Profile | Reviews

Suntrust Bank Customer Reviews

National Bank, suntrust.com

190 Reviews
2 out of 5 stars
Continue reading...

Latest Customer Reviews

  •  
    Reviewed By peanut15 Feb 10, 2018

    Corrupt and Unethical

    SunTrust Mortgage DELIBERATELY skips sending out random bills so that you miss a payment and then they can charge you late fees. They have done this numerous times to me, and I ALWAYS pay my bills on time. If you have mortgage with them, you need to get on the electronic payments system through your own bank.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By markief3 Feb 7, 2018

    SUNTRUST = WORST BANK

    SUNTRUST - WORST BANK IN THE UNITED STATES. This bank on multiple occasions had fraud attacks on my account. The second series of attacks, they lost thousands of dollars of my money in separate ways, and then hid behind the process that it was too many months old to check. This is as though if I don't check my account every month, they can lose my money with impunity! I have no documentation that they actually even checked the events and the fraudulent activity. Their Fraud Office sends me note that are unsigned so I have no recourse to an individual. The bank also constantly blocks my account for unexplained reasons. DO NOT BANK WITH SUNTRUST, you will regret it.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By scott9555 Oct 31, 2017

    20 years and I'm out.

    Its bad when your bank will not let you go and talk to a decision maker about a mistake they made. And has a blanket policy to arbitrarily hold funds on deposits without any reason given at all. Holding your business financially hostage. But thats Ok... There are 3 other banks within 1 block, 20 years and I'm gone. 3 business accounts I'm sure someone else with be happy to have.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By jennapope Oct 8, 2017

    Mismanagement and bad customer service

    My wife and I opened accounts with SunTrust in December and January. We opened these accounts hoping to receive a promotion through SunTrust. I received mine, but my wife never did. The branch said they would investigate the situation since it appeared hers was never entered into the system by a rep there. We received a call from someone claiming to be SunTrust which started a 4 week game of phone tag. We later believed this contact to be a scammer and went to the branch's physical location. We learned from a rep that there was no record of our phone call to the branch or an investigation. We were very upset, especially since no one from the branch ever followed up and apparently never took our information. This lack of response left us vulnerable to someone who somehow gathered our SunTrust information.We were again promised a call that the following Friday, but never received one. We were also promised an email from SunTrust about our promo.

    It took multiple tries for them to tell us the confusion was due to "personnel changes" and apparently the promotion was not happening when my wife went in, even though a representative assured us we would receive the promotion.

    We are disappointed in and outraged at the branch's service. We have felt unsure and unsafe with our finances since opening accounts with SunTrust. I honestly which I could give them a 0/5 stars. We closed our accounts and are still having trouble with them.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By unpleased Sep 14, 2017

    REALLY BAD experience on 8/7/17 with Toco Hill "customer service" person.

    REALLY BAD experience on 8/7/17 with the Toco Hill branch's "customer service" person. She told me I had been RUDE to her since I walked in. I wish I had a video with sound of this unfortunate encounter so everyone could see who the RUDE one really was. I have had NO problem with SunTrust until this encounter. I am going to go elsewhere most likely -- still pondering that since my complaint is only that SunTrust has this type of person out front and center for us to deal with.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By miribaer Sep 13, 2017

    Suntrust Cashed Fraudulent Check and Refused To Reimburse My Account for $3500.00 !

    I wouldn't give any stars to this bank! After a year of complaining about a fraudulent check for $3500.00 that was cashed in my name by Suntrust, I was told that my complaint was submitted after the 60 day deadline to report claims! I do not use this account very often so I did not check my account until I received an overdrawn notice from the bank. I quickly notified the fraud department and my complaint was taken. I was not told about the claims deadline until many months later! Suntrust has refused to return my hard earned money that I have worked hard to save, because of their irresponsibility by not verifying the ID of the thief. It is a shame that a Bank that is worth billions of dollars will not reimburse a customer for a few thousand dollars! Shame on Suntrust!

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Seanr94 Jul 31, 2017

    Consistently lets you down

    Deplorable customer service
    cheap, fragile debit cards
    Malfunctioning atm's

    This bank has caused me nothing but inconveniences and frustrations. I plan on leaving them very soon. Do yourself a favor and bank with literally anyone else.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By hessionr Jul 23, 2017

    DO NOT BANK WITH SNTRUST!

    I was a customer for over three years. If your account had a single daily balance under $10,000 they charge a $30 fee per month. They cancelled my business debit card without contacting me or providing any explanation. After multiple long phone calls to "customer service" they did not send a new debit card. When I called the branch, no return calls. When I went to complain at the branch I was begged to stay by the manager. The branch manager told me about another business account that only required $1000 balance with no fee--after they charged me the fee many times over the past three years!!!! This bank is HORRIBLE!!! Regions is much better and much more responsive. I still cannot find anyone to write to file a complaint. There is no accountability.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By Annlelynn Jul 19, 2017

    Suntrust is the worse to bank with..

    I can start by saying Suntrust bank will let people go into your account for a year stealing everthing dime then they start robbing you 36.00 at a time the to make matters worse they lie about the promises they make to you for your inconvenience we as customers are being told... I'm going do a lot better without have to put up with Suntrust and they B. S. Then to go to a new low they disrespectful Attitude about things they tell you.... I'm glad I'm moving on. Please take your money energy and time somewhere else... They go out there way to rob you when you don't have much to start.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    Reviewed By mbovaird Jun 16, 2017

    Suntrust Bank Sucks

    They managed to make two screw ups in a single day. First, my business banking rep refused to provide me with a pay off statement for an outstanding loan I had with the bank. He kept dragging his heels for weeks. Then, I finally got fed up and went into the branch. After some finagling, they finally gave me the pay off number. I paid it off in full and 10 days later they still managed to take the funds out of my account for what would have been another monthly payment. The loan was paid off! When I called to complain they told me they would have it reversed in a few days. Meanwhile, we had to dip into our business operating line just to cover the screw up by Suntrust.

    Next, on a personal level, I had my young children sign up for a "Minors Savings Account" last year. We were told no fees - guaranteed. My son deposited his $24 from doing chores and my daughter deposited her $16. They came with me to the bank the day I was trying to pay off the loan (see above) and when they went to deposit their chore money, they bank had depleted their accounts both to $0 due to monthly charges! They banks response? They said there was no monthly fee, so long as they maintained a $300 balance. $300! Seriously? How many 8 year olds have $300?

    Suntrust bank SUCKS. They are just like Bank of America.

    Continue reading...
    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.