B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Chemical Bank Customer Reviews

(11 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 4
4 Star 0
3 Star 0
2 Star 0
1 Star 7

The Most Helpful Chemical Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By wildbillsouth Apr 15, 2015

Excellent one on one servce! AND Caring financial experts!

Whenever I have a problem or advice, these ladies and gentleman are there for me. The most knowledgeable experts, in the business of banking services!
That is what I have found and experienced at the Chemical Bank and Trust on North Avenue, a few streets South of my home. I would not switch Banks for all of these reasons! Just the nicest and good looking ladies, around. Really!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By bakuebler Dec 10, 2014

Terrible

I was with Northwestern Bank for about 20 years, a very loyal customer and appreciated the bank I had. Then, Chemical Bank took over. Awful customer service, can never get through when calling a local branch, they do not return email correspondence, and their online banking is in the tank. Not only can I not use all the services all the time, but during the "takeover" I had to wait an entire month before I could use online bill pay. I was treated like a complete moron for not having another capability set in place to take care of my bills.

Now, I need access to my bank records preceding the transition for the last year and I can no longer access them after they told me I would be able to several weeks ago. This has delayed a loan and cost me a great deal of money and loss of profit. Not to mention the fact that I can now, no longer obtain loan information from my local branch. What a joke. I am closing my accounts. I love the people formerly of NWB, but I will no longer do business with Chemical Bank. They do NOT deserve my business!

Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Chemical Bank Reviews

  • D
    Reviewed By DavidGlen Jul 12, 2016

    Good as long as they are recieving your money.

    I got a loan through Chemical Bank a few years back and thought nothing of it at the time.
    I paid my Monthly payments on time always and so when I thought it was time to pay off my loan I looked online to see what the final sum would be.
    I then called the bank to make sure that the sum I read online would be sufficient to pay off the loan.
    On the phone I was given a corrected sum that included any interests that had accumulated in the meantime which was about $50 higher than the sum shown online.
    I then sent them a check for that amount plus an extra $15 in case there should be more interest in the meantime. With the personal note that I was closing my account and this was payment in Full.
    I waited from the 25th of April when they cashed the check, until the 19th of May to hear from them, after not hearing from the bank I looked online to see if there should be some notice or a comment, after not being able access the online account, (it had been closed), I then called the bank and was told that I still owed them a little over $22.
    I asked them if they were going to charge interest on that as well and their answer was probably.
    I told the lady that I was sending a check for $100 and that if it did not cover the cost I would send a lawyer as my next step.
    Approx. 10 days later I received a check for the overpaid amount and a letter congratulating me on paying off my loan.
    Worthless in Iowa as you must have a signed and notarized release of lien from the bank, so again I called the bank and explained that I need a notarized release of lien! I was told that the bank always leaves the account lay five weeks after being paid off to make sure the check does not bounce, and that I would be receiving a release of lien in the mail.
    Talking to the supervisor don’t help either because she is uncooperative.
    Funny is that when I paid off my wife’s car I had the lien release in the mail a week later by “a different bank”.
    Needless to say I will never do business with the chemical bank again.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bryanstallard Jan 7, 2016

    30 yr history (false rating is...0)

    Been with them since they were OLD KENT in Gaylord some 30yrs. Tim Hall, one of their senior officers, along with Mark Kurth changed over to NWB. Probably others as well. They were great to me as a very small business. I know that I did not contribute to there bottom line very much, but over years they got the interest. NWB in all there wisdom did a deal with the BIGBOYZ and lost there ass. Hence the buy out via CHEMICAL. Now big corporate that wants to flush us little guys down the drain. They are doing a pretty good job of it ! Im not a vindictive feller , but I hope these cats all get their due....bryanstallard/woodfloors

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By MikeJohn May 15, 2015

    Worst lending department in the state.

    First off let me say I have been active in banking and lending as a professional, residential and commercial, for over 20 years so I know the in's and outs of the industry.

    While recently attempting to conduct a simple and straight forward loan for business clients with perfect credit and 20 years in business, their "TEAM" from Traverse City engaged in fraud. FRAUD.
    I advised my client's to move their $400,000 a year in deposit's to a local Credit Union.
    They should be ashamed of themselves.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • W
    Reviewed By wildbillsouth Apr 15, 2015

    Excellent one on one servce! AND Caring financial experts!

    Whenever I have a problem or advice, these ladies and gentleman are there for me. The most knowledgeable experts, in the business of banking services!
    That is what I have found and experienced at the Chemical Bank and Trust on North Avenue, a few streets South of my home. I would not switch Banks for all of these reasons! Just the nicest and good looking ladies, around. Really!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • M
    Reviewed By marvinlzinn1 Feb 13, 2015

    Best in the world

    From my work in many states and 20 countries, Chemical Bank is the best I ever saw. It is very friendly and efficient, less fees and common sense operation.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • B
    Reviewed By bakuebler Dec 10, 2014

    Terrible

    I was with Northwestern Bank for about 20 years, a very loyal customer and appreciated the bank I had. Then, Chemical Bank took over. Awful customer service, can never get through when calling a local branch, they do not return email correspondence, and their online banking is in the tank. Not only can I not use all the services all the time, but during the "takeover" I had to wait an entire month before I could use online bill pay. I was treated like a complete moron for not having another capability set in place to take care of my bills.

    Now, I need access to my bank records preceding the transition for the last year and I can no longer access them after they told me I would be able to several weeks ago. This has delayed a loan and cost me a great deal of money and loss of profit. Not to mention the fact that I can now, no longer obtain loan information from my local branch. What a joke. I am closing my accounts. I love the people formerly of NWB, but I will no longer do business with Chemical Bank. They do NOT deserve my business!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By aoliver2013@comcast.net Oct 7, 2014

    Their Last Mistake

    I have only been with Chemical Bank for several months and I am not very happy with them anymore. At first I thought cool, this bank is a good one. Now I am not so sure. I too have had pending transactions disappear and show up again. When saw that two transactions that were pending one day were gone next I got online and chatted with someone for a long time through the banks online chat. I was concerned that they weren't there so I asked the representative to look again harder into my account and was told they couldn't find the transactions.

    My self and my fiance are on limited incomes and needed to go get some food into the house so after being told that the money in my account was free to use we went to the store. I was so upset when logged on to my account today and was negative when wasn't when went to bed last night. I will be talking to someone at the bank to see if they can straighten out if not I too will be leaving the bank The card that Social Security offers is really looking good right now.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • S
    Reviewed By Summer99 Aug 19, 2014

    Be Careful

    Be careful with this bank. They will do whatever they can to charge you over draft fees even if you are not over drawn. Even if you prove to them that it was the banks error, they will not reverse them or credit you back. This bank charged me an nsf fee after a check cleared and i had over $100. 00 left remaining in my account. I have overdraft protection and they returned my check to the place i wrote it. Not only did i have an overdraft fee at the bank, but i also had a $25. 00 return fee from the place of business where they returned the check to that i had to pay. After sitting in a branch office for over an hour trying to convince one of the customer service reps, but they could not explain to me why i was charged this fee or why my overdraft protection must accidently turned off and then turned back on. But still yet would not reverse the charge from my account. No one in this bank knows what they are doing and there practices of billing you fees are a little leery. This bank is trying to go out of business. Credit unions are the way to go. I am switching and i have been with this bank since 1987. Only a 1 star for this bank and they do not even deserve that!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • A
    Reviewed By artsysenior May 5, 2014

    The Best!

    In 60 years of banking experiences, this is absolutely the best. They offer everything the mega-banks offer and the people are wonderful (which, incidentally, you can always phone and talk to an actual person without any of that stupid robotic stuff). Would never bank anywhere else.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  • T
    Reviewed By Trisha Blair May 3, 2014

    Chemical Bank Values Their Customers

    I love being a part of Chemical Bank and appreciate that they treat me as a valued customer. I get free checking and earn points for rewards like gift cards just for using my debit card. Every time I go to Chemical Bank, I'm greeted in a friendly manner and always thanked for my business. They sure know how to keep me coming back. I would recommend them for any banking needs because in my experience, it's a positive way to do banking.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.