A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

(378 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 35
4 Star 24
3 Star 18
2 Star 69
1 Star 232

The Most Helpful Ally Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By bankaman60 Jan 17, 2015

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Scofam Jul 21, 2015

Warning!!! Do not lease with this company!!! We were stolen from!

I cosigned for my daughter to lease a Jeep. She leased it and let the Jeep dealership know she wanted to purchase it at the end of the lease.
On Father's day someone ran a red light and hit her. She rolled a few times. She is still sore and has some issues but she is alive.
She had about five months left in the lease. The buy-out at the end was $22,000.00.
The insurance company is offering the current value of the Jeep which is well above the buy-out price. Ally is demanding ALL of the money from our insurance company, not just what was owed and the residual.
My insurance company said they have never experienced the problems they are having with Ally, nor have the ever heard of a finance company not giving the payoff amount but demanding all of the insurance money.
I contacted the dealership and spoke with the head of finance. He said in 30 years he's never heard of a company doing this.
Warning...READ THE FIND PRINT! Do not trust Ally...they are in now way your ally.

Never again!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Ally Bank Reviews

  • A
    Reviewed By awh5295 Oct 20, 2016

    Basically ALLY BANK has a quota of accounts of minority ethnicities.

    Ask for Lance Gregory ( exec resolution spec) tell him you was discriminated against and he will re-open your account. They are the worse company to bank with if you are black or spanish.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By linda10978 Oct 15, 2016



    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By KingChupes Oct 9, 2016

    S.O.L. While you they perform updates

    Review is for an Ally checking account. Have had their savings account for years and been very happy with it. I ditched BOA after being with them for 15 years about 6 months ago and opened checking at Ally. It was all good until I needed to transfer money into checking from savings due to an unexpected expense. I woke up around 6 am on a Saturday and tried to do it. It said the system was updating and to check back in a few minutes. Long story short it wasn't back up until later in the day sunday. When I called they said I could still use my card but they did not have any account specific information. I asked if I could make a transfer over the phone and they said no. When I asked what options I had they said I just had to wait until the update was complete... of course being an online bank there's nowhere I could make a cash deposit to add to my checking. I thought I'd make a wire transfer but they said they don't accept those. It was everything that could go wrong at the same time. The thing that really got me was that the bank itself couldn't access my account while the app was down. That did not make me at all comfortable. They are basically Cylons. Great savings apy rates. Terrible real world banking sense. I am back to brick and mortar.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Samson913 Oct 1, 2016

    Terrible timing and incompetence

    Ally upgrades their system at the end/beginning of the month when most people check balances, has problems, and is down all day ? What incompetence. Maybe they've been hacked. I don't know, but I'll be closing my retirement and savings accounts out and moving them to a more stable and secure bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • Z
    Reviewed By ZJbsen Sep 22, 2016

    Lied to, and account closed without any explanation. Don't buy the online "reviews"!

    I banked with Ally for a few years, and I'll be the first to say they offer good features and did some things right. Out of nowhere I received a letter in the mail saying my checking and savings account would be closed in 30 days, with no explanation. I called to find out more, and all they would tell me was that I violated the deposit agreement. When I asked specifically what I did, no one would provide me an answer, but a rep did say that the issue was with my accounts, not with me as a customer, and that I should be fine just creating new accounts in place of the accounts closing. I created new accounts, and of course thirty days later, my original accounts AND new accounts were all closed. I called Ally again asking for an explanation and again, all they said was violation of deposit agreement, and that they would never do business with me again. I still don't know what I did to have this happen; the only thing I can think of is I made a few wire transfers to a commodities exchange where I do some small trading for fun. If this is illegal, PLEASE make it crystal clear in your terms and conditions. This is for fun and not a business, and certainly not illegal.

    I'm convinced most of the top reviews out there for Ally are cooked (maybe they're the next Wells Fargo?); they're just not that good. Don't bank with them. They'll offer you some features and a neat app, but it's not really "your" account, it's their account, and they'll kick you out without any explanation or decent customer service. Don't believe the hype and take your money elsewhere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • R
    Reviewed By RmB Sep 17, 2016

    They treat you like a number

    Was not approved for an account. Iv been with my currant bank for 15 years, and they would`nt approve my account. I was told it was because I was just too poor and could`nt be trusted.

    I`ll never use them, they are rude, judgmental and in the end, you are just a number to them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mightybird Sep 15, 2016

    Ally double debited my primary account

    Thanks to Ally I bounced my first check and have an overdrawn primary account until sometime next week. Here is what happened: I opened an online savings account with Ally based on NerdWallet's good review and the 1% interest. I set up the account, used the verification system a few days later to verify my primary bank account. Once it was verified, I transferred $15k into the Ally savings account from my primary bank. I received a confirmation email from Ally for the transfer. Two days later I went to use my debit card for my primary bank at the coffee shop and it was declined. I went straight to the bank to discover I was 9k overdrawn. There was not one transfer initiated for the 15k, but two, a day apart. I called Ally and asked them to cancel the second transfer immediately and was told by a stumbling account rep that he could not stop the second transfer because it was already in progress. Then I asked to return the first transfer immediately. And he said he couldn't do that either because it was still being held and wouldn't clear until Friday. So I am left with 1) no money, 2) checks written against the money they took without authorization and 3) overdraft fees on my overdrawn primary bank account. They were completely unsympathetic and useless as far as helping me. As soon as the money clears I am returning all of it to my primary bank and closing the account. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lmnscn Sep 10, 2016

    Worst Ever Banking Experience Ever

    When buying the RV new at the dealership, loan arrangements with Ally Bank were made in an hour. When selling the RV as a private seller to a private buyer it was an absolute nightmare of ineptitude, inefficiency, and complete absence of caring for the individual customer. The transaction took over two months to be almost completed, but even then the transfer of title has yet to be properly performed. Thanks to the buyers patience, the sale went through
    My hope is that this experience and review will prevent others from ever considering Ally Bank. Incidentally, there is absolutely no way to complain to anyone with authority at this institution. All initial contact was outsourced to a foreign country and only if you complained bitterly were you transferred to someone in the United States. Even then, you won't find any source to register complaints to higher management via mail, phone or email and no request for that information is honored.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By lamgiang19912000 Sep 9, 2016


    I recently purchased a car through financing with Ally Bank thinking I would be able to pay the loan all off before my first car payment is due. However, I have had a bad experience trying schedule payments to pay the loan off. I could not believe that Ally Bank already charged me a finance charge on the same day that I have already scheduled my payoff payment. I have sent them a message asking to have the finance charge written off since I paid the loan off on time, but nobody responded to my message so I called them. When I talked to them on the phone, I explained that the payoff balance I saw online was the payment I made on the same day but the next day I still see a balance with the finance charge already accrued. Despite the fact that they can charge a finance charge, they should have applied my payment already. I asked them to have the finance charge written off, but they wouldn't so I went ahead a paid the finance charge as well. I would not ever do business with this bank again. I won't recommend anyone doing any financing with this bank neither.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LostMustang76 Sep 8, 2016

    These people are thieves!

    Do not, I repeat, DO NOT do business with this company! Ally is formally know as GMAC. They are known to be dishonest and crooks. Had a car seized by them 4 days before the note was due. Spent $1,200.00 on repo costs and had to pay over the phone to them when I had a direct deposit in place. Horrible Company! Can't understand how they are still in business!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.