B+ MyBankTracker Rating

CIT Bank Customer Reviews

(19 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 6
1 Star 12

The Most Helpful CIT Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Jennifer McElm May 13, 2013

Very professional and helpful

I just wish they were open weekends and evenings (I'm on the West Coast). That's no big deal though, just plan ahead.

They've been very good, no mistakes, super nice and competent customer service reps. And their rate doesn't go up and down every other day like so many online banks.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By languageusa May 2, 2017

Horrible Experience

Horrible experience with their service. Terrible, disorganized website. Tried to open an online savings account for $100,000, instead they opened two (2) savings accounts for $100,000 each -- without my knowledge, of course. More than that, they attempted to ACH $200,000 from my funding external bank account, instead of $100,000. The customer service is totally incompetent, they are not able to comprehend basic things. The customer service manager is unprofessional. All in all, there were not able correct the situation (I simply asked them to delete the second account I never requested to open in the first place, but they could not do that) and they seemingly got prepared to rip off my external bank account by withdrawing $200,000. I had to urgently drive to my non-CiT bank involved in this to put stop payment on any attempt by CiT bank to withdraw funds. This so called bank is a joke, a sad joke.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest CIT Bank Reviews

  •  
    L
    Reviewed By languageusa May 2, 2017

    Horrible Experience

    Horrible experience with their service. Terrible, disorganized website. Tried to open an online savings account for $100,000, instead they opened two (2) savings accounts for $100,000 each -- without my knowledge, of course. More than that, they attempted to ACH $200,000 from my funding external bank account, instead of $100,000. The customer service is totally incompetent, they are not able to comprehend basic things. The customer service manager is unprofessional. All in all, there were not able correct the situation (I simply asked them to delete the second account I never requested to open in the first place, but they could not do that) and they seemingly got prepared to rip off my external bank account by withdrawing $200,000. I had to urgently drive to my non-CiT bank involved in this to put stop payment on any attempt by CiT bank to withdraw funds. This so called bank is a joke, a sad joke.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    I
    Reviewed By isc1200 Mar 21, 2017

    Don't trust your IRA money to these assclowns

    My wife signed her name on a Roth IRA account with her first initial and our last name. CIT would not transfer her money to a new custodian because the names did not match on the signature guarantee she filled out at our local bank. We have been fight with them for bout two weeks. At one time we had almost a million dollars on deposit with them. We will have zero after this mater is resolved.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By Kingcole Feb 21, 2017

    EXTREMELY POOR Customer Service

    I have several accts w/ them due to their high interest rates. However trying to reach them by phone is almost impossible. Waited on line for 55 min for a rep. I told the rep how long I had waited and requested she passed my comments on the issue up to higher management. Next call I waited 15 min gave up & sent an email they responded 2 days later. Next call on hold waiting for 40 min, it finally transferred to a person but the line went dead, I was disconnected. They need to have someone ans. the phone.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By bjk910 Feb 18, 2017

    waited 30 minutes on hold for service representative ...not good !!!

    I have called cit bank several times to get info regarding our accounts and each time I wait on "hold" at least 30 minutes before a representative picks up. I am waiting for a transfer of funds from cit bank to my brokerage account and all my questions regarding the transfer are answered in with "in process".

    The wait time and vague answers are "NOT GOOD" There are other online banks that put cit bank to shame !!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By BPe Nov 17, 2016

    Worst Service Ever

    Started the process of opening a CD 11/07.
    Bug on website wouldn't let me finish and I had to call Customer Service.
    Email I was supposed to get to tell me how to verify trial deposits never came. Had to call again.
    Now on 11/17 I have heard nothing further from CIT and transfer from my bank still has not been initiated.
    This is ridiculous.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By anon159 Sep 8, 2016

    CIT bank holds matured CD funds as long as they can get away with it

    The title says it all.
    If funds are to be released by check, forget about it getting mailed, much less delivered, promptly. Then, expect the robot response from CIT of 7-10 days to expect to get it. When they delay mailing for 3-4 days, 7-10 days sounds be about right.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    U
    Reviewed By uncle0999 Jun 24, 2016

    Cit failed to pay interest on CD

    I purchased a Cit CD through Fidelity Investments. The CD had a call provision and was called by Cit on 6/22/16. Cit owed interest for 5 months at the call date and as of 6/24/16 I have not received the interest due. Fidelity has been unable to get a response from Cit regarding the reason for non-payment.

    Beware. I owned Cit bonds a few years back, they defaulted and I lost large $$$. Thought is they are FDIC insured, would be ok, now not sure.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    H
    Reviewed By highinterest Mar 6, 2016

    Competitive interest rate but website is terrible

    I have had an account with them for years. It's kind of irritating that they won't send a paper statement, you can only download them from the really clunky, disoriented website. But the lack of mailed statements is not the big issue, it is the website. I have many accounts at different online banks, and I have to say that the CIT site is the worst, by far. Not at all intuitive to navigate. One huge frustration to me is that the site seems to not remember that I have set up "security questions" in the past (many times!) so about twice a year it forces me to set up new security questions. It is to the point where I now have more than a dozen security questions and answers I have to keep track of. It is frustrating and ridiculous. In addition it seems to forget that I have registered my phone number with them a number of times, the site keeps asking me to register again, as if I never have. And I have to set up all these new security questions and phone numbers before I can move on to making my transactions, making it a very slow process! Another absolutely terrible thing is that when you make an external transfer to or from another banks linked account through the CIT site, the CIT transaction procedure does not have a confirmation step that shows the transaction information that you have entered, which all banks have because it gives you a chance to review the transaction before you confirm it is exactly as you wanted. So with CIT you enter you transfer details, and when you click "submit", it submits without giving you a chance to review details to ensure that you didn't make an error. And then it doesn't even give you a message that the transfer was successfully scheduled! You actually have to navigate to the "pending transfers" link to make sure it was scheduled. These are all things I think they would fix over the span of all the years I have banked with them, but they never do. If they did offer the competitive interest rate that they do, I would never consider keeping money in their bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By Kpaharia Feb 29, 2016

    Be Aware what you getting into and make notes

    Open a CD and they just withdraw money from from your account and never even send you the statement for withdrawing ot statement showing what kind of CD and when it got funded. You never receive a single piece of paper from them confirm any action. I did not get yearly tax statement either. If you point out their bad customer service vs other banks, they say they are different. Representative are like robot with no common sense and logical skills to understand why customer is upset and making suggestions to change.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    E
    Reviewed By Everson Aug 8, 2015

    Stupid Requirements

    Already have over 250K in this bank. Wanted to open a new account with my wife and daughter as joint owners. Was told they would have to speak to my Daughter and then submit it to management for approval. How dumb is that. Primary reason for the three names was because of FDIC INSURANCE on accounts in excess of 250K per depositor. Not only will I not make the additional deposit, I will withdraw the 250K when the CD matures in Sep. Banks pay nothing in interest and then some want you to jump through loops just to take your money. Not worth it to me.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.