A+ MyBankTracker Rating

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

(395 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 36
4 Star 24
3 Star 18
2 Star 71
1 Star 246

The Most Helpful Ally Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By bankaman60 Jan 17, 2015

Five stars by any measure

I'm confused about the the three-star rating when most of the reviews give a glowing five-stars - maybe there were a few folks who gave one star and that dragged it down? Anyway, as most people have noted, Ally is clearly the best way to go for online banking; and for those who are put off by the lack of brick-and-mortar locations, try thinking of banking differently. If you own a smartphone and a computer, there is absolutely no reason to "go to the bank"! Everything you might ever need to do can be done online and/or on the phone. Ally's phone reps are terrific - smart and patient, knowledgable about the products, and speak clear English (and possibly Spanish as well - I haven't checked). The no fee ATM feature is for real, and it's so convenient. It's also awfully nice to get nearly 1% interest on your savings account when virtually all the other banks give you next to nothing (like .005% or some nonsense, which is effectively zero). You even earn a bit on your checking account. No minimum balances, great online and mobile banking interfaces, great customer service: a winning formula, to be sure.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Scofam Jul 21, 2015

Warning!!! Do not lease with this company!!! We were stolen from!

I cosigned for my daughter to lease a Jeep. She leased it and let the Jeep dealership know she wanted to purchase it at the end of the lease.
On Father's day someone ran a red light and hit her. She rolled a few times. She is still sore and has some issues but she is alive.
She had about five months left in the lease. The buy-out at the end was $22,000.00.
The insurance company is offering the current value of the Jeep which is well above the buy-out price. Ally is demanding ALL of the money from our insurance company, not just what was owed and the residual.
My insurance company said they have never experienced the problems they are having with Ally, nor have the ever heard of a finance company not giving the payoff amount but demanding all of the insurance money.
I contacted the dealership and spoke with the head of finance. He said in 30 years he's never heard of a company doing this.
Warning...READ THE FIND PRINT! Do not trust Ally...they are in now way your ally.

Never again!

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Ally Bank Reviews

  •  
    S
    Reviewed By scottschenck Mar 27, 2017

    Useless customer service; disorganized

    2 weeks ago, there was a fraudulent attempt at taking money out of my account, so it was suspended along with my online access and debit card. I called the main number and they sent me a new debit card and unlocked my online access. Yesterday however, I found my online access once again blocked and my debit card declined. I called the fraud dept. and she asked me the standard "security" questions- she said the college I said I went to was not what she had and that I took too long to answer her questions and I would have to send a copy of my driver's license, social security card, and a recent utility bill. I sent it to their email address, but apparently they went home for the night so I have to wait until tomorrow. I only went to one college so how could my answer be wrong? And I was too slow in answering her? WTF I've been with them for about 5 years and as soon as this is resolved I'm taking out my money and going somewhere else!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Butch Mar 19, 2017

    Awful programmers

    It is very disturbing that Ally blocks debit card purchases from an Asian grocery store in New York. Also, I recently got my new debit card, and the address in Ally's reverted to an old PO box. Three online purchases were refused because of a different ZIP code. It was painful trying to get this straightened out. Not pleased with this bank at all. I only switched to Ally when ING was sold to Capital One.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By pamgreen88 Mar 11, 2017

    EXCELLENT BANK for the Simple Stuff

    I had to write a review on here after viewing the SLEW of negative comments. I have been with Ally for over 4 years, and I have no complaints with this company. Granted, I solely use this bank for debit and savings...but it has been an amazing experience thus far. Customer Service has always been a doll.

    The only issue I have is that it takes too many days to transfer into and out of my account, but thats a far cry as compared to what I receive from this bank: free ATM withdrawls, high interests debit, high interest savings... theres no match. I'm one step away from closing all of my other accounts. Literally, one step.

    Love love love ALLY.
    Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By Anothermadconsumer Mar 8, 2017

    Most incompetent group of people all assembeled in one place

    If you like to be on hold for hours, this is the company to call. After which they will have no answers for you. One simple task, endorse the check my insurance company sent me with them as a named party. First they sent it back to the insurance company, along with my cover letter explaining what their role was. The thought of calling me for clarification never entered their mind.
    Round Two. I get a replacement check from the insurance company, over night it to the " supervisor" who is going expedite. Ha! when I called her after it arrived she said we have five days to turn it around. I then reminded her of the time they have already squandered, she said she would look into it. So at exactly five days I get a voicemail from an office drone to call. one hour on hold, she is un reachable. Back to the helpful "supervisor" who explains to me there is still a balance at the repair shop, so they can't endorse the check and send it back to me. (no kidding, a balance at the place where the check is supposed to go, imagine that). I ask to talk to her boss, who does return my call, however he can't seem to grasp why there is still a balance at the repair shop. So here we are in a "catch 22" with no resolution on the horizon.
    I have never seen incompetence so rampant, I am surprised this company is still in business.
    If anyone wants the phone numbers of these managers here they are, they can't help you but at least you won't be on hold.
    Sharron the "supervisor" 904 370 1805
    Chris Marquez "operations manager" 904-370 1808, he is so important he has a second # 904 485 1342
    Good luck!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By allyisnoally Mar 3, 2017

    Run. Run as fast as you can away from this bank.

    Let's start with a request. Is there a way for me to post negative stars, e.g., -5 stars? The one star I give this sad excuse for a bank is only because I need to give at least one star to post this review. I financed a car with Ally. I sold the car and mailed a CASHIER'S check (which means nothing to these clowns) via express mail. Ally said they processed the payment the day the payment was received. Wrong! They took three business days to process the payment. The account showed a zero balance on day four. Ally said in three separate phone calls the title would be mailed to my home address and that it would take THREE TO FIVE BUSINESS DAYS after payoff was confirmed (I requested they express mail it to me at my expense, but they don't allow that). That was two weeks ago and still no title. NEVER DEAL WITH THIS BANK. NO CONCERN FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By milehiblinky Feb 8, 2017

    IRA's They know nothing about them, horrible customer service

    They know nothing about Conversions vs. Rollovers or RMD's or the paperwork necessary to complete each. Called 4 times so far, got 4 different answers until my 4 phones all had dead batteries. Gave up for today! They do not think logically, they just put out the same bad info and then train the next new person with the same bad info. Very frustrating, 4 hours of my life today......lost forever....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Msenecal Feb 3, 2017

    03104

    Horrible customer service, Horrible just horrible. I owned my car 5 months, was hit and ended up being a total loss. Ally bank did NOTHING in a timely manner. They continue to drag their feet giving me a payoff letter and numerous other documents needed for the insurance company. The total loss department is a joke!! I have a copy of the check that was given to them and they still decline closing out my account with them. I will NEVER, and I mean NEVER, use Ally Bank for anything again. If your reading this review heed my warning. You will have nothing but prpblems if you do business with Ally Bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    W
    Reviewed By waldisss Feb 3, 2017

    Stay Away!

    Made a deposit by check on Monday morning using my phone (because there is no other way to deposit money into my own account - the bank exists only online!). The deposit was from my other bank account, so I see what is going on....
    Today is day 5, the funds are in my account, but I cannot use them for another day. Money left my other account on day 2, but they will only become available on my Ally account on day 6. The question is what Ally bank is doing with my money for 4 days?!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    P
    Reviewed By philakid Jan 29, 2017

    Credit File Frozen issue

    I attempted to open a Money Market account with a large sum of money. Due to multiple attempts to steal our identities, we have frozen our credit files. Even though TransUnion (which Ally uses), Experian and Equifax will allow me to get a temporary pin to allow a lender to pull my credit report, Ally insists on a Global lift for a 24 hour period.

    I will not lift the freeze on our credit files except with a pin for specific lenders. Not sure why lenders won't accept these temporary lift pins. Ally is the second banks which does not accept the temporary lift pin.

    I would also like to know why they need my credit report, when it is me lending them a large sum of my money for which they return a measly 0.85%

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    JM
    Reviewed By John M. Jan 18, 2017

    Not great with international travel outside the U.S.

    Although we notified Ally about our trip to Mexico, we still had intermittent troubles using our cards. Sometimes we would get a fraud alert, and sometimes not. We were there to get married, and it created difficulties and embarrassments paying some vendors and restaurants. We called when we got back, and they admitted needing improvement in that area.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.