit!

    At the end I never got my checks. The branch manager ripped up my already made certified checks in front of me and turned her back on me. Does Chase bank really think that they are offering us a "safer/secure" banking experience?? They really need to stop frustrating us & start using some real common sense.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By tbultt Sep 13, 2016

    night deposit

    first we were told we cannot deposit into the night deposit box than a few days later we tried the atm and it would not accept cash. I think you need to go back to the drop box

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.