A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

(401 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 37
4 Star 24
3 Star 18
2 Star 71
1 Star 251

The Most Helpful Ally Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By bankaman60 Jan 17, 2015

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Scofam Jul 21, 2015

Warning!!! Do not lease with this company!!! We were stolen from!

I cosigned for my daughter to lease a Jeep. She leased it and let the Jeep dealership know she wanted to purchase it at the end of the lease.
On Father's day someone ran a red light and hit her. She rolled a few times. She is still sore and has some issues but she is alive.
She had about five months left in the lease. The buy-out at the end was $22,000.00.
The insurance company is offering the current value of the Jeep which is well above the buy-out price. Ally is demanding ALL of the money from our insurance company, not just what was owed and the residual.
My insurance company said they have never experienced the problems they are having with Ally, nor have the ever heard of a finance company not giving the payoff amount but demanding all of the insurance money.
I contacted the dealership and spoke with the head of finance. He said in 30 years he's never heard of a company doing this.
Warning...READ THE FIND PRINT! Do not trust Ally...they are in now way your ally.

Never again!

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Ally Bank Reviews

  •  
    J
    Reviewed By Jmstar May 18, 2017

    Useless and insulting customer service

    Be warned that some of the bills in bill pay allow rush service and some don't. If you are just assuming that pay as soon as possible means pay at the earliest with no additional cost rush service you will be mistaken in some cases but not others. The notification of an additional fee is placed under the field you have entered previously, not the date field. Furthermore after clicking submit, their buggy website gives an error that the payment didn't go through (Status not available). Calling the customer service within seconds after this has occurred informs you that they can not do anything and that you are an idiot for not noticing there would be an additional fee since it was indicated if you knew where to look. They are notified immediately and refuse to cancel it. Completely unhelpful and a cheap money grab. There are enough internet banks with equal or better terms, better ATM reimbursement to not deal with this sort of insult. Go elsewhere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Sblystone Apr 22, 2017

    Ally has been horrible

    Ally has repeatedly lied to me. They call and harass me about 8 times each day. You have a ten day grace period window and they still call and harass even after you make payment arrangements. I was told they were gonna rewrite my loan. Paid them 1500$ to get sent to rewrite department because my payments were late just for them to tell me I need an 09 or newer vehicle and mines an 07. I have filed disputes with my credit report and we are going on two months they haven't even looked at it yet. I asked for late fee to be waived once in 3 years and they tell me they have waived it numerous times. I never asked them to waive it but once so that's on them and when I actually need help they won't do it. Never in my life with I use these people again. They are truely a nightmare!!!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Bonnifer Apr 10, 2017

    Don't use Ally banking!

    I have been with Ally for a year and it has been okay until now. I am not the greatest with math. With my tax refund, I was able to pay several small bills off. Apparently, I got a bit excited about it and miscalculated. Account is overdrawn by less than $100. I deposited my paycheck on Friday but had an email stating that there is a 5 day hold on it because my account is overdrawn. I called and was told the same thing and they refuse to do anything.
    I kindly explained to them that I am trying to deposit money to fix the issue, but they are keeping it from happening. Also explained that because they are an online only bank, I can't exactly bring in cash to fix the issue either.
    "Sorry ma'am. You have a 5 day hold on your paycheck and there is nothing we can do."
    I advised them that I will be bank hunting.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    D
    Reviewed By djohn Apr 6, 2017

    Bad Experience using Ally for a lease.

    Ally advertises they are an internet bank because there are no branches. I'm totally fine with internet banking. But Ally uses that to take advantage of customers. Even though I had auto payment set up with my bank to make my lease payment to them. They would send me annual tax bills and tell me my choice to pay was either to mail a check or to pay $20 to do a phone payment. Yes $20 do do a simple payment. They charged $10 then they process through Western Union as a cash advance which costs another $10. That is by far the worse experience I have ever had with "Online Banking". In addition when I would call to complain about their decades old process of snail mail I would get a phone rep from half-way around the world. Granted they did the best they could do but are given no authority to actually help. I don't know how you can call yourself an internet bank but require me to mail you a check. Goodness I don't use checks, my grandma does. Ally please get with the times or quit raping your customers with huge payment processing charges. It costs pennies to process payments online.

    Another disappointment was when I returned the car. When I signed the lease I was clearly told that I would be able to have a person come to my house and do an inspection, then give me a chance to fix any issues or pay them to fix any issue. Well when I needed to turn in the car they sent me a little do it yourself kit and told me if in doubt just fix or replace. Then I have to turn the car in and hope they don't send me a bill. I asked how long it would take for them to do the inspection and send a bill for anything they didn't like. They said if I don't get a bill in the next 30-60 I should be fine. Wow.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By KellyDubois44 Mar 30, 2017

    The low customer rating on this bank is ridiculous.

    This is a great bank. Fast transactions. Good website. Highest interest rates available in online banking. It's a scandal that this website has Ally rated with such a low customer experience. Don't believe it! (Notice all other ratings are all 5s?)

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By scottschenck Mar 27, 2017

    Useless customer service; disorganized

    2 weeks ago, there was a fraudulent attempt at taking money out of my account, so it was suspended along with my online access and debit card. I called the main number and they sent me a new debit card and unlocked my online access. Yesterday however, I found my online access once again blocked and my debit card declined. I called the fraud dept. and she asked me the standard "security" questions- she said the college I said I went to was not what she had and that I took too long to answer her questions and I would have to send a copy of my driver's license, social security card, and a recent utility bill. I sent it to their email address, but apparently they went home for the night so I have to wait until tomorrow. I only went to one college so how could my answer be wrong? And I was too slow in answering her? WTF I've been with them for about 5 years and as soon as this is resolved I'm taking out my money and going somewhere else!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Butch Mar 19, 2017

    Awful programmers

    It is very disturbing that Ally blocks debit card purchases from an Asian grocery store in New York. Also, I recently got my new debit card, and the address in Ally's reverted to an old PO box. Three online purchases were refused because of a different ZIP code. It was painful trying to get this straightened out. Not pleased with this bank at all. I only switched to Ally when ING was sold to Capital One.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By pamgreen88 Mar 11, 2017

    EXCELLENT BANK for the Simple Stuff

    I had to write a review on here after viewing the SLEW of negative comments. I have been with Ally for over 4 years, and I have no complaints with this company. Granted, I solely use this bank for debit and savings...but it has been an amazing experience thus far. Customer Service has always been a doll.

    The only issue I have is that it takes too many days to transfer into and out of my account, but thats a far cry as compared to what I receive from this bank: free ATM withdrawls, high interests debit, high interest savings... theres no match. I'm one step away from closing all of my other accounts. Literally, one step.

    Love love love ALLY.
    Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Anothermadconsumer Mar 8, 2017

    Most incompetent group of people all assembeled in one place

    If you like to be on hold for hours, this is the company to call. After which they will have no answers for you. One simple task, endorse the check my insurance company sent me with them as a named party. First they sent it back to the insurance company, along with my cover letter explaining what their role was. The thought of calling me for clarification never entered their mind.
    Round Two. I get a replacement check from the insurance company, over night it to the " supervisor" who is going expedite. Ha! when I called her after it arrived she said we have five days to turn it around. I then reminded her of the time they have already squandered, she said she would look into it. So at exactly five days I get a voicemail from an office drone to call. one hour on hold, she is un reachable. Back to the helpful "supervisor" who explains to me there is still a balance at the repair shop, so they can't endorse the check and send it back to me. (no kidding, a balance at the place where the check is supposed to go, imagine that). I ask to talk to her boss, who does return my call, however he can't seem to grasp why there is still a balance at the repair shop. So here we are in a "catch 22" with no resolution on the horizon.
    I have never seen incompetence so rampant, I am surprised this company is still in business.
    If anyone wants the phone numbers of these managers here they are, they can't help you but at least you won't be on hold.
    Sharron the "supervisor" 904 370 1805
    Chris Marquez "operations manager" 904-370 1808, he is so important he has a second # 904 485 1342
    Good luck!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By allyisnoally Mar 3, 2017

    Run. Run as fast as you can away from this bank.

    Let's start with a request. Is there a way for me to post negative stars, e.g., -5 stars? The one star I give this sad excuse for a bank is only because I need to give at least one star to post this review. I financed a car with Ally. I sold the car and mailed a CASHIER'S check (which means nothing to these clowns) via express mail. Ally said they processed the payment the day the payment was received. Wrong! They took three business days to process the payment. The account showed a zero balance on day four. Ally said in three separate phone calls the title would be mailed to my home address and that it would take THREE TO FIVE BUSINESS DAYS after payoff was confirmed (I requested they express mail it to me at my expense, but they don't allow that). That was two weeks ago and still no title. NEVER DEAL WITH THIS BANK. NO CONCERN FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.