Best Customer Rated Banks & Accounts

Only MyBankTracker lets you see how real customers feel about their banks. And, we make it easy to see which banks are rated highest by their customers.

Recent Reviews for Banks & Accounts

First Commonwealth Bank Logo

First Commonwealth Bank


Auto Loan Nightmare

To whom it may concern,

I spoke with Sharon at First Commonwealth Bank (1-800-221-8605). I called the local branch in December of 2016 and was told the last payment was due on March 2017. I stopped making payments because of that phone call. Now, Sharon will not waive the $375 repossession fee. I'm asking for your help. I'm contacting an attorney and I'm telling everyone I know not to bank with First Commonwealth. The bank made a mistake because it was the local branch, they do not record messages, there is no proof. So, I'm responsible for an employee's mistake... a 375 dollar mistake.

Letter written to First Commonwealth Bank regarding vehicle repossession and fees.

I am requesting that repossession fees from June 2017 be waived. I called First Commonwealth in December 2016 and asked when my car payments would be completed. I was told in December 2016 by a First Commonwealth employee that my car payments would be completed by March 2017. I made the final payment, as the First Commonwealth employee told me, in March 2017. In June 2017 a repossession truck blocked me in and asked if my name was John. I said no it was James. He tapped the roof of my car and said this is ours. With onlookers looking on, our neighbors, he went on about a bankruptcy I had filed in January of 2016 and said the car was ours. I was told by a First Commonwealth employee in December 2016 that all payments would be completed by March 2017. I never received a notice of repossession in the mail, a phone call, or any notice regarding late payments or repossession. The only knowledge I had was that my car was completely paid off and that knowledge came from the First Commonwealth Employee I spoke with in December of 2016. I had not missed a payment prior to April 2017 nor have I missed a payment since June 2017. The manner in which I was treated in June 2017 by the repossession person was with great disrespect, embarrassment, and insult. Even after I went to the bank to make a cash payment, he continued loudly talking to my wife about bankruptcy in front of my neighbors. I respectfully ask that you waive the repossession fees based on the information I provided above.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

James Baker

Capital One Logo

Capital One


Seriously fuck Cap 1

If I could give zero stars I would.

TD Bank Logo

TD Bank


Absolute Idiots!

These people paid a bill of mine twice. I paid it using bill pay on 2/14 and on 2/20 they paid it again. The bill was for over 5 grand. They insisted that I authorized them to pay the second time. They insisted it was my fault even though they recently upgraded their online banking platform. They cant admit they made a mistake. I went to bed one night with over $5000 in my account and the next morning I woke up with a negative balance. My money was unavailable to me for 2 days. I give 0 stars.

TD Bank Logo

TD Bank


Worst experience ever!

Td bank just did an update on their system. It was a week of hell! Trying to do online banking was impossible, after logging in, system "DENIED ACCESS" to your own money. Bill pay just disappeared and I was unable to move money from savings to checking. AND THEN THEY CHARGED ME FEES!!!! After a week of complete frustration, call time was over 90 minutes, THEY CHARGED ME FEES! AND WILL NOT TAKE THEM AWAY!
Customer service rep told me that I should have stopped by a bank to get my balance.
SO SO SO POOR!
As I write a million negative reviews, I see that this bank has a 1star review everywhere!!!
Yikes! How can they stay in business with such a poor business model.
Goodbye TD, I am moving on........

BMO Harris Bank Logo

BMO Harris Bank


Worst of the worst

If you're a Canadian cross border banker, stay away from BMO Harris. They offer you nothing but headache and frustration. Initial opening process was fine until you started dealing with BMO Harris Customer Care Team. They either had no idea how to deal with a cross border banker or no way to help achieve any resolution. Card activation process and PIN change became toothless. Their online banking system is below average when you could even get much better system from the smallest community bank at a border town.

I never have had M&I Bank in the past but as far as I'm aware of, M&I Bank had a much more interactive UI and people.

Just stay away.... save yourself some hassle.

Citizens Bank Logo

Citizens Bank


The Last Choice Bank in US

I'd like to say that Citizens Bank should change it's name to "The last choice bank" for one main reason: it has nothing in common with humanism. When you're stepping into the branch as a potential new customer they are smiling and giving you colorful suckers. Sadly, but right after signing an agreement there are no humanity any more. I just had a case with them and I'd like to write them directly just because I think that publicity gonna kill this bank. Looks like they have some financial problems...
Anyway, better be aware of this bank. There are better options for sure.

BankUnited Logo

BankUnited


LindaH

Horrible experience with the bank!!! Home mortage was sold to BankUnited. Insurance (USAA) claim paid to replace roof due to wind damage. Roof replaced but have not painted 3 water spots on ceiling. I paid roofer in full expecting Bank United to reimburse us since insurance made checks to us and mortage bank. Inspector came out and said all but 5% of job complete. Bank United issued half the money but (Ann Marie Chavis-in the insurance dept)will not return calls or emails. Still waiting for about $27,000!!!! Its been over 2 months. HELP!! Worse experience ever. FYI- our mortage is current and never late.

Bank of America Logo

Bank of America


The Worst

We have been with Bank of America for years our kids accounts were there, it is easy to transfer money and out etc. But they are just so terrible.
My wife open some accounts at Charles Schwab, so she wanted me to check the minimum balance on checking and savings. I called and was on hold for 25 minutes, called Charles Schwab and they picked up in 2.
The worst situation we ever had, I paid the mortgage payment five days too early. The algorithm in the system applied the payment to the principal and then logged the payment as late, this was in December of that year. In February we start getting notices we were behind on our payments, we called the bank and after a month of wrangling got it straightened out. July of that year, another algorithm was run and not only made the December payment late but the following six payments as well. The helpdesk was in a foreign country, people were nice but could not change anything in the system, they said the to call me back and never did. I contacted the OCC and reported them and finally met with the branch vice president who was kind enough to resolve the issue.
The people that work for Bank of America are always very professional and very nice, the people that run Bank of America must be borderline imbeciles. If you want to be treated terribly, annoyed constantly, and feel a bit insecure that your savings are resting with an organization with completely dysfunctional systems, Bank of America might be for you.

BancorpSouth Bank Logo

BancorpSouth Bank


1 star is too many

Absolutely THE WORST BANK known to man

Ally Bank Logo

Ally Bank


Great Bank. been with them for 5 yrs now...

i saw a litany of bad reviews about this bank on this site and would like to share my own experience which has been very different from most comments here. i have been with Ally for 5 yrs now, most of the complaints here are about loan/lease issues, since i never obtained a loan with Ally, i can only share my experience as a deposit customer. to me, Ally is an excellent bank. i received my interest and principal per information listed on their website. i never experienced the "bait and switch" stories as cited on this blog from other customers. contrary to "bait and switch", i actually received great customer service. just last year, my CD was locked into a certain rate % which i later decided i to get out but the CD has already 7 days past the "10 day open window" which i can change terms. by contract, i would not be able to make changes, including getting out. however, i called the customer agent and she heard my situation and promptly allowed me to exit from the locked rate. to me, this is excellent service and great empathy. the customer support line is opened during the hours i called, as late as 9pm, although i never tried to call them at 1am or 2am, i cannot tell if their customer service is 24/7. the phone agents were "average" to "good", definitely very polite. some agents can use a little more product training but overall, phone agents were trying to be helpful and polite. the internet portal is "good" but not "excellent". for example, you need to call in to transfer IRA moneys, cannot transfer IRA moneys online without agent supervision. the institution to institution transfer (e.g. Rollover, Conversion) can take a few more days to a week longer compared to other more established larger financial institutions (e.g. Vanguard, TD Ameritrade), however, given their higher than average Savings and CD rates %, i can deal with these minor issues. i do like their online portal. very user friendly, intuitive, easy to use. the bank offers Webroot Secure Anywhere Antivirus/AntiMalware for free (up to 5 devices). Webroot Secure Anywhere is one of the Top 3 PC Magazine "Editor's Choice" (2018) anti-malware which helps with my overall computer security. nice touch i like. finally, as depositor, even with FDIC insurance, the bank's safety and credit worthiness is very important. based on survey from respected bank rating agencies, Ally Bank receives very high ratings. for example, Bank Tracker (this site) found Ally Bank's "trouble asset" ratio is less than half of "national bank average", meaning the bank has been able to find good borrower and keep the default rate lower than "average" US banks. meanwhile, Bankrate.com rates Ally 5 Star, highest ratings in credit strength and liquidity. this is reassuring for depositing customers. in essence, i would love to deposit more money with them if there was not a FDIC insured limit customarily applies to every bank.

topOfReviews