B+ MyBankTracker Rating

Suntrust Bank Customer Reviews

(182 Reviews)
2 out of 5 stars
5 Star 14
4 Star 6
3 Star 4
2 Star 13
1 Star 145

The Most Helpful Suntrust Bank Reviews

The most helpful favorable review
Reviewed By Teresa Y. Mar 14, 2013

Nightmare, we have gotten to the day before closing 3 times only to find that the Bank has not done their job.

This bank put a peace of property on the market without having the title clear. Then did not know enough to get it straightened out in a timely fashion. We should be closing today, for the third time. They still have not gotten their act together. We have invested too much time and energy to not sign yet another 2 week extension. My husband is a 90 percent disabled veteran and I am having to take him to see the doctor today because of the undo stress this has caused him.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
Vs.
The most helpful critical review
Reviewed By Krobinson450 Jan 7, 2014

Rip Off

I was charged a fee of $36.00 for not having enough money in my account to cover and item that hit my account, I did not have the money to put in my account until I got paid, the account was overdrawn for about 6 days. On the day of my direct deposit SunTrust hit me with another $36.00 fee for the same item. When I called them about it, they said it's an extended overdraft fee. I work had everyday trying to make it, I can understand being charged an overdraft fee one time for not having the funds but to hit me a second time is just WRONG. That was my gas money for the week. Suntrust has lost me as a customer and I will warn all my friends and family members about SunTrust practices. Don't bank with SunTrust.

{{collapsed ? 'Continue reading' : 'Show Less'}}
Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Latest Suntrust Bank Reviews

  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mbovaird Jun 16, 2017

    Suntrust Bank Sucks

    They managed to make two screw ups in a single day. First, my business banking rep refused to provide me with a pay off statement for an outstanding loan I had with the bank. He kept dragging his heels for weeks. Then, I finally got fed up and went into the branch. After some finagling, they finally gave me the pay off number. I paid it off in full and 10 days later they still managed to take the funds out of my account for what would have been another monthly payment. The loan was paid off! When I called to complain they told me they would have it reversed in a few days. Meanwhile, we had to dip into our business operating line just to cover the screw up by Suntrust.

    Next, on a personal level, I had my young children sign up for a "Minors Savings Account" last year. We were told no fees - guaranteed. My son deposited his $24 from doing chores and my daughter deposited her $16. They came with me to the bank the day I was trying to pay off the loan (see above) and when they went to deposit their chore money, they bank had depleted their accounts both to $0 due to monthly charges! They banks response? They said there was no monthly fee, so long as they maintained a $300 balance. $300! Seriously? How many 8 year olds have $300?

    Suntrust bank SUCKS. They are just like Bank of America.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    S
    Reviewed By Sugarbowl Jun 3, 2017

    Rejection

    My husband and I have had accounts since the early 1960's. SunTrust acquired National Commerce Bank in 2005. We have several different accounts with substantial balances. We also have brokerage accounts. I went to the Bethesda Pointe Branch in Durham, N.C. My husband had a deposit with less $150 cash to purchase two (2) money orders. The teller loudly rejected by deposit. I am not a signer on that particular account. She made me feel like a criminal. The lobby was full and she was the only front teller. She referred me to the manager. I waited for the manager to speak with him. He also rejected my transaction. He asked me why didn't my husband send personal checks. My husband has his reasons and I don't feel like that question should have been asked. I felt as though the manager thought that I was trying to do something criminal. I explained to him that my husband was really ill and has been hospitalized and could not come to the bank. Both of our bank histories should have been investigated. I also might add that I am a retired SunTrust employee with forty three (43) years with thirty three (33) of them at that branch. None of the staff worked with me. However, I had been in previously to introduce myself to the manager. I do understand banking but feel as though I was treated unfairly. I felt unappreciated and suspect. Before I retired from SunTrust, my motto was: Business goes and STAYS where it is appreciated. Perhaps, we are not appreciated at the Bethesda Pointe branch!!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    T
    Reviewed By tdoubleyou04 May 28, 2017

    If I could rate them lower than one star I would

    I have NEVER in my life given a bad review, however, I think people need to know that this bank is absolutely HORRIBLE! I have a car loan with them, and called in January to change the bank to which my payment was coming from. After two hours of trying to get someone to help me with the automatic payment switch- I THOUGHT it was finally fixed. However, it was not. I tried multiple times to get this situation sorted out, but in the meantime received two late fees because of errors on THEIR PART. I have been a loyal customer (never missed a payment) for four years, and they refuse to refund me the money for the fees even though the lady in research who had to listen to our phone call concluded that there were clear misunderstandings in the conversation. This is all because the lady in the tech department had NO IDEA on how to instruct me on how to change my automatic payment online. They spent five hours total going back and forth with me, and doing their "research" on the phone calls when they could have just refunded me the $32 instead. They spent more money paying their employees to refuse my request, than they would have if they just refunded me the money I did NOT deserve to be charged. That is how much their customers are worth to them. I will never use them again, and I strongly suggest you do not either!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    G
    Reviewed By grayarea May 17, 2017

    SunTrust CRIMINALLY Steals money. Closed account with $11K+ and won't return it!

    I have $11,600+ being held by Suntrust bank for nearly a month now. The funds were sent in via wire transfers and should have been made available immediately. They closed the account on April 28, 2017 and still have not given me my funds. I called this morning and spoke to 2 different individuals, one a manager and was told that they had no intent to send me my money. They said I needed to contact the financial institutions that initially sent the money. I asked what I was supposed to say as of course I had no account information and wasn't their client. I asked where the money was that was received, NO ANSWER. I asked if she was insinuating they had returned the funds to the originator and if that is why she was asking me to call those banks and she said she had no information regarding such. I had a customer contact Suntrust 3 days after paying for an order and say they did not initiate the wire. I provided 30 or so pages of documentation and communication for over a month with 4 different employees from that company - AMPLE PROOF they did in fact send the wire - an email directly from the owner confirming that and could not get ANYONE in the fraud department to review the paperwork. The customer wanted to cancel the order which was fine but they lied and said the wire was not authorized. I will be happy to provide ALL of this documentation. A suntrust Branch manager told me concretely MULTIPLE times that any funds coming in would be disbursed at the time of closing the account. She said I would have a bank certified check within 5 - 10 business days. That money is contractually obligated. I must fulfill those contracts by May 25, 2017 and they require a 4 week production time. Any and all Liability is now on Suntrust Bank. They are putting me out of business and CRIMINALLY STEALING MONEY.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By brenda540771 May 17, 2017

    Requested Pre-approved for Home Loan By Phone

    I spoke to a gentleman in your office early last week. Was told the earliest time he would be able to call back would be Friday (last Friday the May 12). Still have not heard from him. Today is Wednesday May 17.

    I called bank but lines were busy. Very disappointed in your service.

    Thanking you in advance for your prompt response.

    Brenda Price

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By mstish101 May 1, 2017

    I don't trust SunTRust

    Just a fair warning not to bank with SunTrust.
    They closed my account without me knowing, not a phone call, text, email or anything. I called them and that's how I found out.
    So I said fine, you're closing my account, you're "ending my banking relationship" that's just fine I'll take my business elsewhere. But they wouldn't let me.

    They're holding my account in a "pending closure" status. It's been that way for 9 days. They're also holding my direct deposit from my Employer hostage! I cannot debit the amount, they've cancelled my debit card, won't let me withdraw in person through a branch. My entire paycheck is being held hostage and of course I have bills to pay and things to do. They said I would receive a check in 15 days! I'm saying really 15 days! Why waste paper, postage, and labor to send me a check when I was in a banking center in person to withdraw the funds. And how in their right mind do they make someone wait 15 days?

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    A
    Reviewed By ATI Mar 11, 2017

    Worst bank in BEST TO RIP OFF

    Why would someone send me a letter for prequalified CC and have me fill application which takes forever because your website is not user friendly.
    After 45 minutes of trying at the end of processing page your page gets hang up!!!! No message displayed!
    Then i trued calling customer service number which is another headache! Honestly i dont think I want my money in your stupid ass bank! Tired of you guys!!! And I know you will deni my CC because you are one of the racist bank ever existed!

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    B
    Reviewed By Bubba Feb 27, 2017

    Incompetent Manager and Bank

    Upon using the drive through for a deposit, the bank gave away my debit card to a customer inside the bank. That customer had left the premises in the 10 minutes it took the teller to process a simple deposit. I was told to drive around to the front. With two kids and a dog in the car, I waited and no one came out to talk to me. So I took my kids into the bank, and spoke to the awful branch manager who is a smooth talker. He assured me that the other customer was on his way back, and if I could wait around a little longer then I could get my card back. After waiting around another 10-15 minutes, I had to get going. I told Mr. Manager to cancel my existing card and issue a new one. He said that someone from Suntrust would be calling me as well about my bad experience. 5 business days later: no call and no new card. I call 1-800 Suntrust, and find out my card was never cancelled! Mr Mismanager never had my old card cancelled, and never had anyone call me. Upon looking at other websites that review banks, it appears that the Hickory Park Suntrust has a history of problems with tellers and the incompetent manager. Needless to say, I will no longer be banking with Suntrust since I can not trust them. The manager is horrible at the Hickory Park location.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    U
    Reviewed By UntrustSuntrust Feb 2, 2017

    Stay away from Untrust

    If you ever have an overdraft look out. Suntrust holds out on the order in which you have spent money on your debit card. So, if you have an overdraft on a large purchase instead of hitting you with 1 overdraft fee they go in and swap the order in which your purchases were made. Sample, making the larger one first and then the smaller ones last thus causing more overdraft fees. Then blaming the merchant for not drafting the money. Hahaha ha BS.... This will happen to you every time. Suntrust is Untrust... Don't go with this bank it is normal practices for them to do this..

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?
  •  
    M
    Reviewed By Mahmoudsk2 Jan 20, 2017

    Very Poor Customer Service

    This bank's customer service team does not know anything about customer service and every time I call them with a question they direct me to the branch. I have a checking and a savings accounts with them, and I called the wire transfer 800 number today to ask how much is the fee for wire transfers and the lady answered my call didn't tell me the information I needed and lectured me that I have to go to the branch as if this fees knowledge is a national security secret. This isn't my first time asking them for some information and they refuse to give it to me and direct me to the branch. I'm closing my account and advise all people to think very good before opening an account with them.

    Thank you for your feedback Is this review helpful?

Let Us Help You Choose a New Bank

Don’t see a right fit? Answer 5 simple questions & get personalized account offer to you.