B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Suntrust Bank Customer Reviews

(179 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 14
4 Star 6
3 Star 4
2 Star 13
1 Star 142

The Most Helpful Suntrust Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Teresa Y. Mar 14, 2013

Nightmare, we have gotten to the day before closing 3 times only to find that the Bank has not done their job.

This bank put a peace of property on the market without having the title clear. Then did not know enough to get it straightened out in a timely fashion. We should be closing today, for the third time. They still have not gotten their act together. We have invested too much time and energy to not sign yet another 2 week extension. My husband is a 90 percent disabled veteran and I am having to take him to see the doctor today because of the undo stress this has caused him.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Krobinson450 Jan 7, 2014

Rip Off

I was charged a fee of $36.00 for not having enough money in my account to cover and item that hit my account, I did not have the money to put in my account until I got paid, the account was overdrawn for about 6 days. On the day of my direct deposit SunTrust hit me with another $36.00 fee for the same item. When I called them about it, they said it's an extended overdraft fee. I work had everyday trying to make it, I can understand being charged an overdraft fee one time for not having the funds but to hit me a second time is just WRONG. That was my gas money for the week. Suntrust has lost me as a customer and I will warn all my friends and family members about SunTrust practices. Don't bank with SunTrust.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Suntrust Bank Reviews

  •  
    G
    Reviewed By grayarea May 17, 2017

    SunTrust CRIMINALLY Steals money. Closed account with $11K+ and won't return it!

    I have $11,600+ being held by Suntrust bank for nearly a month now. The funds were sent in via wire transfers and should have been made available immediately. They closed the account on April 28, 2017 and still have not given me my funds. I called this morning and spoke to 2 different individuals, one a manager and was told that they had no intent to send me my money. They said I needed to contact the financial institutions that initially sent the money. I asked what I was supposed to say as of course I had no account information and wasn't their client. I asked where the money was that was received, NO ANSWER. I asked if she was insinuating they had returned the funds to the originator and if that is why she was asking me to call those banks and she said she had no information regarding such. I had a customer contact Suntrust 3 days after paying for an order and say they did not initiate the wire. I provided 30 or so pages of documentation and communication for over a month with 4 different employees from that company - AMPLE PROOF they did in fact send the wire - an email directly from the owner confirming that and could not get ANYONE in the fraud department to review the paperwork. The customer wanted to cancel the order which was fine but they lied and said the wire was not authorized. I will be happy to provide ALL of this documentation. A suntrust Branch manager told me concretely MULTIPLE times that any funds coming in would be disbursed at the time of closing the account. She said I would have a bank certified check within 5 - 10 business days. That money is contractually obligated. I must fulfill those contracts by May 25, 2017 and they require a 4 week production time. Any and all Liability is now on Suntrust Bank. They are putting me out of business and CRIMINALLY STEALING MONEY.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By brenda540771 May 17, 2017

    Requested Pre-approved for Home Loan By Phone

    I spoke to a gentleman in your office early last week. Was told the earliest time he would be able to call back would be Friday (last Friday the May 12). Still have not heard from him. Today is Wednesday May 17.

    I called bank but lines were busy. Very disappointed in your service.

    Thanking you in advance for your prompt response.

    Brenda Price

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mstish101 May 1, 2017

    I don't trust SunTRust

    Just a fair warning not to bank with SunTrust.
    They closed my account without me knowing, not a phone call, text, email or anything. I called them and that's how I found out.
    So I said fine, you're closing my account, you're "ending my banking relationship" that's just fine I'll take my business elsewhere. But they wouldn't let me.

    They're holding my account in a "pending closure" status. It's been that way for 9 days. They're also holding my direct deposit from my Employer hostage! I cannot debit the amount, they've cancelled my debit card, won't let me withdraw in person through a branch. My entire paycheck is being held hostage and of course I have bills to pay and things to do. They said I would receive a check in 15 days! I'm saying really 15 days! Why waste paper, postage, and labor to send me a check when I was in a banking center in person to withdraw the funds. And how in their right mind do they make someone wait 15 days?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By ATI Mar 11, 2017

    Worst bank in BEST TO RIP OFF

    Why would someone send me a letter for prequalified CC and have me fill application which takes forever because your website is not user friendly.
    After 45 minutes of trying at the end of processing page your page gets hang up!!!! No message displayed!
    Then i trued calling customer service number which is another headache! Honestly i dont think I want my money in your stupid ass bank! Tired of you guys!!! And I know you will deni my CC because you are one of the racist bank ever existed!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Bubba Feb 27, 2017

    Incompetent Manager and Bank

    Upon using the drive through for a deposit, the bank gave away my debit card to a customer inside the bank. That customer had left the premises in the 10 minutes it took the teller to process a simple deposit. I was told to drive around to the front. With two kids and a dog in the car, I waited and no one came out to talk to me. So I took my kids into the bank, and spoke to the awful branch manager who is a smooth talker. He assured me that the other customer was on his way back, and if I could wait around a little longer then I could get my card back. After waiting around another 10-15 minutes, I had to get going. I told Mr. Manager to cancel my existing card and issue a new one. He said that someone from Suntrust would be calling me as well about my bad experience. 5 business days later: no call and no new card. I call 1-800 Suntrust, and find out my card was never cancelled! Mr Mismanager never had my old card cancelled, and never had anyone call me. Upon looking at other websites that review banks, it appears that the Hickory Park Suntrust has a history of problems with tellers and the incompetent manager. Needless to say, I will no longer be banking with Suntrust since I can not trust them. The manager is horrible at the Hickory Park location.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    U
    Reviewed By UntrustSuntrust Feb 2, 2017

    Stay away from Untrust

    If you ever have an overdraft look out. Suntrust holds out on the order in which you have spent money on your debit card. So, if you have an overdraft on a large purchase instead of hitting you with 1 overdraft fee they go in and swap the order in which your purchases were made. Sample, making the larger one first and then the smaller ones last thus causing more overdraft fees. Then blaming the merchant for not drafting the money. Hahaha ha BS.... This will happen to you every time. Suntrust is Untrust... Don't go with this bank it is normal practices for them to do this..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Mahmoudsk2 Jan 20, 2017

    Very Poor Customer Service

    This bank's customer service team does not know anything about customer service and every time I call them with a question they direct me to the branch. I have a checking and a savings accounts with them, and I called the wire transfer 800 number today to ask how much is the fee for wire transfers and the lady answered my call didn't tell me the information I needed and lectured me that I have to go to the branch as if this fees knowledge is a national security secret. This isn't my first time asking them for some information and they refuse to give it to me and direct me to the branch. I'm closing my account and advise all people to think very good before opening an account with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    K
    Reviewed By Kflyer Jan 9, 2017

    Beware SunTrust Rewards Card users

    Points expire. Expiration notification on statement was hidden into an ad for a loan to pay for college on a back page. Notification of expiration should have been in the Rewards Summary section along with the points totals. Disappointed in how ST choose to handle this issue and feel duped. The Rewards group subjected me to long hold times and UN-business like behavior during my inquiries and attempts for a cash redemption of my remaining points. 45k points have been stolen from me on this transaction. Being a long time customer of SunTrust I have dealt with many mistakes by SunTrust but it's clear to me this wasn't a mistake. In closing SunTrust will never feel the loss of my annual holiday gift card purchases, or the numerous auto loans, lines of credit. Or my mortgage loan which will be refinanced before the end of the month. I have now closed all but one account which I will keep the min balance in and will keep active until they stop sending paper statements. I will look forward to my monthly statement which will serve as a reminder on what SunTrust thinks about me.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    L
    Reviewed By lenster1975 Dec 2, 2016

    Suntrust is going downhill fast!

    After 5 years and several hundred thousand dollars through my accounts with Suntrust in St. Cloud Florida, I have decided it is time to take my business where it will be appreciated. First it is nearly impossible to get a live person on the phone to answer questions at my local branch, when there is no employee available then I was automatically sent to the Branch Managers voicemail, where I had left messages with no luck. I called the East St. Cloud branch instead and I did get a hold of a female worker, who failed to try to here me out, and took a hostile position against me. She then went on to be condescending when I stated I can take my account elsewhere. She said don't threaten us with that, before you allow me to see what she could do. However I knew already by her tone of hostility and unwillingness to fully understand my question that she would even be able to meet my request, but I allowed her to amuse herself by saying there was nothing we could do. I then said no problem I will close my accounts after 5 years and hundreds of thousands of dollars. These employees at Suntrust don't car for your business. If they did they would treat you like the customers that we are not as if they are doing us a service. Suntrust has this mentality that they are the only gig in town. Well I got news for them. Banks and getting bank accounts are a dime a dozen and some banks offer a couple of hundred bucks just for getting one. Suntrust needs to understand that when they allow their employees to disenfranchise their loyal customers, not only are they risking their deposits walking out the door, but they are loosing their debit card interchange purchases every time a customer swipes their debit card at merchants. This is a handsome reward for the banks, see they get 1.7 to 3% of that charge in fees assessed against that merchant. So lets say for example the bank ticks off a customer who spends $50,000 each year on their debit card, they are kissing $900 to $1500 each year goodbye. I bid Suntrust a Farewell today and I moved across the street to another bank that apparently staffs enough people to take care of me with a smile, and as a test I called the new bank and immediately got an attendant on the phone. How refreshing....

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By MadinFlorida Nov 15, 2016

    Received letter forcing me to CLOSE MY ACCOUNT after 19 years

    I have been a Suntrust customer for 19 years.
    My house mortgage was with them, paid in full on time every month
    I am disabled and live on a direct deposit Soc Sec check.
    Received an unsigned letter in mail, no phone, no dept, no email address that I had 10 days to close my account. NO REASON.
    My whole life depends on the direct deposit and online auto pay bills. No reason given to branch mgr. Learned it was because I disputed some small charges, which they investigated in my favor and paid out.
    That was it.
    This is the new corporate model. Dispute a charge, get tossed out. Amazon does this too. They never said one of my disputes was fraudulent. Not one was over $40.00.

    Corporate Rape. You become the victim once and then again if you tell someone. This is a violation of the US Disability Act. They are a bank. They do not have to answer to anyone. The 99% will not allow the 1% to continue sipping champagne on their yachts and destroy lives.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.