Profile | Reviews

Ally Bank Customer Reviews

Online Bank, ally.com

420 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars
Continue reading...

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By canada Jan 5, 2018

    Bait & Switch

    Ally offered a 2% - 12 month Cd. When my funds were deposited 14 days later (including Christmas and New years), they dropped their rate to 1.70 %. They claim the rate they offered is only valid for 10 calendar days!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By RARTUSY Jan 4, 2018

    BAIT AND SWITCH CD RATES

    What a scam. I bought $50,000 of cds from them @ 2% two days before the rate special expired. They took exactly three days to fund, lowering the rate to 1.55%.
    I authorized them to take the money out of another bank at the time I created the CDs. They took exactly the time to move the money, so it would lower my rate. They did not lock in the rate. WHAT A SCAM.
    Now I am going to lose two months of interest, because at the end of that time, I will take the hit and move all the money, over 100K, out of their bank and close my account.

    I can't do business with a bait and switch company like ALLY BANK.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Victor M. Dec 29, 2017

    Still waiting to get help! Horrible customer service!!

    This have emailed twice, and made more than five attempts to get assistance. I have been on hold for over 40 minutes in either a chat or on the phone several times. It was beyond frustrating!! After about 30 hours someone called and left a message, I called back and got into a holding pattern of another 30 minutes.

    I have been trying to reach Ally bank for the past week to no avail. I have a SS25 Lock. I cannot complete my transfers, link my external accounts and transfer funds in.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By dem1an Dec 7, 2017

    Horrible Customer Service Experience

    Runaround. Called them about 7 times trying to get my assets moved to Fidelity. Twice I conferenced in Fidelity. "Paperwork was in order", "funds will be transferred today". Lies. I spent hours on the phone waiting with them to check with their back office. They also charge a $50 going away present to move your account. Jerks.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By buggeroff272 Dec 2, 2017

    Horrible security

    ID theft. I get it. But Ally has gone so far as to request a minimum of 4 pieces of confidential info, even when I'm calling from my phone number on file, just to talk with me about my account. They subcontract their security protocols to another firm and their algorithms are truly messed up. I regularly get declined at my grocery store just three miles from my house and when I got to visit family WITHIN the state. I don't have this issue with two other major banks. So, since it has become such a hassle to use Ally, I've moved everything to one of them and shut down my Ally bank accounts.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Tazyman Nov 30, 2017

    Stay away!

    Great bank if you like having your money held hostage. This institution is a joke. Stay away!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By FrankBlack Nov 3, 2017

    Can't even open an account. Slow. Don't want business

    I've made a request to get a bank account with them. It took them 2 weeks to send me a letter saying they can't verify my identity! I provided every document they asked for. There's not even a "you can send a copy of your passport etc...". It's just: "we can't verify your identify, bye!".
    The worst is that I didn't ask any other bank so I was left without an account for a couple of weeks for nothing. I won't be dealing with these guys in the future and won't recommend them.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By JayBraver Nov 3, 2017

    Terrible Customer Service

    I needed to pay my credit card balance. Wouldn't go through online. Called them to manually process the card. This is something I do in five minutes every month with my other bank. Their customer service literrally cannot service the customers as they have no ability to make changes to accounts. After an hour of being on hold, they finally asked to call back in a few hours. Ally, my time is valuable. I'm draining this account and then I'm going to be done with this "bank".

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By shoalman Oct 26, 2017

    Worst customer service ever experienced

    I signed up for an ally bank account. I added my wife to the account, we got a letter stating that they needed her signature on a tax ID card either online or via post. Three was no way to fill it out online, so we sent it via US post. Two weeks latter I got the same request via US post again!. I called to ask whether they received my 1st letter. Two associates were incredibly rude and would not confirm whether they received a letter from me or not claiming it was private information that I was not privileged to. They were withholding information from me on my own account! So I proceeded to close my account. The customer service agent would not refund any interest gained on my savings account yet charged ~$200 penalty for closing my CD, after promising there would be no penalties. I asked to speak with a manager. The manager stated I would get my interest back but asked me to remain a customer. She said she needed to speak with my wife, so I gave her my wife's phone number. She called my wife, asked , her maiden name, address, etc all to confirm her ID. My wife answered all questions perfectly. She then asked for the terms of the CD that I opened! My wife had no idea so they said that someone else would call her. The next day someone else called me!!!!!!!! Morons! Problem still not resolved. Absolute worst and rudest customer experience ever. My account. I opened it. And they refuse to confirm whether they received a letter from me!! IDIOTS! Do not open an account with these people if you do not want your money put into a black hole! They withhold information from you that you provided, claiming it is private. They cannot get anything right. Agents are rude! I gave them $350,000 and have been treated like I am an insignificant irritant. They are rude , stupid, thieving bastards. They will take your money, not give you the interest you have earned, and charge penalties if you try to withdraw because you are unhappy with their service.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By cheswain Oct 4, 2017

    Avoid At ALL COST!!!

    I opened a checking account at Ally for spill over. It wasn't an important account. That was, until I actually needed it. I had a few overdrafts from Netflix, even though Netflix reversed them, Ally put a 5 day hold on all check deposits after that. That was not a problem, but then the timeline got longer than 5 days. They were depositing the checks days after receiving them and holding them for 6 or 7 days, excluding weekends and holidays. This last event was most frustrating as when they finally released the funds after 6 days, I found that my card had expired and I couldn't gain access to my money. No gas for the car. No food. They had done this before, telling me that a card had been sent a month previous. Verified address as before, and same result, no card. I have other accounts with other banks and credit unions, and if a card is late with any of them, they can extend usage to allow access to your funds. The Ally card locked me out completely. They expedited a card that they said should arrive in 3-4 business days. Great, I want to wait more. The most frustrating thing about Ally is that when you need to speak to a person, you are speaking with a customer service rep that has little to no authorization/override powers, who will just keep repeating a script to you. I was warned before I opened this account, but didn't think much of it since I didn't believe I would need to actually use it more. As many others have said, Ally is a good bank, as long as you don't run into any obstacles and have to speak with someone. Reality is, you WILL at times NEED to speak with someone if you have an account there. Nothing is more annoyingly frustrating than someone repeating a script to you when you're having a problem. I have worked in customer service for over 10 years, so I know the deal. But Ally is bordering on illegal activity at times from the constant mistakes. Maybe something is happening behind the scenes, but from these reviews, I doubt it. They are just not that good. BEWARE!!!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.