B MyBankTracker Rating

First Niagara Bank Customer Reviews

(81 Reviews)
1 out of 5 stars
5 Star 3
4 Star 2
3 Star 2
2 Star 3
1 Star 71

The Most Helpful First Niagara Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By babsiel May 29, 2015

Eileen is THE BEST!!!!

Don't have a lot of occasion to go inside the bank....but over the years of being with this branch (through all the different names, etc.) "my" dear Eileen has ALWAYS been there to help me! Listen to me (especially when my Mom died) and is just always so pleasant and friendly! It's a stone's throw away from where I live so it couldn't be more convenient...LOVE their "bill pay" program!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Andrewpete Mar 30, 2016

Dishonest, fraudulent bank.

Really shoud be Zero star rating. If you want your account balance to be depleted and all your money stolen through consistent unjustified large bank fees, then go to First Niagara bank. If you enjoy horrible customer service, and you like to be bullied and railroaded; then go to First Niagra bank. Fees for no reason, trash talking customer service, money disappearing from your bank account until you have a negative balance, yes, you can find it all at First Niagara Bank.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest First Niagara Bank Reviews

  • R
    Reviewed By richardmarks Aug 9, 2016

    THEY SUCK!

    Made a deposit online; 3 days later they made the money available.
    I spent money that said was available in my account, then the check was placed on hold the next day. Now I'm negative a few hundred dollars and I have an important expense that I need to pay for and can't.
    First Niagara can't even explain to me why my check was placed on hold......

    If my check isn't deposited by tomorrow morning I'll just have to wait for the 7 business days and take my money else where and get a different bank account at a different bank.
    Good job First Niagara.
    You're lucky I have to give at least 1 star. I'd give you zero. Not the first issue I've had with this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By loan_frustration69 Jul 13, 2016

    Auto Loan Nightmare!

    I currently have an auto loan with first niagara... Whenever I change my address with them, I always get the run around. "Oh we need you to come into one of our locations to change your address... I can't change your address over the phone.... Well we can change your address but it will take a while for our system to update and you won't get your next bill or two." Seriously fed up, I can't go into a location to change my address, the closest location is 16 hours away. This has happened every time I change my address, this will be the third time. I suggest that no one does any sort of banking or loans with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • N
    Reviewed By niko2626 May 27, 2016

    If you like paying Over Draft Fees Then this is the Bank for you...

    I use paypal a lot and they pull the funds from my Bank.... Long story short there where 10 charges 1 for 500+ 1 for 200+ and 8 for under $50 each...There was 800 in the account...Could have put all in and charged me 1 overdraft fee for the 500 charge....Nope...they put in the 2 Big Charges then hit me for 7 overdraft fees....Got to love the way they manipulate the System....But reading the reviews here I see I am not the only one....I never seen more negative reviews on a business that still has their doors open. Doesnt anyone in corporate read these...Stay away from this Bank!!!
    But if you enjoy paying overdraft fees then you will love this bank....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By Manse6101 May 23, 2016

    Irwin Branch

    We opened a business checking accont with FNB Irwin in March. It has been nothing but a pain and inconvenience. The bank calls us four times to correct mistakes they made in the beginning . Now 2 1/2 months later they call again for a new federal id number. They already have the number. Do not recommend First Niagra Bank!!!!! Go with a smaller bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By amp Apr 20, 2016

    Refusal to disburse funds from Trust Account

    Better to place your funds somewhere else. My mom was the trustee for a family Trust Fund, she passed in 2015. I have presented the will showing I am executor, have power of attorney, limited power of attorney and a raised seal death certificate; they still refuse to close the account which contains an inconsequential amount of money. This prevents us from settling our account and closing our trust. They want an attorney to contact them, a court order and all kinds of documentation that in the end will cost us more than the account is worth.

    The branch in New City was managed by a woman who did not appear to understand the difference between a living trust and an inheritance. She promised to get back to me in two days, it took her three weeks to come back and decline us. One year later, I approached the Nanuet Branch who at least was gracious and tried to assist but somewhere higher up, they once again declined to close the account.

    Please make sure before you place your money in this bank that you understand what can happen to your estate or Living Trust.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • P
    Reviewed By Pattiworkman1 Apr 14, 2016

    Pleasant Hills Branch Worst Ever

    This Branch has the worst customer service ever. Assistant Manager was disrespectful and rude. Prior to entering the branch tried to get into online banking. Bank did not follow up on returning my calls. Took me 2 weeks before someone could actually get me into online banking. This branch should be rated negative zero. Looking forward to moving all my accounts to a bank that knows what they are doing and that doesn't charge seniors such high rates. Highway robbery at its best from this bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dancincat Apr 8, 2016

    car loan

    I wish there was a way to give ZERO stars!!! I think these people don't care if I pay for my car or not. Maybe it is free? I set up my online payment for my car a week after buying it. It has now been 44 days and I have received NOTHING from them!?! I tried calling.....NOTHING! No one picks up the phone!?! What am I supposed to do? I do not want my credit ruined by these jerks. Anyone have any suggestions? If so, please email me at dancincat@aol.com. Thanks!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By Andrewpete Mar 30, 2016

    Dishonest, fraudulent bank.

    Really shoud be Zero star rating. If you want your account balance to be depleted and all your money stolen through consistent unjustified large bank fees, then go to First Niagara bank. If you enjoy horrible customer service, and you like to be bullied and railroaded; then go to First Niagra bank. Fees for no reason, trash talking customer service, money disappearing from your bank account until you have a negative balance, yes, you can find it all at First Niagara Bank.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By ktaylor2015 Feb 23, 2016

    Money Regularly Goes Missing from My Account

    I've only ever had good service when I went to talk to the actual people in the bank - the tellers have always been kind, the lady who helped us get set up was amazing and insightful. However starting in December 2015 I have noticed my money going missing. I keep a very detailed checkbook (aside from the online account) and there have been slight discrepancies that has added up to the tune of almost $200 over the course of two months. It's always just $5-10 at a time. At first I shrugged it off, maybe I forgot a receipt at some point. But this last week I got the proof I needed. I transferred $330 from savings to checking, and when I looked the next day there was only $300 in the bank. Nothing has been taken out/spent and nothing is on hold. Where's my money First Niagara? They're dirty thieves. Do NOT bank with them. Save your money - no matter what 'bonus' they're offering for joining them, it's not worth it. Bank somewhere else.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Tpowell9239 Feb 23, 2016

    Worst bank ever!!!

    Made an error on a check that I wrote from my other financial institution and First Niagara did NOT lose any money but made me feel like the lowest form of life! Caroline, you may need to learn to talk to people because you are disrespectful.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.