B+ MyBankTracker Rating

KeyBank Customer Reviews

(124 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 7
1 Star 111

The Most Helpful KeyBank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By WfitzJfitz Jan 21, 2016

Personal Banker Experience

I would like to recognize an exemplary Personal Banker Laura Pataki. at the Concord Township Ohio Branch
On Dec 18th 2015 both my checking / Debit and my Savings Accounts were compromised
I received a phone call from Key bank Friday evening at 7:30 pm advising me about the transactions and I went into the Branch the next morning Dec. 19 Saturday and Laura had the information and was waiting for me stating that she was just getting ready to call me.
Laura was professional, knowledgeable, service orientated to resolve the situation. Over the next two months Laura continued to help walk me through the steps monitoring the investigation by Key Bank, providing me with temporary checks, walking me through the steps of closing my old accounts and opening a new Checking account and saving account along with a Key Credit Card.
Laura was efficient in transferring the funds from the old to the new and monitoring the funds that were put on hold and eventually seeing that they properly got transferred. “In addition she monitored direct deposits that were sent to the old account and transfer those funds.
I have been in the business world for over 40 years and Laura certainly ranks as one of the best Personal Banker encountered. Efficient, great follow through, patient to explain what was going on and very helpful in recommending new more stringent security measure that I could take to strengthen the Security of my Account.
Laura was always cheerful and happy to see me when I came into the Branch and was professional and energized when she had to contact me by phone.
I remain a Key Bank customer because of Laura and her service.
Please recognize Laura for her extraordinary service rendered during a time that was exceptional stressful and concerning for myself and my Wife.
I extend a sincere THANK YOU!
William and May Jean Fitzgerald

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Mcjr Feb 27, 2016

Thieves in bank's clothing

Something is wrong when you put money in a bank for safe keeping only to have the bank turn around and steal money from you under the guise of fees. Although I've been a good customer for many years, Key bank stole money out of my account through multiple ridiculous fees that I could never make up in interest and slapped me in the face with terrible customer service when I complained about it. I couldn't get my money out fast enough out of fear they would steal more?

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest KeyBank Reviews

  • T
    Reviewed By thirteen369 Oct 19, 2016

    Worst Takeover EVER

    Key Bank took over First Niagra Bank 10 days. We had our business account, personal account, mortgage and home equity line of credit all with First Niagra. I could go online and manage all the accounts with one log in. Since the takeover, my banking world was upside down. Although after having to register twice to set up my personal account I could see the mortgage/loans and the house accounts, the business account was missing. I was informed I had to open a KOB account and then we could merge all the accounts. Because I could not get my business account enrolled online (because of a missing zero that doesn't exist on my tax ID)I could not get into my business account since the merger. After three trips to my branch (which are all wonderful people who tried their best), and several phone calls from me and them, we got the business account set up only to find their information can't be put into one account. And if I do a transfer from one account to the other online, it will take up to 4 days to go through. If it wasn't for the people at that branch, I would take all my business elsewhere. This bank started as a little local bank that has been through at least 5 takeovers in the past 18 years we've been using them. All the others went smoothly and the takeover was barely noticeable. Just a name change. I don't know how much worse everyday banking will be, but at this point, I spent more time at the bank this week than I have in the last two years.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By saddened Oct 18, 2016

    Horrible transition from First Niagara - questionable morals of support staff

    Former First Niagara customer. Direct deposit of paycheck was not showing up in online banking as it should. After spending two days, two hours each day, on the phone with 5 different KeyBank representatives I am told that there was a widespread issue and that it would be taken care of as soon as possible. This means I currently have no access to my money and no timetable to know when I might be able to access it. This is after being told first that the issue was my employer (not true), then that the account did not allow direct deposit (again not true). Not sure how this is legal or ethical for a company to misrepresent the problem and essentially lock up my access to my paycheck. Was initially willing to give them a chance, but have now lost confidence in KeyBank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pzdof Oct 16, 2016

    Took over my bank.

    They changed the permissions to allow overdrafting on my account and now want to charge me a fee.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By katalinmurphy Oct 13, 2016

    Bad customer service issue not resolved after 2 days

    Transition of credit card not resolved in 2 days from First Niagara to Key. First told declined due to out of town travel. Then told declined due to late pay. Then told payment not applied due to change over. Spent at least 5 hours in 2 days on phone with different reps and card still not fixed. Told at 2pm will call back in an hour that can use card and then told at 4pm still discussing issue and will call me. Second call I spent 1 hour of which 1/2 hour on hold.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • C
    Reviewed By CTazim Oct 13, 2016

    Horrible Transition yields horrible wait time

    I can tell you this much that CEO Beth Mooney is one unqualified individual. She appointed Grogan to head the transition of First Niagara to Key Bank. A complete failure on her part and even a bigger failure. I personally don't know Grogan's qualification- but I can tell you based on the receiving end of his leadership as a customer of First Niagara- He has NO CLUE. He doesn't have any idea- he has all the wrong people working. There is a concept called garbage in, garbage out. Everytime we are calling the support center the wait is more than 1 hour. But the fact that Key's mobile apps are absolute piece of crap leads me to believe a) they don't have the basic knowledge of investigating industry best practices b) learn which banks have successfully integrated online and mobile banking. You need to hire the right people to get the job done. Apparently at Key Bank it is all mediocre. Key Bank holds the key to all your miseries.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • H
    Reviewed By hootie00 Oct 13, 2016

    They are actually worse than First Niagara

    My first interaction with the bank is trying to log into the new online banking. The first time I tried the entire system was down. It seems they were just not prepared for the all the customers coming over from First Niagara. Tried the next day to login. I was sent to the one time set up. Immediately, I am asked to enter my full SSN in order to verify my account. Every security site in the free world tells you, never put your full SSN on line. But you cannot log in without entering full SSN. So I do. I then go through the full process and enter my user ID and Password. I'm told the user ID already in use. So I pick a new user ID. Now I'm ready to log in right? Guess again. The system will not let me log in. I try everything, forgot password, forgot user ID. Nothing works. Eventually I am told I need to run set up again. Which I do. This time the new user ID I have is in use. Of course it's in use I just selected it 20 minutes ago. The system knows the user ID is in use but will not let me log in.
    So now the calls to customer service. I am immediately told the wait time is more than one hour. Guess everyone is having the same problem. Great system you guys worked out. Anyway, I wait. And I wait and I wait... almost 2 hours later, I'm still waiting. I can't wait anymore and hang up. I try again to day. I'm told the wait will be 10 minutes. 25 minutes later still not answer. I have just given up. It will be quicker to transfer my accounts to a new back. This time one that does not take fees just for taking your money.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MBH Oct 13, 2016

    key Bank bought my bank

    Key Bank just purchased my bank. At this point, I would not even give Key Bank 1 star. They are HORRIBLE!! I am unable to access my accounts (2 personal, 1 business) online, my accounting program is no longer synced with my bank account and no one can help me! I have spent HOURS on the phone with these people! No one seems able to help. Phone wait times exceed an hour! Needless to say, since switching was not done by my choice, I am taking all of my money out of that bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Madhoosudan Sep 2, 2016

    Checking account

    (6th and Peoria branch, Denver, CO) Worst experience I have ever got from any financial institution for a simple process of account opening. No co-ordination between the information given by telephone representative and the representative at branch. I had to suffer a big loss because I choose to open the account in the bank. No one takes responsibility here..everyone pushes on other person...I will not recommend this bank ever to anyone.....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MsB2099 Aug 24, 2016

    Key Bank is Prime for another LawSuit

    I should have known something was wrong with this bank two years ago when I opened an account and the bank personnel asked if I wanted to transfer the balance from my Capital One card to a Key Bank credit card. I told her NO! I did not want a Key Bank credit card, I probably would not qualify and I also did not want a hard pull on my credit report at that time because I was trying to raise my credit score. A few days later, this woman calls me back to report that I did not qualify for a card at that time. I checked my credit report on-line and indeed, Key Bank had done a hard inquiry on my credit without my permission. With their fees, posting practices, etc. Key Bank has become obvious to me that Key Bank is nothing more than a scam posing as a bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By pfuller Jul 30, 2016

    Poor and Indifferent Customer Service

    On Friday, July 29th about 5:30pm, I brought my paycheck into the Keizer Station Key bank to be cashed. Though I do not have a Key bank account, I have cashed it there during the last year as my employer uses Key bank and their check is issued using Key bank. In the past, for a $5 fee, they have allowed me to cash my check using two pieces of identification. I have always used my drivers license and private health insurance card. On this occasion, however, the young man refused to honor my insurance card as proof of identification. He wanted me to open a "no hassle" account which would allow key bank to waive the check cashing fee. I declined and asked if another ID could suffice--AAA card, social security card,etc. He laughed.

    He requested another bank card, visa, master card, employee ID card, or passport. I explained that my employer does not make employee ID cards available and that I was in chapter 13 bankruptcy. I have cancer and my wife lives in a state of permanent heart failure so we have many medical bills. Our court appointed trustee does not allow us to have credit cards. Regarding bank cards, I have a difficult time trusting banks.In 2010 we lost our home in the great recession due to Bank of Americas mishandling of our refinance for a modified loan. This nationwide mishandling of thousands was featured on a national news show. The day after we lost our home, the Federal government froze all modified loans from Bank of America. We were part of a class action suit and, along with many others, were awarded $2000, but that was little comfort for losing our children s childhood home located on the same cul-de-sac as our extended family., This Key bank teller finally allowed me to cash my paycheck this one last time and insisted it would not be cashed in the future without complying to their new rules.

    The indifference of this bank teller toward my situation and his condescending attitude left me feeling foolish. His use of my plight as an opportunity to "sell" me another bank account left me feeling angry. His lack of empathy for those who experienced difficulty during the great recession is perhaps indicative of the reason that people like Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders find such a receptive audience of people who applaud the idea of breaking up big banks.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.