B MyBankTracker Rating

Chase Customer Reviews

(492 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 47
4 Star 20
3 Star 22
2 Star 37
1 Star 366

The Most Helpful Chase Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By RandyH Apr 7, 2016

The Best!

I've never been so pleased with a bank branch like this one in my life. All personnel are a pleasure to do business with. I strongly believe it's because they follow the VP/ Branch manager's example. It all starts at the top.

Less than 10 years ago, I was so unhappy with Chase in general that I vowed never to do business with them again. I think this statement illustrates just how good this branch is- to have turned me around 180 degrees.

I actually enjoy going to my bank. Enough said...

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By YShay Mar 7, 2016

Credit Card Application Nightmare

Chase has always been my preferred bank because there are numerous accessible locations in Southern California. However, after this recent experience, I am considering changing banks.

I visited my local bank to apply for a credit card in person and was directed towards this woman to assist me. After brief discussions, I decided to apply for the Chase Slate. Since this is my first time ever applying, I didn't really know what to expect. The whole process took less than 10 minutes. The banker had ONLY asked for my mother's name, along with my phone number and confirmed my address; with only that information, she submitted my application and told me that I would be notified within 30 days.
I was slightly confused because the process seemed too easy- so I did my research and came to realize that she NEVER asked for my financial information. As a banker, I would expect them to explain the whole process to me, the client and ensure that every information on the document is accurate.
The next day, I made several calls to Chase's customer services and they couldn't help me at all. I then decided to call the bank that I went to when I applied and with terrific luck, the woman on the phone happened to be the one that had 'helped' me the previous day with the application. I questioned her why she didn't ask for ANY of my financial information. The FUNNY thing is she claimed over the phone that she did, but when hit with the question of whether or not she recalled what she had put down, she had 'somehow' forgotten. I asked her if she had put $xxxxxxx as my annual salary and she claimed that she had put in a higher number. So she either falsified or just didn't complete the information on the application. With the situation being dumb enough, she also mentioned something about my application being declined- to be honest, I don't remember word for word, but I can guarantee that that is the most unprofessional behavior I have ever witnessed. The banker did not complete the application accurately and then notifies me that it was declined (I WONDER WHY). On top of that, she even asked me if I still wanted to cancel the application. How would I cancel something that has already been reviewed and declined? I then asked if I could re-apply with the CORRECT information and she tells me that I should wait a bit because it would be 'bad for my credit'. Well maybe if the application was filled out CORRECTLY in the first place, I wouldn't be in this situation.
With the bank closed on Sunday, I tried calling Chase's personal banking and credit card services. I explained the situation to this woman on the phone and when she checked my application status, it was still PENDING. If that was the case, why did the banker mention my application being declined? I then asked if she could perhaps change the information on my application, but she couldn't. She then explained to me that maybe the banker that had helped me put the financial information from my application for a debit card onto the credit card application. Just a little background information for the readers, I applied for my debit card YEARS ago. I would have thought that if I was applying for something different, the banker would have asked me for current information and not put outdated information without informing me. Besides, when I was on the phone and asked the banker that had filled out my application if she put down $xxxxxxx, she claimed that she somewhat remembered putting down a higher number. If she had really used my salary from years ago, it was nowhere near how much I made now. Although I am a client and there are certain things that I should know, as a banker, I would expect better service and not a seemingly careless attitude about something that affects my credit.
As of right now, I'm still working on sorting out and correcting this MESS. Looking to speak to the branch's manager. Very displeased with service, especially from this certain branch.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Chase Reviews

  •  
    J
    Reviewed By jace_lemmon Feb 25, 2017

    Chase withholding money from a deposit because of a signuture

    Deposited a large sum of money in the from a a check from a well know entity. the Check was made out to myself and my wife - She deposited the check, and the bank told her that her signature would be enough for the deposit (no cash was withdrawn at the time), and now when we went to access the funds, we found out that the deposit was rejected, and now it will be a week before we are able to access those funds.
    Interesting that they are so nit picky about a deposit signature, but using a debit card as a credit card and my wife signing her name for me, does not make a withdraw from the account invalid. It was not that long ago that signatures on deposits were not necessary if the check was being deposited in an account of the person who the check was made out to

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By terri2750 Feb 23, 2017

    Happy Valentines Day Chase

    I have been with Chase for 7 years. I check my checking account online in the morning and late evening. I noticed they rearrange all entries, I don't like this. One night, I had so much money and nothing was schedule to go through, the next morning, everything was rearranged and nothing new had gone through, but my balance was $30. less, I live pay check to pay check, this has happened twice. I was told if my account is negative that I have till 11 pm, to bring my account to the good, my account was not showing a negative, My first Premier credit and Walmart credit card payments NEVER hit my bank account the same day I make my payments, guess what, this time they did, I was charged $34. * 2. Happy Valentines day to Chase. I now live in fear, I feel like someone at Chase is writing formulas to screw people. I am looking at a bank that doesn't rearrange debits and credits.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jethro0480 Feb 16, 2017

    Closed account. No warning.

    I have been a Chase customer for over 7 years. My account went negative yesterday. Didn't realize a bill came out. I stopped at the bank today to put money in to avoid fees. When I pulled up to the ATM it wouldn't take my deposit. Confused??? I went in the bank talked to a banker who had called for a reason unknown. She handed me the phone and told me that Chase had made the decision to close my account. I had no warning. No notice. No one could tell me why. They told be that there was no reason they could give me at this time. They told me I will receive a letter in the mail. My account never went more than 24 hours without there being money in there. I don't understand why a bank would just choose to close someone's account without any knowledge as to why. I would recommend anyone with chase to be careful. If they choose to close your account they will mail you a check 7 to 10 days with the amount that is in your account. That's right if all of your money is in there expect to have to wait that long for them to issue you your money back. Never again. I don't understand why any bank would treat their customers like this.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    R
    Reviewed By rcos Feb 14, 2017

    Time to leave this bank

    I have been a member with Chase Bank over 20+ years. In my most recent visit, I uncovered what truly poor customer service is and I am happy to switch.

    I will preface this by saying that I have to accept blame on my part for not checking my statements.

    In 2012 My Father gave me 5K as he was passing away from Stage 4 Lung Cancer. He said put it in a second account and use it to buy something when you are feeling depressed. So I opened a second checking account with Chase Bank. When I met the personal banker at that time he said that there are no extra fees because it was linked to my other account which had the direct deposits etc.

    Immediately I noticed I was getting hit with fees, the personal banker said that the accounts were not properly linked, he would take care of it. Again, my fault as well because I should have checked every statement.

    In 2014 I started using some of those funds and my balance was below 1500 on that account. I didn't even think to worry about it because I always have about 15-20k in my main checking account as that is the one I use to pay bills.

    From 2015 and most of 2016 I was getting $12.00 charged to that account every month to the tune of $240.00.

    I went to the bank today to asked what happened, I accepted blame for not checking, but even still the accounts were not linked. The lady whom which I spoke with said sorry, but they are only able to credit back the past two months and it was impossible to link those accounts.

    I was mad at myself, but even more upset that the bank was unwilling to accept any of the blame in giving me incorrect information and their is record in 2012 of them crediting me back for the issue. I am even more surprised that I have over 80K in two accounts and rather to try at least to go a little above and beyond normal policy given my situation, they would do nothing. I will be transferring my money to Wells Fargo Financial where I have a majority of my investments and accounts and not looking back. I had been with Chase all the way back when they were the First National Bank of Chicago.

    I look forward to the call when their investment person from Chase, who was trying to get me to move my investments from Wells Fargo calls me to set an appointment. This is a sad example of customer service, the person who was helping me had 0 empathy, didn't try to do anything to keep my business, so time to move on

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By asanchez Feb 3, 2017

    Horrible customer service

    Tellers are rude. Management covers for rude tellers who hang up the phone and decline to transfer to a manager. Waiting line in the drive through is very long (20-25 minutes).

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By Liju Jan 18, 2017

    Customer

    I won't recommend this branch for transportation. Banker is rude and uncooperative. I staff standing next to ATM machine and forcing to use it and other banker is standing next to her. Ones teller is on the counter. 6-7 people waiting on line. No one initiative to solve issue. They are not respecting customers question. Their attitude is if you want..... I close my account today. If no rate I could use it.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By SGB Jan 18, 2017

    Chase Bank, worse customer service, and most unethical bank since Bank of America

    I have one account with this bank and it's only a charge account. I had it for 18 months. Our first experience was trying to pay our account with cash. We were told they did not accept cash and that my wife who was a signer on the card could not pay or place money on the account. I had to go to the bank and speak with them even though her name was on the account in order for her to pay the bill. This happened twice. This last time we were told repeatedly when our payoff date was for our loan was which was on February 15. We were told this by many tellers over many months. Our card was an interest free card. By some fluke today I happened to call to see what my interest rate would be after payoff. I had been told when I asked at the bank it would depend upon my credit score. I had no problems with this since I knew my rate was high. When I called they said , no my interest rate would be 18% and by the way the due date is today so if it's not paid in full today you will be responsible for the accrued interest. I had just been told by the teller that I didn't have to pay in January since my payoff was in February 15. I left but came back the next day anyway because I didn't believe her about January and it's a good thing I did. I made it to the bank after first going to the teller and having her write my due date down which she did as February 15. I fully paid the balance and went to speak to the branch manager Nick Burghardt. An arrogant condescending little poorly dressed man trying to be his father. My wife had had an altercation with him earlier after he refused to speak with and stated. "She was only a signer on the card" and simply ceased speaking with her and rudely showed her the door. I drove down ther where this rude, not highly intelligent man proceed to act in the same manner. I asked for his superiors name and number and he rudely wrote an illegible name on a card and told me to find her by calling the 800 number on the back of my card. Which I did. This homophobic ,unintelligent , low class , poorly dressed indivual who attempted to speak to should not be in business dealing with public and should be made to go to sensitivity classes. Furthermore your banking practices are deceptively crooked as are the people in your employ and I intend to blog about this bank until its practices change.If you must deal with this bank do not deal with NICHOLAS BURGHARDT at Chase on 66 in St. Petersburg Fl. You would be better to stay away from all Chase banks

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By Lammie82 Jan 14, 2017

    Chase poor service

    Payment for my sons after school care posted to my account contacted chase and requested assistance rep told me she would reverse the charge. Get an email notification a week later from chase regarding insufficient funds so I log into my account and what do you know the charge she reversed is no longer reversed so I contact their customer service department and was advised there is no record of the reversal so I said to her how come I have a record of the phone call to your company and a screenshot of the reversal she states she checked further in the history and saw it but the reversal " didn't take" so now I need to complete a claim I do so and ask about the non sufficient charges to my account as a result of the reversal of the duplicate charge " not sticking" the rep advises they "should reverse" once the credit from the claim I just filed is returned. When I ask him for his name, employee I'd or other identifier specific to him for my record he states " we are not permitted to do that" really?? #poorcustomerservice and poor experience which is not usually the case for chase. I am completely and utterly flabbergasted.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By brothermoon Jan 5, 2017

    Online banking site is horrible -- mobile app is great

    The Chase website is full of bugs, from not being able to change primary mailing address to ending up on a dead page when changes are made but not saved, which then requires the user to shut down the browser page because no other navigation is possible. According to the online support staff at Chase, the address information they have for a customer on their backend does not reflect that which is shown to the customer on the website page. This is ridiculous and problematic, especially for a financial institution.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By annettedunn06 Dec 2, 2016

    Almost seems like they are in on the Fraud online cases

    Before this week I would have given chase 5 stars, I have banked with them for 6 years and overall had a good experience. On 11/30/2016 my Paypal account was hacked and someone made 3 different purchases totally $1200. Chase sent me an email asking for me to verify if I made the charges or not, I immediately called them to let them know that I had not made them. The lady said no worries we will cancel your debit card and send a new one out the money should be refunded into your account within 72 hours. I called and followed up on day 2 and was told the same thing, then on day 3 when my paycheck was deposited not only did they push the charges through but they had the nerve to charge me $34 for an overdraft fee. I called yet and again and then after being passed to 4 different departments I was told that I had just opened and Inquiry not a claim. I told them that was not the case they even cancelled my debit card, he told me he saw that but in the notes they told me I needed to resolve this with the merchant myself. I cannot believe that after 6 years without over drafting my account they would think I would do something like this. I work 2 jobs to support my 2 year old twins, I don't know what is worse that someone would steal my money 3 weeks before Christmas or that my bank didn't help at all and then also took more money from me after they were aware of the entire situation. It really makes me wonder if these companies are not in on all these fraudulent scams. Not Chase, Ebay nor Paypal would help me at all when they are the 3 companies that were involved in this scam. Sad to say Chase has completely lost a customer and I will go on every single website I can find to let anyone considering chase what a horrible bank this has become.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.