B+ MyBankTracker Rating

KeyBank Customer Reviews

(128 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 7
1 Star 115

The Most Helpful KeyBank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By WfitzJfitz Jan 21, 2016

Personal Banker Experience

I would like to recognize an exemplary Personal Banker Laura Pataki. at the Concord Township Ohio Branch
On Dec 18th 2015 both my checking / Debit and my Savings Accounts were compromised
I received a phone call from Key bank Friday evening at 7:30 pm advising me about the transactions and I went into the Branch the next morning Dec. 19 Saturday and Laura had the information and was waiting for me stating that she was just getting ready to call me.
Laura was professional, knowledgeable, service orientated to resolve the situation. Over the next two months Laura continued to help walk me through the steps monitoring the investigation by Key Bank, providing me with temporary checks, walking me through the steps of closing my old accounts and opening a new Checking account and saving account along with a Key Credit Card.
Laura was efficient in transferring the funds from the old to the new and monitoring the funds that were put on hold and eventually seeing that they properly got transferred. “In addition she monitored direct deposits that were sent to the old account and transfer those funds.
I have been in the business world for over 40 years and Laura certainly ranks as one of the best Personal Banker encountered. Efficient, great follow through, patient to explain what was going on and very helpful in recommending new more stringent security measure that I could take to strengthen the Security of my Account.
Laura was always cheerful and happy to see me when I came into the Branch and was professional and energized when she had to contact me by phone.
I remain a Key Bank customer because of Laura and her service.
Please recognize Laura for her extraordinary service rendered during a time that was exceptional stressful and concerning for myself and my Wife.
I extend a sincere THANK YOU!
Peace
William and May Jean Fitzgerald

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Mcjr Feb 27, 2016

Thieves in bank's clothing

Something is wrong when you put money in a bank for safe keeping only to have the bank turn around and steal money from you under the guise of fees. Although I've been a good customer for many years, Key bank stole money out of my account through multiple ridiculous fees that I could never make up in interest and slapped me in the face with terrible customer service when I complained about it. I couldn't get my money out fast enough out of fear they would steal more?

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest KeyBank Reviews

  • M
    Reviewed By Mtara11 Dec 7, 2016

    Key bank frustrations

    I was patient when First Niagra switched to key bank however it's been quite a while since everything switched and I have nothing but trouble. My ATM never works causing something that should take 2 min to take over a half hour of waiting in a line full of other frustrated customers. Mobile banking also hasn't worked for weeks...when I called customer service to let them know they told me it was my error not theirs. I called back 3 days later to let know it still doesn't work and it's not my error to be told that they just reported it the day before despite me calling 3 days prior. Not one person has been helpful for the sole reason is there is nothing that they can do. Key bank should have considered all of these things before inconveniencing tons of people. If things are not fixed by the start of the new year I will get a new bank because key bank obviously has alot to learn about banking

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mgbiebel Nov 3, 2016

    Wish I could rate less than one star

    The transition from First Niagara has been a nightmare. Where I used to be able to access five accounts by logging on once, I was shocked when I logged onto Key Bank and found that three accounts had disappeared. I tried to reactivate my business account and found the last step required speaking to a customer service person. After being on hold for 90 minutes, the system hung up on me. Then I drove to my local branch and learned that the computer system was down. I called back and ultimately spoke with someone. At this point, my online business account was activated and I tried to transfer funds to my personal account, which is how I pay myself. This had to be approved by the Key Bank system and took a full week. I am the sole owner of the business and couldn't even transfer funds from me to me. I am still trying to access the other two accounts, a non-profit for which I serve as Treasurer. Shocking. I am moving all five accounts to a more customer-friendly bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Sashprd58 Oct 27, 2016

    Disgusted

    Since the merger with First Niagara Bank I have had nothing but problems. It started with the interface with Quicken which was not allowed to update its records for over 2 months and so I finally opened an account in Mint. This worked fine until the actual merger was in effect but now there is no updating with Mint. I tried to set on-line banking with Key to no avail and to further upset me I tried to do it via the phone which is a problem as I have asthma and severe COPD so it is hard for me to speak for any length of time and it was to no avail. So here I sit without access to my account on-line and since I have no car and cannot drive due to vision problems, I cannot access my account unless I can get someone to drive me to the bank which does not have friendly banking hours; ie, not open on Thurs. evening like First Niagara was. Come this Saturday I will be withdrawing most all of my money and opening an account with another bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Monty Oct 25, 2016

    Emptied deployed veterans account with no use fees

    Well deployed racked up nonuse fees on my account until it was in the negative, then had the nerve to charge me to close my account when they wouldn't reimburse me.
    Way to go treat your customers and especially your vets.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By thirteen369 Oct 19, 2016

    Worst Takeover EVER

    Key Bank took over First Niagra Bank 10 days. We had our business account, personal account, mortgage and home equity line of credit all with First Niagra. I could go online and manage all the accounts with one log in. Since the takeover, my banking world was upside down. Although after having to register twice to set up my personal account I could see the mortgage/loans and the house accounts, the business account was missing. I was informed I had to open a KOB account and then we could merge all the accounts. Because I could not get my business account enrolled online (because of a missing zero that doesn't exist on my tax ID)I could not get into my business account since the merger. After three trips to my branch (which are all wonderful people who tried their best), and several phone calls from me and them, we got the business account set up only to find their information can't be put into one account. And if I do a transfer from one account to the other online, it will take up to 4 days to go through. If it wasn't for the people at that branch, I would take all my business elsewhere. This bank started as a little local bank that has been through at least 5 takeovers in the past 18 years we've been using them. All the others went smoothly and the takeover was barely noticeable. Just a name change. I don't know how much worse everyday banking will be, but at this point, I spent more time at the bank this week than I have in the last two years.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By saddened Oct 18, 2016

    Horrible transition from First Niagara - questionable morals of support staff

    Former First Niagara customer. Direct deposit of paycheck was not showing up in online banking as it should. After spending two days, two hours each day, on the phone with 5 different KeyBank representatives I am told that there was a widespread issue and that it would be taken care of as soon as possible. This means I currently have no access to my money and no timetable to know when I might be able to access it. This is after being told first that the issue was my employer (not true), then that the account did not allow direct deposit (again not true). Not sure how this is legal or ethical for a company to misrepresent the problem and essentially lock up my access to my paycheck. Was initially willing to give them a chance, but have now lost confidence in KeyBank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pzdof Oct 16, 2016

    Took over my bank.

    They changed the permissions to allow overdrafting on my account and now want to charge me a fee.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By katalinmurphy Oct 13, 2016

    Bad customer service issue not resolved after 2 days

    Transition of credit card not resolved in 2 days from First Niagara to Key. First told declined due to out of town travel. Then told declined due to late pay. Then told payment not applied due to change over. Spent at least 5 hours in 2 days on phone with different reps and card still not fixed. Told at 2pm will call back in an hour that can use card and then told at 4pm still discussing issue and will call me. Second call I spent 1 hour of which 1/2 hour on hold.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CTazim Oct 13, 2016

    Horrible Transition yields horrible wait time

    I can tell you this much that CEO Beth Mooney is one unqualified individual. She appointed Grogan to head the transition of First Niagara to Key Bank. A complete failure on her part and even a bigger failure. I personally don't know Grogan's qualification- but I can tell you based on the receiving end of his leadership as a customer of First Niagara- He has NO CLUE. He doesn't have any idea- he has all the wrong people working. There is a concept called garbage in, garbage out. Everytime we are calling the support center the wait is more than 1 hour. But the fact that Key's mobile apps are absolute piece of crap leads me to believe a) they don't have the basic knowledge of investigating industry best practices b) learn which banks have successfully integrated online and mobile banking. You need to hire the right people to get the job done. Apparently at Key Bank it is all mediocre. Key Bank holds the key to all your miseries.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hootie00 Oct 13, 2016

    They are actually worse than First Niagara

    My first interaction with the bank is trying to log into the new online banking. The first time I tried the entire system was down. It seems they were just not prepared for the all the customers coming over from First Niagara. Tried the next day to login. I was sent to the one time set up. Immediately, I am asked to enter my full SSN in order to verify my account. Every security site in the free world tells you, never put your full SSN on line. But you cannot log in without entering full SSN. So I do. I then go through the full process and enter my user ID and Password. I'm told the user ID already in use. So I pick a new user ID. Now I'm ready to log in right? Guess again. The system will not let me log in. I try everything, forgot password, forgot user ID. Nothing works. Eventually I am told I need to run set up again. Which I do. This time the new user ID I have is in use. Of course it's in use I just selected it 20 minutes ago. The system knows the user ID is in use but will not let me log in.
    So now the calls to customer service. I am immediately told the wait time is more than one hour. Guess everyone is having the same problem. Great system you guys worked out. Anyway, I wait. And I wait and I wait... almost 2 hours later, I'm still waiting. I can't wait anymore and hang up. I try again to day. I'm told the wait will be 10 minutes. 25 minutes later still not answer. I have just given up. It will be quicker to transfer my accounts to a new back. This time one that does not take fees just for taking your money.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.