B MyBankTracker Rating

The Columbia Bank Customer Reviews

(9 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 1
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 8

The Most Helpful The Columbia Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Ryan P. Sep 18, 2012

Overall A Solid Bank

I have been with this bank for almost two years now and have never had an issue. This bank used to be Hagerstown Trust in this area and maintains a majority of branches and I assume customers in this area. The bank has always had a feeling of being present and caring about the Hagerstown community. I have usually felt welcome at the branches and have never had an issue with them directly. Even when the main branch I go to was under renovation they made themselves as accessible to customers as possible. They could've easily shut that branch down during that time, but instead remained serviceable.

The only issue I have ever had to date was with a merchant that overcharged my debit card. They were quick to help me out by providing the necessary documents to get the matter straightened out. They even offered to take any phone calls from the merchant or myself about the matter in my favor. Anytime I have needed anything, including a new debit card after my original wore out, they have been right there to help with a smile. I am very loyal to The Columbia Bank and will continue to use their services in the future.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By BillyJ Feb 9, 2016

Another Bank goes bad

Columbia Bank does not care about its customers in the least. I have been with them for many years only to watch the bank continue to cut staff and pile the work on those remaining. They can't even get their own paperwork straight and of course they blame you for it. Good luck getting a call back from anyone who cares about the situation they created. I'm closing my accounts and moving on, good bye Columbia Bank AKA Fulton Financial.

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest The Columbia Bank Reviews

  • B
    Reviewed By BillyJ Feb 9, 2016

    Another Bank goes bad

    Columbia Bank does not care about its customers in the least. I have been with them for many years only to watch the bank continue to cut staff and pile the work on those remaining. They can't even get their own paperwork straight and of course they blame you for it. Good luck getting a call back from anyone who cares about the situation they created. I'm closing my accounts and moving on, good bye Columbia Bank AKA Fulton Financial.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By Dgates Oct 27, 2015

    Not Professional - Overly Casual Employees at Fairground Branch

    While good customers wait, such as myself, employees spend time chatting and disregarding the customers. As an example just today, the two executives behind the glass were standing laughing and talking for a lengthy period while only two of us were in line. I actually wanted to see one of them, but they were so loud and rowdy I felt no obligation to stay any longer.this has happened before.

    Tellers are distracted. One teller was busy counting money and never looked up at me. Another teller was busy flirting with the UPS guy, including leaving her odorous carry out lunch the little shelf that is available for customers to use to fill out forms. Then she casually opened the security door to let him go inside. They never came out the whole time I was waiting smelling her lunch the entire time. When I finally got to a window and that clerk said, "Oh, you'll have to wait since my customer is wandering around here talking to people." I guess he came for the party.

    On another recent visit, the executive on duty could partly concentrate only concerns as she wastellih everyone in site she was" to finally have gotten a transfer to the Ellicott city office. Quotation marks this hardly engenders confidence to the customer (me).

    Does anybody superviseor manage these folks? I will say that what appeared to be the manager's office was empty but the light was on. My assumption was that he or she was out to lunch. I'm planning to remove my money from this bank because of these recurring foolish issues. I am concerned how the accounting and professional procedures support my investments are being handled in this "party atmosphere."

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By wclj2010 Aug 3, 2015

    The Customer Service # is so RUDE!!!

    I try to limit the times I need to contact 1.888.822.2265 because those women are the rudest. It must be a call center full of bitter women upset that they have to answer yet another phone call. Every time I call it feels like they are mad I'm bothering them like customers aren't the reason they have a JOB! I really wish they had a survey because someone needs to tell them the truth. Talking to a supervisor doesn't help either as they are also bitter women at work. This company needs to redo its customer service team with willing to work individuals with respect. They really need to learn from Capital One Bank's customer service.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • D
    Reviewed By D Sep 23, 2013

    Horrible stupid people

    Put a 7 day hold on a cashier check to turn around and say oh we won't know when our check clears! WTF! It's a cashier check. Then $20 fee if you don't have $700 or more in the bank or don't have direct deposit what! Then horrible customer service on top of that. Worst bank ever. Shutting down the account and switching.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • K
    Reviewed By Kurt+Brewster Apr 15, 2013

    Laughed at me when I reported bank fraud

    I found out Feb 2013 that an unauthorized electronic transfer of over 600 dollars from my business account was made September 2012.

    I reported this with no response for two months. When I followed up on this I was told there was nothing more I could do as it had been over 60 days since the incident occurred.

    I tried to get information where the money went. All I wanted was the bank account or information where the money ultimately went so I could try to recover it.

    I was told that I couldn't get any information about the bank even if it was fraud. When I told Megan at E Claims that I was a small business taking care of 2000 patients and barely keeping afloat financially her response was to laugh.

    I am closing my business account I've had there for 11 years. If I can save ONE business the headaches dealing with Columbia it will make eating this 600 dollar debt with no recourse a little easier.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • MN
    Reviewed By Mary n. Apr 5, 2013

    Frustrating

    I signed up to do all my banking online...my first mistake.
    I know my ID and password but for some reason, I am blocked out of my account at least once a month. If it happens on a weekend, there are no customer reps to help and when I finally reached a real person, she was able to tell me that I had put in my correct ID and password but she couldn't help. She put her supervisor on the phone. The supervisor couldn't help. They suggested that I call their automated service when I need my balance. That was the extent of their help. I wanted to transfer funds from my savings to checking so I went to their automated machine after I got off from work. I couldn't do the transfer. Evidently my savings account can't be accessed on the machine. I don't have my savings account # because I can't get online to retrieve It!!! Tonight after my workday, I called the automated service to find out that I am overdrawn and they have charged me their $33 fee. IF I could have transferred my funds last night at their machine, my account would not be overdrawn !!!!! If their online banking worked properly, I could have transferred funds. I have automated deposits that comes in each month and they have never bounced a check but they need better customer service in the online department and they need to improve the customer's online experience. It sucks!!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • HM
    Reviewed By Heather M. Mar 25, 2013

    Used to be a Good Bank

    Used to be a good bank...until they joined the "Fulton Finical Family". They used to have great costumer service, were friendly, very much a local home town bank. You didn't get any of those little scam like fees that they sneak in.

    But ever since the join Fulton, their costumer service has gone down hill, and little fees are hidden everyplace. I just got charged this month $2 for checking my balance at a non-bank atm.

    So, after 10+/- years, I'm done with this bank

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • RP
    Reviewed By Ryan P. Sep 18, 2012

    Overall A Solid Bank

    I have been with this bank for almost two years now and have never had an issue. This bank used to be Hagerstown Trust in this area and maintains a majority of branches and I assume customers in this area. The bank has always had a feeling of being present and caring about the Hagerstown community. I have usually felt welcome at the branches and have never had an issue with them directly. Even when the main branch I go to was under renovation they made themselves as accessible to customers as possible. They could've easily shut that branch down during that time, but instead remained serviceable.

    The only issue I have ever had to date was with a merchant that overcharged my debit card. They were quick to help me out by providing the necessary documents to get the matter straightened out. They even offered to take any phone calls from the merchant or myself about the matter in my favor. Anytime I have needed anything, including a new debit card after my original wore out, they have been right there to help with a smile. I am very loyal to The Columbia Bank and will continue to use their services in the future.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • SK
    Reviewed By Sandra K. Aug 13, 2012

    Horrible!

    This is a piss-poor excuse for a bank. Don't go there.

    It started with trying to open an account online, easy enough you would think. After requesting proof of address, which was no problem, they emailed me and told me the document I sent did not have my name on it when they must have been blind because it was right there big and bold. So I emailed them and told them to return my checks and that I would just open the account in a branch in person. In a few days, no checks were returned but they apparently opened the account anyway (supposedly without having my address verified). Not to mention getting my address wrong on the checks.

    And then, I went in to the branch to deposit a check, brought all my legal paperwork for the person I am a guardian over (we're talking original power of attorney and original guardianship paperwork with original court seal and judge's signature on it!) and the manager started seriously making things up that I needed! (Mind you, this was for a $40 check). He said they have to make sure I'm not committing fraud and I gave him COURT DOCUMENTS, LEGAL DOCUMENTS showing that I had the legal right to do banking as a guardian for this person and he refused. He then told me I needed to either bring the incapacitated person in (that would be a feat!) or get a notarized letter that she is not dead! WTF!?!?!? I seriously think this man was just making this stuff up! Needless to say, I have taken my banking elsewhere.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.