A MyBankTracker Rating

State Farm Bank Customer Reviews

(28 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 5
4 Star 1
3 Star 0
2 Star 4
1 Star 18

The Most Helpful State Farm Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Jimmyc Feb 4, 2016

Good Bank, Great Customer Service

I really enjoy State Farm Bank. No complaints.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By dave s Jul 31, 2015

Worst customer service in the US

Financed 2 new cars with them. They cant be less helpful trying to get info just to pay them. I called and told them I didn't know my acct #. They asked ss, then address, then phone 3, then if any of these cars in 15 years me or any of my family owned, then who did we buy our house from 30 years ago. After I answered all those correct he brought out another page to verify. Keep in mind I only wanted to pay them!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest State Farm Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By Dsm1106 Jul 23, 2016

    TERRIBLE

    Applied for the card it said zero interest for transfers for 12 months and they lied now they are charging me 2%!!! I've been with State Farm for 30 years and now I know why I don't bank with them!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dancer830 Feb 27, 2016

    Ms

    I don't like the FACT that you all called me when I was on my way home from having a blocked heart valve unblocked at Sinai Hospital in Baltimore City telling me, while my CPA was in the car that my car was paid off in full and then you reposseded it! Yes you heard me repossessed it! This was horrible thing to do to me or anyone else with out cause. And my loyalty to State Farm since I was 13 years old and am now 63 is over. AND FYI, this is not the first time your company paid off my car loan due to me being hospitalized..You said my car was being returned and you all better pray there is no damage to it as I just had every DIG and DENT fixed at NORTHWEST HONDA.!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jaamo Feb 25, 2016

    Nice people, poor service

    We had been State Farm insurance customers for over 40 years. Never a problem, but recently, premiums became non-competitive. The few claims we had were handled promptly with no problems.

    Tried to open a cd account through the local agent. Process was unbelievably slow. First, tried to sell us financial advice instead of cd. Then, took 30 minutes to fill out forms, they made us sign an electronic version of form without showing us what we were signing. Then, after signed, they provided us copies of documents. Documents had errors. Early withdrawal penalty was twice as high as competing banks. ( Explanation: Doesn't matter if you hold to maturity.)

    That was on February 12. Yesterday, the deposit check was finally cashed. We still have no paperwork supporting the purchase of the cd, still don't know the maturity date -- is it 2/12 or 2/25???

    Sorry, but 13 days is too long to process and it still isn't done.

    Good rates, poor service in banking.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By LarkinsAli Feb 23, 2016

    EXCELLENT Bank and Customer Service

    By far, State Farm Bank has been such a pleasant experience. I have been with State Farm Bank for 6 years now. I started a checking account with State Farm Bank because I have a car loan with them. The account gets me a discount on my car loan and there are absolutely NO FEES associated with the account. With my car loan at State Farm, they provide FREE GAP coverage, so I was able to get a $800 refund for the GAP coverage I bought at the dealership. They have provided me with great customer service. If I ever need anything, I just call my agent and we conference call the Banking team together. Their website is very convenient and user-friendly.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By Jimmyc Feb 4, 2016

    Good Bank, Great Customer Service

    I really enjoy State Farm Bank. No complaints.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • V
    Reviewed By vanparys Jan 21, 2016

    Don't believe all the negative press!

    I am a previous Columbia Bank customer. Was with them for 16 years. Last year, they started charging me to keep my money with them(!). I had 7 accounts. I contacted my State Farm agent and we talked about moving my $ to them. It seemed to good to be true. No ATM fee's. I can withdraw money from any ATM, and SF covers the cost. Brilliant! I took my time in moving my accounts. I set up all 7 accounts with $25 deposits, and then moved all but my main checkig and savings accounts to them. I was able to do an external transfer from within the SF site. No problem. When I did have questions, I got quick and accurate answers. Yes, you have to answer funky questions to identify yourself, but since I have little reason or occasion to call, no big deal.

    I have been with SF bank now for 5 months. It is hassle free banking. I take pictures of checks that need to be deposited, I pay bills on line, and never have to pay for ATM fees! I love this bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • J
    Reviewed By jeannebowen Oct 1, 2015

    State Farm Bank Gap Insurance

    I paid the extra money for the Gap Insurance coverage for my State Farm Bank car loan. I had my car less than a year when it was totaled while parked in front of my house. I contacted my State Farm agent to start the process. Unfortunately it doesn't work. State Farm Bank still removed the next payment, even after I contacted them and asked them not to debit my account. Then when I closed my account with them, they sent me bills. I continued to contact them to tell them it was totaled, and I had the gap insurance. State Farm Insurance even sent them the payoff. The remaining balance still hasn't been removed even though it is two months later. They are calling me now and want to send me to collections for money they should have covered with the gap insurance. DO NOT USE STATE FARM BANK FOR YOUR CAR LOANS!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By mk555 Sep 12, 2015

    Surprisingly a really good bank -Checking account

    Checks were absolutely free and the account is free. What bank will pay for your atm charges? State Farm does. I've never had problems with this account. If your account is negative your card transactions won't go through which is good. Other banks want your card to go through because your fees are a big money maker.
    If everyone is having trouble with customer service then literally call your agent. Let me let you in on a little secret. All businesses have terrible "customer service departments". Yeah you may get the one or two people who are really good but for the most part they all follow a script, are uneducated about the product, and don't listen to you. What do you expect.
    Anyway pretty good bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • L
    Reviewed By ledesma12 Aug 3, 2015

    Terrible!

    I mailed a temporary check to pay my monthly bill. It arrived on time, but was rejected. Rather than calling me and letting me know that my payment had been rejected, state farm never attempted to contact me. I called 2 days after the grace period ended asking why the money had never been deducted from my account. They said the check was rejected due to insufficient funds or account being closed. Both are wrong. I had more than enough in the account, and the account was still up and running. I called my bank to confirm this, and they confirmed it and said the person placing the check through must have put in the wrong account number on the check. So I CALLED BACK. We were going to start off by just paying my bill and getting that squared away, but they don't accept cards over the phone, so I had to use my temporary check to put it through. But before proccessing the payment, they warned me I would be charged a fee for paying over the phone (who does that?!), and I asked if they could waive that since the payment didn't go through because an error on their part, and they said no-the only way to bypass the fee is to pay online. So I tried to pay online, but I had to enroll in online payment (why the heck?!) but GUESS WHO WASN'T ALLOWED TO ENROLL FOR STUPID REASONS?! So I had to register a whole other login in MY name instead of my husband's (if someone else wanted to pay his bill, why not just let them?), and I was FINALLY able to enroll into online bill payment although the website was a huge frustrating debacle in and of itself. So I finally paid my bill over an hour and 40 minutes later, but the late fee was still listed online after the SECOND PERSON ON THE PHONE told me it had been waived. So I had to call back, and then all of a sudden THIS phone call required a series of questions with multiple-choice answers to verify my identity (again... why do they have to know it's me trying to pay this freakin' bill?!!?!). After forever, things got sorted out, but this is THE LAST loan through state farm bank!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By dave s Jul 31, 2015

    Worst customer service in the US

    Financed 2 new cars with them. They cant be less helpful trying to get info just to pay them. I called and told them I didn't know my acct #. They asked ss, then address, then phone 3, then if any of these cars in 15 years me or any of my family owned, then who did we buy our house from 30 years ago. After I answered all those correct he brought out another page to verify. Keep in mind I only wanted to pay them!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.