B+ MyBankTracker Rating

KeyBank Customer Reviews

(145 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 2
3 Star 1
2 Star 8
1 Star 129

The Most Helpful KeyBank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By WfitzJfitz Jan 21, 2016

Personal Banker Experience

I would like to recognize an exemplary Personal Banker Laura Pataki. at the Concord Township Ohio Branch
On Dec 18th 2015 both my checking / Debit and my Savings Accounts were compromised
I received a phone call from Key bank Friday evening at 7:30 pm advising me about the transactions and I went into the Branch the next morning Dec. 19 Saturday and Laura had the information and was waiting for me stating that she was just getting ready to call me.
Laura was professional, knowledgeable, service orientated to resolve the situation. Over the next two months Laura continued to help walk me through the steps monitoring the investigation by Key Bank, providing me with temporary checks, walking me through the steps of closing my old accounts and opening a new Checking account and saving account along with a Key Credit Card.
Laura was efficient in transferring the funds from the old to the new and monitoring the funds that were put on hold and eventually seeing that they properly got transferred. “In addition she monitored direct deposits that were sent to the old account and transfer those funds.
I have been in the business world for over 40 years and Laura certainly ranks as one of the best Personal Banker encountered. Efficient, great follow through, patient to explain what was going on and very helpful in recommending new more stringent security measure that I could take to strengthen the Security of my Account.
Laura was always cheerful and happy to see me when I came into the Branch and was professional and energized when she had to contact me by phone.
I remain a Key Bank customer because of Laura and her service.
Please recognize Laura for her extraordinary service rendered during a time that was exceptional stressful and concerning for myself and my Wife.
I extend a sincere THANK YOU!
Peace
William and May Jean Fitzgerald

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Mcjr Feb 27, 2016

Thieves in bank's clothing

Something is wrong when you put money in a bank for safe keeping only to have the bank turn around and steal money from you under the guise of fees. Although I've been a good customer for many years, Key bank stole money out of my account through multiple ridiculous fees that I could never make up in interest and slapped me in the face with terrible customer service when I complained about it. I couldn't get my money out fast enough out of fear they would steal more?

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest KeyBank Reviews

  •  
    D
    Reviewed By dmcmm Jun 19, 2017

    Worst bank

    We have had this account for over 20 years. Last year first niagara was taken over by key bank. The set up process was unbearable it took hours on the phone and I was still unable to gain access to my business accounts. They finally set up my account as a kbo online account which I found out months later was incorrect - because of this the auto debits didn't work and one of my accounts wasn't being paid. My account showed 2 withdrawls a month for commercial loans but it was only used for one account - For 4 months I didn't receive any correspondence from key bank. When I found out this was happening their reason for not contacting us was they didn't have our phone number. I spent hours trying to rectify this problem at my branch - I just found out last week it still us not fixed. My credit has been damaged and they will not help us. Please stay away from this bank!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    7
    Reviewed By 7209412978 May 20, 2017

    Biggest bunch of crooks and liars

    Right from the beginning I was lied to about opening my account there. I was told I would get 350.00$ bonus and free checking. I was told all I had to do was have direct deposit and use my card a few times a month. Lies !!!! The worst internet banking I have ever seen. I want to quit my job and just spend my days in front of a branch begging people to not open an account with this criminal organization close your account with them as fast as possible. Please please please do not due business with key bank. Absolute horrible experience all around. I can not wait till Monday so I can go in and close my account.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By WGLKRISH17 May 4, 2017

    Disappointed with the account opening experience

    I saw an offer for new customers and called customer care to check if it is available. They have asked my address and sent an offer code. I opened account online.
    But when I went to branch for verification of documents, they said the offer was not valid for the place where I am living.
    Being disappointed with that, I asked to close the account. Badluck, 25 dollars are deducted.
    So, I lost 25 dollars "just like that".
    A VERY BAD EXPERIENCE WITH KEY BANK

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By chefal Apr 21, 2017

    Never use Keybank!

    We used First Niagra Bank and loved the people, product and services until it became Keybank. My wife's mother recently passed away and there was financial business to be done. Wow what a fiasco! Not only were they seemingly unable to take care of the business, they were extremely rude and had 0 customer service relation skills. Bottom line, she went across the street to Citizens bank and they were more than willing to do all the things Keybank could not get done. The real bottom line? For their lack of professionalism and inability to reconcile funds in her mothers passing, she opened accounts across the street at Citizens Bank. Not only was Citizens bank kind and courteous, they went above and beyond to assist while my wife is grieving the loss of her mother. Hey Keybank! do you know you just lost over 150K by being total idiots? I have no crystal ball, however, I do not see great things for Squirrel Hill Keybank in the future. I have spoken to many people that are removing their funds and going elsewhere. We have closed our savings accounts and once all bills are paid, the checking is to follow. My suggestion, go to Citizens!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    H
    Reviewed By hansola Apr 19, 2017

    Keybank is the WORST!

    KeyBank itself is the worst bank we have ever done business with. And if you are a business customer, do not expect any beneficial treatment. Just the opposite, even the KeyBank business department in Cincinnati has a deficit when it comes to customer service and integrity.

    But this branch is the worst of the worst. I had to go in person to a branch to sign a form to have an annual $40 fee waived. I went to this branch. Big mistake. The person at the branch either lost it or tossed it because no one can find it and now, I am living 500 miles away from any Key branch. And no one at the branch or Key headquarters gives a crap.

    Avoid Key at all costs. Go to Wells Fargo. We have an account there. Disregard what current negative publicity you may have heard about WF. Their customer service is far superior what you will experience at KeyBank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Marine10 Apr 19, 2017

    They have the key to steal your money

    Really really really bad service. I have been using this bank since 2004. It wasnt bad back then. Now they have resource there banking customer service to a third world country that cant even help you. Its like there stealing there money in from you with a smile at there face. I fed off with them. After there mistake and again and again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    C
    Reviewed By Cronecare Mar 21, 2017

    ATM issues

    At this time I don't quite know how long this location has been open, but I have had several problems with this ATM.

    Numerous times (at least 3) there has been no money. A few times it has been broken with no sign on it and today I couldn't get a receipt because it was out
    of paper.

    I know these things can happen from time to time but it hardly every happened in all the years I was dealing with First Niagra.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    O
    Reviewed By OJ1 Feb 24, 2017

    $37.50 for a 5 CENT mistake

    I would like to say how disappointed I am in Key. I opened an account last year and had many issues due to my inexperience with how your bank system works. It was completely different than my previous banking experience and it caused me to overdraft many times. I appreciated the branch taking the time to discuss my issues and even refunding some of those fees. I have been doing very well since we had our discussion.

    Unfortunately what has me disappointed is that I overdrew my account by $0.05 and Key charged me $37.50 WOW , that is definitely highway robbery! It is EXCESSIVE and makes me wonder what the future holds with Key if i can't overdraw by 5 cents without getting hit with a charge. The manager said that due to my history they can't refund it, pardon me but that should not even be a question, it is 5 CENTS. PLUS I had almost $2000 hitting that night in direct deposits. I am VERY disheartened and disappointed in Key.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    O
    Reviewed By oooJASONooo Jan 31, 2017

    Hate the institution

    I love my home bank branch in Kent, WA. The folks that work there are extremely helpful. Every single in bank experience I've had was great, and they go out of their way to offer excellent service. Not 1 person at the Kent branch is below exceptional.
    That being said, I hate Key Bank. I really do not want to bank with them anymore. I will be closing my account shortly. Seriously, I DO NOT recommend Key Bank. Gah, I hate Key Bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By Kkeroack Jan 21, 2017

    Unacceptable service

    I am a former First Niagara customer who was never mailed a welcome kit, which was just the start of this horrific journey with Key Bank. Here it is about 4 months later and I still have not received the welcome kit. Because of that, I had no idea my bank was even changing, never mind not knowing about my account being frozen on the weekend of the transition. I couldn't access my money for days and no one cares that I wasn't informed. I wrote to the corporate office a number of times (because you can't call them....seriously?) -'d it takes weeks for them to get back to me. Their first response was an apology with a $50 gift card offer, and that was almost 2 months ago and I haven't seen it yet! They wrote to me about 3 weeks after saying they would mail it to ask if my address changed because the fist card was returned. I told them it is the SAME address they print on my checks and charge me for! They came back with "oops, we were kissing a digit in your zip code". So here I am about a month and a half later and still no card. And I once again asked for my welcome kit. At this point they should be sending me more than $50 for all my inconvenience. Recently I deposited a very large check, now with First Niagara it would have cleared the next day. But no, Key Bank allowed me access to $100 right away (big deal) and another $5,000 the following Wednesday and then I can access the rest the following Wednesday. What in earth is that? Apparently it's their "policy" but it seems like they don't have enough money to just cash my check in full. So I once again wrote to corporate with no response. I work for a large company and I would NEVER treat my customers like this! This is unacceptable and I'm leaving his bank the first chance I get! I'm so disappointed that I have had to work harder at remaining a Key Bank customer, than they worked to try and keep me. Oh, by the way...I still have not record my welcome kit which was all I ever really wanted!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.